We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Diego Zoo

San Diego Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
San Diego Zoo
Ranked #2 of 426 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Founded in 1916, the Zoo has been an icon in San Diego for nearly 100 years—and an absolute must-see in Southern California. Spend the day monkeying around in our tropical oasis as you visit beautiful habitats that are home to gorillas, eagles, tigers, sun bears, Asian leopards, rare reptiles, a palette of colorful birds, and more. Visit the Australian Outback to delight in our colony of 24 koalas, and travel along Panda Trek to experience giant pandas and other animals that share their bamboo forest habitat. Go back in time through Elephant Odyssey to discover what animals used to roam Southern California and see what the elephants are up to. Enjoy a guided tour on a double-decker bus or the scenic view from the Skyfari aerial tram, and dine in the peaceful surroundings of Albert's Restaurant. Discover the wonders of wildlife with animal encounters, interactive experiences, and keeper chats. A leader in animal care and conservation, the San Diego Zoo is at the heart of the San Diego experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delightful zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

This zoo is wonderful. You can take a bus with narration to orient you to the zoo and then later take the express bus to get on and off as you want. You can also take the Sky Tram and get an interesting view from the tram. Albert's is an excellent restaurant with great food and service.
Allow a full day to see everything.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baxter97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20,249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,163
    4,247
    1,391
    328
    120
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
219 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Zoo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Definitely one of the best zoo's we've ever been to. The people working there were very friendly and helpful and there are many modes of transportation to get around to see things. Of course if you want to walk, it is great exercise since there are lots of hills! Wonderfully laid out zoo; recommend taking a bus tour with a narrator. They will stop periodically so you can take pictures also. Make sure you go to one of the first buildings that was ever built here...the hummingbird house! The volunteer was super sweet and although it is a small structure it's very peaceful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Homewardbound12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
des moines
Level Contributor
149 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice zoo: walkable & attractive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Went to the zoo with my 2 older teenage sons who are not into zoos but wanted to see this one. Great experience - very walkable with attractive exhibits. I was surprised at the little amount of information available on the animals. We did the entire zoo in 2+ hours. Very hilly so if you are not able to walk that type of path you may want to take the bus. The airtram is included in a general admission ticket. Lots of volunteers to help with directions.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank runread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
361 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“World Class !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Do yourself a favor and go see this zoo. Paired with the always perfect San Diego weather it's a no brainier.

Check out all my photos as soon as Trip Advisor releases them for all the proof you need.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CandS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is one the biggest zoo in the world and we were not disappointed! I am a zoo fan; my sister was not very enthusiast to go to the zoo, but she really liked it! It was a very pleasant day, the personnel was very nice. We spent almost the whole day to visit all the animals and had enough time to take breaks and also shop for a little souvenir to bring back in Montreal. They have really nice things that you can buy. This is a must!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cecile633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Zoo also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing