We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“People watching for free”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Balboa Park

Balboa Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Private Balboa Park Segway Tour
Ranked #3 of 426 things to do in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most popular urban parks in the United States, this bucolic paradise is packed with an array of attractions, including the world-famous San Diego Zoo.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“People watching for free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Sunday in the park brings out diverse groups with interesting points of view. The park itself is full of museums to explore and grounds to enjoy. Lots of dogs! - must be the great dog park near the entrance.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bird_17033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,518
    1,919
    293
    51
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful City Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a great time recently at Balboa Park. This was our first trip to San Diego and had a great day at this beautiful place. We spent the better part of a day strolling around the park and even took in one of the many museums. Parking is very easy to find and convienent to the many attractions in the park. We had lunch at the Japanese frienship garden tea house. The portions were decent and the food was very good. We enjoyed the many gardens and the architecture of the many buildings in the park. A very enjoyable day with the cactus garden being our favorite of the many gardens to visit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jlbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
Level Contributor
165 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“San Diego's Central Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Went on a beautiful day in February . It was crowded but still relaxing. Lots to see and do, some limited food options. Pack a picnic! Great for people watching. Would definitely recommend you get there early especially on weekends.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tivmamtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for a day in the park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Check out the newly renovated lily pond. Lots of museums close together, gardens, wide avenues for a stroll.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank anne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vegreville Alberta
Level Contributor
443 reviews
144 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Best park we've ever been to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This park is amazing, you need a lot of time to see everything it has to offer, we spent a day here and didn't even scratch the surface. There are a host of museums to wander through, many flower gardens, shops and beautiful buildings to gaze at. You need to find a parking spot like we did and begin your adventure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank firechief-JL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balboa Park also viewed

 

Been to Balboa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing