We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Balboa Park
from $39.95
More Info
from $46.00
More Info
from $86.40
More Info
from $59.00
More Info
Reviews (11,411)
Filter reviews
9,710 results
Traveler rating
7,360
1,968
303
60
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,360
1,968
303
60
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews japanese garden rose garden botanical gardens prado restaurant international houses spanish village the natural history museum organ pavilion air and space museum beautiful architecture fleet science center street performers walk around day pass art parador zoo
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 9,710 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Balboa Park is around 100 years old and one of our first stops anytime we are in San Diego. It is one of the largest urban parks at 1200 acres, larger than even NYC’s Central Park. We love strolling through the Spanish styles buildings and gardens, visiting the many museums. Balboa Park is home to the famous San Diego Zoo, historical Old Globe theatre, San Diego Museum of Art, Aircraft Museum, Natural History Museum among others and a picturesque Spanish Art Village. Watching artist in the open areas or visiting many colorful galleries is always fun.

Thank OutsideSuburbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

We aren't from the area so out time was limited. We walked through all of the gardens and walked through the Botanical Building. We spent only about three hours in the park, but a person could spend an entire week if you want to visit all of the museums in the park. We'll have to return to go through some of these. Very clean park. Plenty of restrooms and dining available on the grounds.

1  Thank Leonard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Went to Balboa Park while away in San Diego. It was OK, but not great. Most of the good Museums you need to pay for and there weren't many that I felt worth paying for. The buidings and overall scenery on a beautiful day were cool, but we only went into the air and space museum, and while OK, it diodn't come close to the air and space museum in Washington DC. There is quite a bit to do there if you have interest, but the best thing for us were the walk through the park and the beautiful sights within the park.

Thank RicRei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Spend the afternoon here. Did not have time for all the museums, but enjoyed the ambiance and access to the culture.

Thank Herbert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

So much to see! Don’t miss this fabulous park. So many museums. Pick and choose the ones you like. We rode a scooter throughout the park to see the whole thing. Enjoy every minute of it. Reserve the day.

Thank mmfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Only got to drive through during a short convention break. Easy parking and very ornate buildings. Gardens where lovely. this is a must stop and spend time as it is on our scheduled next visit. So much to do in San Diego.

Thank sholl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

This park was created over a hundred years ago and is complimented by some of the most beautiful landscaping while having the most amazing architecture. Each of the 16 museums are housed in buildings that are representative of the style of the time. Definitely a place that you can bring the family to for multiple purposes.

Thank Relax45264281334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

I popped by last weekend to visit the Air and Space Museum to see the "Bullitt" Mustang, and was reminded what an amazing place we have in the middle of our city. I commented that if you didn't live here, you'd want to take photos of all the buildings, and my family reminded me that we live here, and still do.
The park has been here since the 1800's, and the buildings since the early 1900's. You'll have to go visit to learn the special history of how and why, but the use now is mostly dedicated to a variety of museums such as science, art, photography, railroad, natural history, veterans, and more.
There is a great restaurant as well, several maintained gardens, and outdoor spaces such as botanical gardens, lily ponds, and rose gardens. Beyond the manicured gardens, miles of unmaintained trails circle the area for hikers, joggers, and dog walkers.
There is also a carousel, miniature railroad, the very famous Old Globe Theatre (where celebrities sometimes star in productions), and a culture center with houses dedicated to almost every country.
Street vendors with snacks and trinkets line up sometimes as well, and there is a beautiful fountain in front of the Science Center that serves as a gathering point. One of my favorite spots is the outdoor organ. Last weekend we stumbled on a rehearsal, and were able to enjoy the music all through the park.
It's definitely iconic, so if you have a few hours and want to walk a beautiful site, or even better, have a day and want to visit museums, this is a great place to go in San Diego.

Thank giget8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

If you are looking for a place to walk through and enjoy the scenery this is it. They have an optional tour in the tower which costs extra but is worth it in my opinion. You get added history and a great view of the City & surrounding areas. Good for selfies.

Thank Tourist206610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

Each time we come to San Diego our first stop is to Balboa Park.......the grounds are exquisite....the buildings and their archiitecture are not to be missed......Museums....first rate......the Garden House is an visual experince unto itself........time slows down here...they also have a full scale restaurant and a Japanese walking garden and snack shop.........if you are looking for a relaxing day......I wholeheartedly recommend visiting Balboa Park......the drive up entrance alone is worth the visit......go and explore.......beautiful visitas.....

Thank teresatbeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews