We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!”

Old Town San Diego State Historic Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$39.95*
and up
San Diego Tour: Hop-on Hop-off Trolley
Ranked #23 of 430 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Historic site in downtown San Diego that recreates life in the Mexican and early American periods of 1821 to 1872.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great place!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

great place to visit on the weekends, they have dancers and live music in the courtyard. Lots of great shops and beautiful Mexican decor and jewelry. We love love the garden in the back of the courtyard, it's hidden, but a beautiful serene place to visit. Lots to do and see, street faire on Sat, lots of restaurants, nice place to spend the day

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank calena67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,095 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,908
    1,509
    536
    104
    38
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
River Falls, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise My Family Will Never Forget”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Honestly we decided to go to Old Town simply because our hotel was one block from a light rail station and the light rail stops a few yards from the entrance to Old Town. Our expectations, based on reviews, were so low that we thought we would leave after a few hours and then head to some museums in Balboa Park.

Six hours later we had scrapped our plans to visit other places that day (we did go to Seaport Village for dinner that night) and every member of my family (my wife, my ten year old history crazy daughter, and my six year old boys boy) all had a fantastic time.

First off, all the attractions we visited were free. This left plenty of money for shopping.

I highly recommend visiting Fiesta de Reyes to start your visit. The stores (particularly the copper store) are fantastic. It is also a great chance to taste exotic olive oils and Mexican hot chocolate.

Old Town gives you the chance to learn about the history of one of America's great cities, shop for beautiful Mexican and Native American goods, eat some quality Mexican food in beautiful settings, and soak in the sun in beautiful green spaces.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Blake F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Some great history, but I was underwhelmed”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I liked this place a bit, but to tell you the truth, I was mostly bored.

There were too many recreations of shops and not much charm to be honest. I really did like the old carriages, however, but people in old costumes milling around and tacky shops - just not for me.

I was not with children, however, so this place might interest them a bit more. And the site is free.

OK - but don't worry if you give this a miss.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank keatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice Walk, lots to see”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Loved seeing all the historical places, like the fist Court House, Estudillo's House, etc. The atmosphere at Casa de Reyes was fabulous.
Most of the stores have the same items.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing and fun”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This is a place I could just go back to over and over and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere. A great place to get away, walk around and see the old history of San Diego. Wonderful places to eat.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Town San Diego State Historic Park also viewed

 

Been to Old Town San Diego State Historic Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing