We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One visit is enough.”
Review of SeaWorld San Diego

SeaWorld San Diego
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.99*
and up
SeaWorld® San Diego
More Info
$19.00*
and up
SeaWorld San Diego Transportation and Admission
More Info
$119.00*
and up
SeaWorld San Diego Day Tour from Anaheim
Ranked #15 of 435 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Only at SeaWorld can you get close to dolphins, penguins, sharks and more. See awe-inspiring shows with magnificent killer whales, playful dolphins, humorous sea lions plus an amazing pet show featuring adopted animals. Dive under the sea at Explorer's Reef and touch a crab, shark, or playful cleaner fish. Experience exhilarating rides, roller coasters and water rides. See dozens of amazing attractions. Enjoy fresh California cuisine. Experience this beautiful park located on scenic Mission Bay. SeaWorld is a top-rated, all-age attraction and a must-see for any visit to San Diego. Have unforgettable fun that sparks a passion for wild animals and wild places.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One visit is enough.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent the day at Sea World San Diego with our 7y.o. We had gone to Sea World Orlando a few years ago and really enjoyed the shows and displays. Reliving the exact same experience was fine, but none of us were wow'd by it. We all felt that the Orlando location is nicer. The best part of the San Diego experience was the dolphin exhibit at the entrance. The only opportunity for discounted tickets seems to be using your AAA card, which you can do online (you don't need to buy in advance at a AAA office or online).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BFitz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,073 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,274
    2,323
    975
    305
    196
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Getting in was a long wait!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food and drinks overpriced, staff was friendly and roller coaster was fun!!!!!! Definetly buy the season pass and your your triple A card if you have one. For three season pass 210 dollars! What a deal!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Honkeystoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Shows are good, but watch the nickels and dimes”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Shows and exhibits were good. The animals connect was a lot smaller than expected. There was something here for all ages.

When you arrive and throughout the attraction there are signs about purchasing the all you can eat (at 3 restaurants) for $32 per person. We are a family of four and only spent $60 for the entire day. The $60 was for 2 turkey sandwiches, 1 fish and chips, 1 pizza, 1 stella sampler plate with 3 drinks (99 cents with special cup).

We plan to return as we took the price for a ticket for the year which was the same price as the ticket for the day.

Bring your tennis shoes, appropriate clothes, baggies for cellphones (if riding water rides). You can bring a backpack and snacks.....We didn't because this was a last minute substitution for our canceled plans. However, we will be prepared next time.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Coachchadwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not the best time of year in February”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our family of 4 visited this week. We have 2 boys, ages 6 and 3. It was nice weather when we were there.

The 3 shows that were active were great They were the highlight of our trip! There was NO Shamu Show which just doesn't seem right for SeaWorld! The Madagascar 4D movie was also not running. I would have given 4 Stars if we had the Shamu Show and 4D Movie.

SkyTower was nice view. Also did the SkyRide as well. These were fine to do and low key.

The food was not great.... I'd give 2 stars out of 5. We ate at Stella's Kitchen and had 2 kids pizza/bread sticks and 2 adult pizzas. NOT good. Don't eat there!

The positive is that the Manta had a very small line and we were able to get decent seats at all the shows.

The Shark Encounter had the strangest congestion in it that we took an exit and didn't wait. It became very uncomfortably crowded.

We liked the Stingray pool.... the 3year old loved it. We walked through and saw the Polar Bear, Walrus, Penguins, etc.

The Sesame Street area was good for the 3 year old.... we saw a LOT of little kids in the park.

The directional signage could be improved. We did use the iphone APP and it actually worked and gave updated Wait Times which was helpful.

We were able to find 20% off coupons if you had a Southwest Airlines Reward card. That made us feel a little better about our less than optimal experience.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank fhalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Sea World is a must visit... but.....”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went on a Sunday durring Presidents day weekend. We were able to buy an annual pass for the cost of a one day admission so that helps a bit since we live in the Phoenix area. The line for tix was long 30 mins. Then we went over to Shamu, and guess what... all the shows were cancelled that day. I think one of the whales had a baby... not sure... but what a HUGGGEE dissapointment. We thought about paying the $135 for "dine with Shamu" for a family of 4, glad we didn't... you can stand right accross from the dinning area and see exactly what they are seeing just not as close. Lunch for 4 people cost about $50 (rediculous for what you get) but that is what you expect from theme parks. I love that you can buy beer in SeaWorld. It was nice to have a few beers throughout the day. I didn't see anyone getting wasted or anything. Someone stole our stroller while parked outside the shark exhibit. WHO DOES THAT... we don't blame Seaworld..... We waited in another 30 minute line at lost and found to file an official report. Seaworld did provide us with a free rental (which was a very kind gesture) I suggest arriving at the shows 30 mins prior to showtime for ideal seating. Sit front and center at the very last row of the "Splash zone" these are the best seats.... you wont really get wet there. I have been to SeaWorld 5 or 6 times in my life... and honestly... it is getting old... There is an aquarium in my local mall that has some comprable fish displays.
You expect SeaWorld to provide you with something that you can not experience anywhere else. Like killer whales.
The dolphin show was LAME.... to much human dancing and not enough cool dolphin tricks. No joke, probably 15 mins of the 25 min show was humans dressed up like birds parading on high wires... Not even cool stuff like you see in Vegas... it was Lame.
My kids loved Seseme street land... You have to pay to feed the sea-lions... that was my highlight!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank impresiv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaWorld San Diego also viewed

 

Been to SeaWorld San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing