We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant Event”
Review of San Diego Zoo

San Diego Zoo
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
San Diego Zoo
More Info
$83.25*
and up
San Diego Zoo and Safari Park Combo Tour
More Info
$98.00*
and up
San Diego Zoo with Transport from Anaheim
Ranked #2 of 435 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Founded in 1916, the Zoo has been an icon in San Diego for nearly 100 years—and an absolute must-see in Southern California. Spend the day monkeying around in our tropical oasis as you visit beautiful habitats that are home to gorillas, eagles, tigers, sun bears, Asian leopards, rare reptiles, a palette of colorful birds, and more. Visit the Australian Outback to delight in our colony of 24 koalas, and travel along Panda Trek to experience giant pandas and other animals that share their bamboo forest habitat. Go back in time through Elephant Odyssey to discover what animals used to roam Southern California and see what the elephants are up to. Enjoy a guided tour on a double-decker bus or the scenic view from the Skyfari aerial tram, and dine in the peaceful surroundings of Albert's Restaurant. Discover the wonders of wildlife with animal encounters, interactive experiences, and keeper chats. A leader in animal care and conservation, the San Diego Zoo is at the heart of the San Diego experience.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restaurant Event”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The outside reception was super fun with a zookeeper showing a leopard and a few other zoo cats. The sit down dinner inside a tented area was well done with 3 courses.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeartTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14,875
    4,437
    1,462
    343
    136
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“San Diego Zoo”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Aussie experience is what they are working on now..there will be kangaroos, koalas, etc...
More food kiosks please.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charinavargas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous Zoo”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Was able to visit after spring break and mid week so there were minimal crowds and waits. The admission provides entry to all of the exhibits, the aerial tram and buses. There are many choices for food and snacks so you can easily spend all day! We arrived when it opened and took the bus ride around the zoo for kind of Grey Line experience and then zeroed in on the areas we wanted to return to. The bus ride was early in the AM and all the animals were awake and visable, especially the polar bear! Was able to spend some time at the panda exhibit with one of the giants walking very close and staring at the visitors...the baby was in the tree top and decided not to socialize. The zoo is also a botanical garden and the paths provide for wonderful walks. I usually carry a pedometer and put on close to 14000 steps the day we visited. While we walked a lot, you do not have to. There are tram stops everywhere to provide people with easier ways to see this great zoo. The staff were helpful and informative and the zoo was spotless, including the animal enclosures. Ive visited many zoos and this clearly is head and shoulders above the rest! If you enjoy trips to the zoo, youll appreciate the fact that so much attention is given to providing these beautiful creatures as close to a natural environment as possible and also the care in giving them daily stimulation to keep their interests high. The collection of cats is beyond anything Ive ever seen; they were exquisite. It is definitely an all day affair. If you plan a visit, plan for a day to see and experience all of the sights, sounds and pleasures!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vicki32414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to the zoo with my husband, 10 year old daughter, and mother in law. We had a great time. The workers there were very helpful and friendly. The zoo was very clean. The map was hard to follow so we sometimes had a hard time finding the animals we wanted to see. We especially liked the polar bears, elephants, giraffes, and the tiger. We had lunch at the Treehouse Cafe which had good food for all generations. It is a beautiful zoo. The animals are in natural settings. We had a surprisingly fascinating time walking around the reptile house where we saw a snake eating a mouse. Weird, but riveting. I strongly recommend the zoo for all ages.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Marmar1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Must See in San Diego”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hadn't been there in years-it's a fabulous zoo. one of the best in the world. Friend & I went especially to see the baby panda (born 7/12) totally worth the trip.

Don't forget to bring your walking shoes. Lots of hills and canyons. Best bet is to take the double decker bus tour and/or sky tram to get a idea of the layout. As also mentioned. there are express buses you can take to various locations. Lots of places to get eats/drinks.

Zoo staff guides are readily available to help with directions or questions.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelReview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Diego Zoo also viewed

 

Been to San Diego Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing