We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for families with children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #27 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Ankeny, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel for families with children”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

My husband, 2 1/2 year old son, and I stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The hotel was very clean and well located. We had a room with a balcony that overlooked the pool, so the view was very nice from there. I had added a comment online when I booked that we would prefer a room with a balcony, and we did receive that type of room. Liberty Station was a beautiful, clean, and safe feeling area. There is a trail behind the hotel that you can walk down to go to a great park with a playground. This was one of the nicest playgrounds that we have been to. There are plenty of restaurants and grocery stores nearby, so we did a lot of our dining out near the hotel. The room had a refrigerator, but no microwave. This hotel is really near the airport, so if you are outside you will hear and see planes taking off and landing. The view of the airplanes taking off was a plus for us because our son loved seeing them. The noise inside was not enough to disturb us. I dropped the sleep quality down 1 mark from excellent only because one night there were people talking too loud and too late on the patio below our room which made it a little difficult to sleep. All of the attractions we wanted to go to in San Diego were just a short drive away from this hotel without having to fight downtown traffic. We did enjoy the fact that there was a nice laundry facility and free internet in the business center at this hotel. The only thing that could make this hotel better would be a free breakfast buffet, but I have not seen one of those in a Courtyard. We will be staying at this hotel if we return to the San Diego area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    333
    65
    23
    7
See reviews for
401
282
61
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

Clean, crisp, new rooms with a frig and microwave. Friendly staff and decent breakfast buffet. Pool is a good size and not too crowded.
This place is the best if you have young kids. A HUGE and beautiful park right near the hotel, with great water views and you can see the airplanes take off! Also with 2 great kid parks for them to slide on. Walking distance is a great shopping/food complex so you dont have to waste your time looking for meals. Los Primos mexican food is just awesome, as is the Thai and sushi places. This hotel is so close to Sea World and downtown (4 miles each) - that it doesnt make sense to stay and pay overpriced hotel rates to be downtown. This is just one of the most convenient, clean, best located and kid friendly hotels I have ever seen. And free Wi-Fi!!!!!!!!!!
Cons - thin walls, can hear your neighbors, sadly this is true of all new construction hotels.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Hotel opened in 2008; is well maintained. The staff is very helpful. Great location central to most attractions; BEAUTIFUL VIEW!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tgrbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My husband and I traveled with our two toddler children. The room was quite large, which is nice because we set up a travel cot and pack & play for the kids. Only a couple of minor complaints, one being there aren't really adequate hooks for hanging towels in the bathroom and I also wish the bathroom had a much stronger fan. Husband was impressed with the buffet, as he brought our food to the room and the staff accomodated our every need with trays and cups with lids.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pescas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2010

This is a gem! My college age son and I got a room with a meal credit and that was about right for a nice room and two very good breakfast buffets. The pool and hot tub are great, the restaurant was pretty good for a hotel, and the grounds were magnificent. Our room had one of those Keurig coffee makers in it and it was neat to try one out.

The Liberty Station area is cool. It's across from the airport; so, you get a bit of air traffic noise. We were able to block that out. I was able to take a nice long walk the evening before my son's flight arrived and found a Trader Joe's and a Vons market. There are some delightful restaurants in the area, too. I highly recommend De Kine and the Corvette Diner.

It's easy getting around the Liberty Station area and this is a great place to stay when in San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cybermama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2010

If you travel I’m sure you have been fooled and disappointed by the pictures and descriptions on hotel websites, I know I have, and feel the needles when those in the group tell you, “You know I thought this was going to be…….” We go to SeaWorld at least two times a year and have stayed at a few hotels and I must say if this place had a larger pool I would say it was as good if not better than the Hilton resort on Mission bay for $150.00 a night less. My only complaints were the size of the pool, (a little small, but very nice and there is a Jacuzzi) and no breakfast room service. Room service for dinner was very good and reasonable. I cannot say enough about the staff, professional, courteous and fast, make a request and it’s done. I was impressed from the barista at the hotels Starbucks, front desk, even housekeeping…
The Liberty Station area is worth a little exploring. It’s on the property of the old basic training facility of the US Navy in San Diego and reeks with history. San Diego has done well to preserve the integrity of the area and honoring those who have served this country. I hope Monterey and San Francisco do as well with their inherited Military Installations...
I found going to their web site and using AAA got me better rates than any of the online booking sites by about $30.00, so it helps to shop. I asked to stay on the ground floor but when I go again, and we will, I’ll ask for upper floor room with a balcony facing SeaWorld on the chance you can see the nightly fireworks.
The area has plenty of shops and eateries, and this place seems central to everything Mission bay a miles or so north, San Diego harbor a mile or so south, if your new to the area don’t miss either one.
Hope this helps… Good Travels.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oceanview Please
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2010

I booked this hotel through marriott.com after seeing the excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. The reviews were spot on. This hotel is exceptionally well-managed, very clean, and resides in a wonderful location less than three miles from the airport. Built in a new planned community called Liberty Station, it's surrounded by restaurants and shops, is flanked by a lovely inland waterway, and is very quiet except for the occasional jet flying over.

The earlier reviewer said she thought the place was expensive, but she must have bought last minute. I reserved a room here less than three weeks before my stay at a AAA rate of $119/night. I consider this an exceptional value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalnutBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
1.1 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing