We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful architecture.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Park

Balboa Park
Book In Advance
$55*
and up
Private Balboa Park Segway Tour
Ranked #3 of 404 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most popular urban parks in the United States, this bucolic paradise is packed with an array of attractions, including the world-famous San Diego Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
“Beautiful architecture.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Some of these buildings are built more than a 100 years ago. The layout of the park is lovely. A great place to start getting a feel of San Diego if you are visiting as a tourist.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arundhati S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,027 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,193
    1,544
    236
    44
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
85 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Do the Tour First - Then Go Back to Museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

For $5, you can get an audio tour of the main area of the park. I would encourage you to start there - you can park at Inspiration Point Parking lot and take the from there and go to the central part of the park - since there is no parking up near the center. The audio tour explains about the buildings and setting in Balboa and why things were set up - all for the 1915 Expo - very interesting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I'm really glad we went to this park - it had a really nice botanical garden and statues and just a really scenic area to walk around and enjoy a peaceful walk.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank marg626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome for every age!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I took a friend and their one and a half year old kid. I also took my daughter and my husband. Their was something for everyone.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Interesting Buildings, Beautiful Grounds, Best Desert Garden, Many Museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Acres upon acres of beautiful, restful parkland and gardens to hang out in. The largest and most interesting collection of desert plants I have ever seen. Interesting buildings to see.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank PaulParks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing