We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
San Diego Zoo 1-Day Pass Ticket
1,328

Book in advance
from
$65.00
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience San Diego Zoo
from $65.00
More Info
from $120.00
More Info
from $65.00
More Info
from $46.00
More Info
Reviews (28,655)
Filter reviews
28,655 results
Traveler rating
20,480
5,654
1,855
455
211
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20,480
5,654
1,855
455
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky tram kangaroo bus bus tour safari park polar bear walking shoes wear comfortable shoes behind the scenes day pass free parking panda animals skyfari hippos cheetah aviaries gondola
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,091 - 2,096 of 28,655 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2019

Pick a weekday, start early, relax, take your time, and spend morning, noon and night in a wonderfully serene garden in an urban setting. Save a few dollars by packing a picnic lunch. The zoo is not as expansive as you might think -- it is fairly tightly spaced -- so even a leisurely pace will serve you well. Great for couples; a bit more tiring with younger children.

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank Sssshhhhhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

Always find the time to see what's new at the Zoo...babies, exhibits, food, gifts or shows...plan on being tired and still having more to see. You just can't see it all in one visit. Yes, you can walk, and or ride the bus (handicapped accessible). You can even rent a stroller or wheelchair. Lots of benches to sit and rest or what a specific species.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank Stay448870
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 23, 2019

I have heard about how wonderful the SD zoo is my whole life, but I found many things about this zoo really troubling. While the habitat for the gorillas is barely adequate, all of the smaller primates are simply living in stark, relatively small cages. The large cats are kept in cages that are cramped and just plain sad. The birds are kept in big ugly birdcages. The elephants and rhinos have concrete pens that allow them little more to do than pace. If you want to see what a zoo CAN be, visit the Dublin zoo. After that experience, you may see the SD zoo with fresh eyes. You are told repeatedly that you are “heroes” for your ticket price allowing the keepers to “conserve” these animals, but I didn’t feel like a hero. I felt complicit in contributing to these poor animals’ incarceration.

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank MandMIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 23, 2019 via mobile

So many animals and wonderful exhibits!! Fun for all ages. Expect to spend several hours to all day!

Date of experience: June 2019
2  Thank connief805
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 22, 2019 via mobile

This is an amazing zoo!!! So many wonderful exhibits and animals, and you can tell it is important to the zoo that the animals thrive both at the zoo and in nature!

Few extra tips...

1. Go on cool, cloudy day! The animals were SO active the day we visited! Plus with all the walking, a cool day is much more refreshing :D.

2. Get to the park early to make the most of your time! We spent 9 hours touring the zoo and we still didn’t see everything!

3. Download the San Diego Zoo App! The paper maps are beautiful but the app has an interactive map that can gps you to where you want to go. I got us lost 2-3x using the paper map, whereas hubby got us to where we wanted to go every time with the app. It’s a great tool!! Use it :D.

4. Take the bus tour first! You get a 30-35 minute overview of the zoo. We loved it! To make the most of the bus tour, sit up top on the right hand side of the bus driver. Most of the exhibits seen will be on that side. If it’s brutally hot, you might want the lower deck. Maybe not as high a view but your buns won’t be burning.

5. After the bus tour, prioritize what you want to see. Or look at a zoo map online before arriving to see what are must see animals for you! You have a better chance to see your favorites and not get lost in an exhibit that doesn’t mean as much if you do.

6. When we were there, they fed the polar bears around noon and we were able to watch and video stellar polar bear underwater activity! Might double check with zoo attendee for animal feeding times!

Date of experience: June 2019
6  Thank LeslieA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews