We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puppet Show” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Balboa Park

Balboa Park
1549 El Prado, San Diego, CA 92101
619-239-0512
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$55*
and up
Private Balboa Park Segway Tour
Ranked #3 of 371 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most popular urban parks in the United States, this bucolic paradise is packed with an array of attractions, including the world-famous San Diego Zoo.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
“Puppet Show”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The puppet show is a waste of money. Very amateurish, old-school production. My grandsons and I could not believe any public venue would charge money for something like this in a world-class park! Don't waste your time or money!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DaveLinda_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely should visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Beautiful park with all sorts of museums! I didn't have much time,but if I would, I would spend at least three days in this park.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Museums galore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful area. Numerous museums to visit. There is even a free park tram to get you from side to side of this enourmous park. Interesting history. The San Diego Zoo is located in Balboa Park. Definitely worth going to walk around or visiting a museum or just sitting and enjoying the architecture.

Helpful?
Thank Rn47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tidewater, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great entertainment on a budget.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We were at the San Diego Zoo and could see the towers of Balboa Park across the hill, so we went to visit it the next day. Some of the museums cost money, but if you're on a budget you can still have a really good time! Plan on walking, parking is pretty far from anything in the park. My husband and I and two young kids spent all day there, and didn't spend any money except on food. We all loved different things about it.

The architecture and grounds were beautiful - lots of gardens and fountains and ponds, also a beautiful indoor (and cool relief from the heat) botanical gardens. There were street performers everywhere, and not just mediocre ones, but actual talent! Lots of different types of museums, a nice big playground, walking trails, etc. If you're hungry, don't miss The Prado - it was a little on the expensive side, but one of the best food experiences we had in San Diego.

However it was a little hard to navigate - we couldn't find a map anywhere in the park, so we downloaded one for our android phone to find our way around. And the bathrooms at the playground were disgusting - no doors on the stalls and absolutely filthy!! Even my 8-year-old son refused to use it, but decided to wait until we got back to the hotel.

Overall though I wouldn't have missed it for the world! We all loved it!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Koryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Park, Bad Signage”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Went to Balboa Park to take my dogs to the dog park. Drove around for about 30 minutes and could not find any of the 3 dog parks. Finally found someone walking their dogs and asked where the dog park was.

Once we got there it was a lot of fun. Nice large park with trees and benches. Seperate drinking fountains for both people and dogs. All the dogs where nice, only had one owner that was too busy on his phone to pay attention to his dog.

Overall a good experience.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustMe123170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing