We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect hotel for San Diego”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #24 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
159 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel for San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights in October in a room with two beds on 3rd floor.

Pros:
- new hotel with large and very comfortable rooms
- even though close to the airport it's still very quiet at night
- great value for money
- good breakfast (extra, but not expensive)

Cons:
- not right in the centre of San Diego but only a quick 5-10 min drive to downtown

While in San Diego we definitely recommend visiting San Diego Zoo!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    327
    63
    23
    7
See reviews for
397
281
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2010

This was a comfortable place to stay for the night as we made our way up the coast. We didn't spend much time at the motel but it was clean and the staff were nice. Typical hotel. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessejamesthe4th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarcoxie
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

I will just list the negatives, there were positives but the negatives made up for any positives.
1. Elevators were inoperative on several occasions. Security at one point took over a evelator and ejected the people, when they finally let them back in and departed it still did not work.
Room service was not performed until after 4:00PM
They attempted to charge for a movies not ordered or watched
On one night the hospitality room was miserable due to noise from a band in the ajoining room.
They promised adequate room for the Saturday banquet, they put 108 people in a room that should have only held 72. (according to submited plan in the initial planning stages)
Excuse, they could not clear the ajoining room in time for the banquet.
They charged the Association for 40 gallons of coffee at $40.00/gal. Coffee at the free breakfast was to have been included free. It is impossible for the consumption of that much coffee, my only conclusion is they poured it down the drain. The vast majority of the attendees were not at the hotel between the hours of 9:00AM and 3:00PM.
Gratuity was excessive, 947.00 , I give on the basis of service beyone the normal.
I will be warning other organizations of these "tricks of the trade" by Marriott hotels by scanning magazines advertising reunions and meetings.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletoesSarcoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Family of 6 (with 4 teenagers) stayed in June and were accommodated with a cheerful and helpful staff, good room locations overlooking the bay, with clean and kept up facilities everywhere. We found the location well suited to getting around the SD area with good access to major roads and highways and despite the proximity to the airport, did not feel intruded upon by aircraft noise. The only minor observations were the lack of microwaves in the rooms and the breakfast service that was on the pricey side for our vacation budget. Nevertheless, our experience was excellent and we would make a point of staying here at the next opportunity in the SD area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4luvbgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

After spending three nights at the Hotel del Coronado, I moved to the Marriott Liberty Station the night before an early morning flight. Frankly, my stay here was better than the Hotel del:

- the rooms were well appointed, spacious, new and clean;
- there was no charge for parking, nor was there a resort fee;
- the Internet access was speedy;
- I was easily able to print off my boarding pass for free;
- the pool area was clean;
- the staff was friendly; and
- it was great value for the cost.

The only negative: I did hear jet noise from planes landing, but it wasn't too bad. I would recommend this hotel to others staying in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttraveler401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for three nights the weekend of the 10th. We were extremely pleased with our stay. We arrived at 1pm, and they have a room with the harbor view ready for us. The room was well configured - with the bed facing the balcony. Also had a couch, desk, and flat-screen TV. My husband fell in love with the coffee machine in the room, though for some reason they only stocked decaf coffee in the room. Ice machine served up tasty ice (and it always worked). I recall reading some complaints about the towels, but I actually liked them - very lightweight and good for wrapping up your wet hair. Several times we visited the front desk to ask for directions to different venues, and we were always treated with courtesy. Kudos to the front desk. I was never worried about airport noise, as we live under the landing pattern of LAX. But, for those concerned about noise - yes, airplanes fly directly by the hotel, so you may want to take that into consideration if you wish no noise. Once you close your window, though, all the sounds are muffled. Unfortunately, we were unable to squeeze time in our stay to try out the pool, but we noticed a lot of kids enjoying it. The surrounding park and shops are very nice, with a very comfortable and safe walking path directly in front of the hotel itself. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebellcaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix,AZ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

The location is just west of the airport. We had room 464 which faces the parking lot. Maybe odd numbered rooms face the bay/channel?
There is a complimentary airport shuttle van.(we did not use it,we had a car)
We had 2 queen beds in our room as a King was not available. The room had a nice desk area,LG flat screen TV with sleep time(many channels)r,phone on the desk and by the bed, a mini frig. and a Keurig coffee machine was near the entrance of the room. The room had very nice and new looking decor. There was a closet with an iron and ironing board in a cabinet. A full length mirror was near the entrance to the room.
The bathroom was good size,not too big but not too small either.
WI-FI is complimentary in the room as well as by the pool and throughout the hotel.
There are 3 computers for guest use off the lobby near a fireplace room. Only 2 work for any internet and 1 reserved for getting boarding passes. It is a 24 hr. business center.
There is a Waterside Deli(counter service) on the 1st floor serves lite breakfast and lunch. Hours are 5:30am to 7pm.
There is a Breakfast buffet at twenty five-92 the inhouse restaurant M-F from 6:30am to 10am and Saturdays,Sundays, & holidays from 7am to 11am. The cost is $12.50 There is also a bar near this area with tv's.
There is complimentary coffee at the Waterside deli.
In room dining is daily from 5pm to 10pm.
There is a outdoor pool and whirlpool and an outdoor firepit and fireplace.
Everything on the hotel property is very well appointed.
The lobby had watermelon juice and water flavored with lemons/limes a very nice touch which we enjoyed.
This hotel has a conference center,many things going on the weekend we were there, but never felt too crowded,parking we thought would be a problem, but we found a space every time.(complimentary parking)
There is a large park and walking path near the hotel,we enjoyed this. Benches along the way to reflect.
The hotel is a little difficult to find. Once off Harbor Blvd., go through the mini shopping mall and you will see Homewood Suites first then Courtyard.
If I am in the area again I would not hestitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenixreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#111 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing