We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something to do in San Diego”

Maritime Museum of San Diego
Book In Advance
More Info
$18.00*
and up
Maritime Museum of San Diego Admission
Ranked #17 of 434 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome aboard our floating compilation of adventure and history! Admission to the "Maritime Museum of San Diego" grants you access to one of the world's finest collections of historic sea vessels. Once on board our museum ships, you will find that we offer something for people of all ages. You not only get to explore our ships and submarines, the museum displays permanent and temporary exhibits on art, maritime history, commerce and exploration. We also offer guided tours and host family friendly events regularly. Historic bay cruises run daily and can be added on to the price of admission for an extra nominal fee. There is no better way to spend the day than on the bay!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
788 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Something to do in San Diego”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Our friends were going to the San Diego Zoo & we weren't interested in tagging along so we were looking for something to take up our afternoon. These ships were pretty cool to walk around & check out. If you're looking for something to take up some time I'd say this is worth it.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BrussoDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    803
    433
    85
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Submarines, ships and ghost stories”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Many different styles and eras of ships, including the one used by Jack Sparrow. We went the weekend before Hallowe'en so they had a return event in the evening for spooky ship related ghost stories. The adults loved it as much as the kids! Seeing the inside of both a Russian Sub and a US sub made it well worth the visit. Great value too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettygirl_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Can't miss for the sailor in you”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Incredible opportunity to tour some historic ships & boats, all set in the wonderful location that is the San Diego Harbor. Right in the shadows of the USS Midway and very close to the airport in case you have a few hours to spare. The Star of India is indeed the star, but some of the smaller vessels are what makes this a museum instead of a ship tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sd_doubled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fun day for all”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We enjoyed the last iron sail ship the Star of India, it was really impressive for the age of the boat.

The engine room of the Berkeley was very cool as they have it set up to actually turn the steam engine.

The Russian sub was also interesting as there can't be too many cold war subs you can tour anywhere. Beware the hatches between compartments are very small you you need to be in good health to check it out.

The Dolphins best feature is the working parascope, and the Meda is a Titanic era boat that shows what craftsmanship use to be like.

I was very disappointed the HMS Surprise was not at dock to view, this is a replica ship that was used for the movie Master and Commander.

The $3 with a coupon or $5 without harbor cruise is a must. They actually have it guided for that price which made all the difference.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chuzare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
278 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Not just for the boys”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

the lads wanted to tour this; ok, fair game to them but the gals enjoyed it just as much. Varied vessels and history. Oh those sub guys had patience!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank twominks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maritime Museum of San Diego also viewed

 

Been to Maritime Museum of San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing