We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“You can spend the whole day here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Park

Balboa Park
Book In Advance
$55*
and up
Private Balboa Park Segway Tour
Ranked #3 of 404 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most popular urban parks in the United States, this bucolic paradise is packed with an array of attractions, including the world-famous San Diego Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stroller parking, Activities for young children
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
405 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“You can spend the whole day here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

So much scenery to enjoy, different museums to explore, and different parts of the park to get lost in. The museums are free on Tuesdays for residents and if you're visiting it's $39 for the whole day to all the museums.

Take a tram ride to get the full BP experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kisssmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,001 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,174
    1,538
    235
    44
    10
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The aviation museum is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited the aviation museum a few years ago and really enjoyed it. From the old airliners to an actual Sopwith Camel, we thought it was money well spent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank me4osu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Level Contributor
179 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wish we started here.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We tried to find "Balboa Park" using our phone's navigation on our first day in San Diego... it led us to a ditch near the zoo. We didn't get a chance to look again until late in the afternoon on our last day (by that time all the museums that we wanted to visit had closed). It was still fun to just walk around and there is tons to see besides the plethora of museums (architecture, gardens, trails, fitness courts, art demonstrations, outdoor theatres, etc.).

Start early and go to the park's Visitor's Center first (1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101). Balboapark.org is also a good place to get more information for planning your visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LuvMCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Nice place for a walk. The pond is a really nice detail. We went on a Saturday and noticed a lot of wedding activity going on, a plus for those getting married soon to get ideas. Overall not a bad place.

Helpful?
Thank JustBeingReal
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Miss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

If you are in San Diego don't forget to visit Balboa park. Its beautiful.Excellent museums and work of art was amazing. simply loved it..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank chweetpriya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing