We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View - Serene Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #28 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

What a great location -- serene beauty, views of the water and Harbor Island -- from almost every room. This hotel is very "Southern Cal"; smartly decorated in contemporary colors, very clean, professional staff, etc. The Pros: reasonably priced rooms; harbor views; waterfront paths for walking and jogging; nice pool and hot tub. The Cons: Large windows, but they only open about four inches (unless you get a balcony room); the most uncomfortably firm beds I've experienced in a Marriott brand -- they're probably good for your back though. Cautionary warning, this hotel is located in a beautiful setting, but one that is directly in the flight path of the airport. If you like your windows open at night, and really hate the sound of jet aircrafts, this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

We felt ourselves very well in this hotel. Large, clean rooms, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, huge parking lot.
If you have a car, this is really the place to stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelmutHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2010

We recently returned from San Diego in March. We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Liberty Station and were highly impressed with the hotel. The hotel is centrally located to all of the attractions where you can get to Sea World, the zoo, downtown, etc in 15 minutes or less. We did have a rental car which made it very convenient to get around. The hotel does NOT charge for parking which is a huge plus because many hotels do in the area.
Check-in was easy and they allowed us to check in early around 1pm. It’s a 5 minute drive from the airport so it was nice to get right to the hotel and unload after a long flight. The rooms were very nice and clean. We had two queen beds and a single sleeper which was perfect for our two boys (ages 3 and 5). Just allowed them to have their own beds at night. The bathroom was large, the TV was big and offered plenty of channels to watch. The room had a mini-fridge which was perfect to store milk, water, pop, etc. The room also had a Keurig coffee maker which was a very nice touch. Very convenient to make a cup of coffee and they offered plenty of coffee flavors. Our room did not have a balcony, but there are rooms that have them. I think because we got the room with the sleeper sofa meant there was not a balcony but we preferred the sleeper sofa option.
Yes the hotel is near the airport but when you are in your room you don’t really notice it. They built it in such a way that it blocks out the noise very well where it didn’t bother us at all. Most of the flights are done by 10pm anyway.
The kids loved the pool…was heated and also had a hot tub area as well. Lots of outdoor patio space with a fire-pit but we never used much of that. The hotel is very conveniently location near restaurants, Starbucks, grocery store, etc. There is a walking path right outside the doors that leads to a great playground for the kids.
The hotel had a restaurant, café, and bar as well. We never ate at the restaurant but it sure smelled good. The hotel does not offer a free breakfast so we just got items at the local grocery store and used our fridge in our room to cover the first meal of the day. There is a great pizza place nearby (Oggi’s) and Subway as well but most of the time we were out and about around San Diego.
Though the hotel was a Courtyard it felt more like a big hotel with all the amenities it offered. We were very pleased with our entire stay.
We really felt this was one of the best hotels we have stayed at for the money. I hope they keep up what they are currently doing with this property because I will surely stay here again in the future. I also heard the property next door (Homewood Suites) is owned by the same owner so we would also look to stay there as well. Both properties get excellent reviews so the owner and staff are doing a great job.
San Diego is an awesome city to visit and this property and location makes a great home base for a vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yakster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

What a lovely hotel. Staff could not do enough for us and any request was greeted with a smile. From the booking of the rooms, right through to our departure, everyone in our tour party was looked after. The rooms were large and spotless. The airport shuttle made my life easier to get all 65 of us to the hotel. The tournament being held on the park next to the hotel also saved us a lot on transportation. Location was good and I was pleasantly surprised that we could not hear the planes taking off, even though the hotel is so close to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank U20manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

Only 3 miles from San Diego International, and located at Liberty Station, this hotel is often booked, so plan ahead. If your booking on the gov/military rate, the hotel usually books out about 3-weeks in advance. It's not in the downtown core, but close (4 miles), located across the street from the Point Loma FASWTC Naval base. Quiet location, standard (by which I mean good) Courtyard hot breakfast buffet, dinner (did not eat diner there), good open-layout bar with three TVs (and doesn't have that creepy business-traveller-bar feel), espresso cafe (brews Starbucks, but isn't an actual Starbucks) with cafe food (panini etc...), pool, hottub, private courtyard, plenty of free parking, free wireless, room service (5pm-10pm only), dry-cleaning, coin-op laundry with free soap (ask at the desk), modern rooms with LCDs and iPod/iPhone docks on the alarm clocks. They also have the network/video/audio connection strip that allows you to connect your laptop to the TV to review presentations or watch DVDs. Liberty Station also has a Starbucks located in it, and an Oggi's (microbrews, good food, great pizzas) that are a 1-minute walk form the hotel (I usually eat at Oggi's). This hotel has an excellent combination of ammenities that any serious business traveller looking for a relaxing base-camp would want. This location is everything that the "Courtyard" concept was designed for. I've stayed there three times, and it is now the first San Diego lodging I check for when I travel.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gablestout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

I've stayed in most of the San Diego airport hotels and this is the one I'll return to. It was pouring rain when I arrived so having many in-hotel choices for food was great - room service, restaurant, deli and 24 hour convenience store) I opted for room service and the food was very good - crab cakes and sweet potato fries - yum! The location right on a canal with pathways, many many shops and restaurants within blocks was perfect. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, my room spacious, very clean and modern. The mini fridge also came in handy. It was a little chilly for me to try the pool or hot tub but the outside location with comfy chairs, couches, out door fireplace, looked like a wonderful place to relax. Lots of other amenities including ice cold flavored water (try the watermelon!) right by the front desk to refresh you when you return from a jog.

To save a little $$ I took the free shuttle to the hotel when I landed (be sure to have the phone number handy as you need to call them for pick up) and back to pick up a rental car the next day. I repeated that process the day before I went home - no need to return the rental car the morning of flight - much less stressful and saved 2 days of rental costs. And this hotel even provides FREE parking!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2010

What a great ending to our vacation! We stayed here for just one night before our flight out of San Diego airport. The location was ideal for us. The hotel, while not luxurious, more than met our needs and we are happy to recommend it.

The hotel itself has contemporary styling. Not to my tastes, but it was clean, comfortable and very functional. The bathroom was great. It looked like they put a lot of thought into the needs of the business traveler, with easy computer hookups and a comfortable work chair. The flat screen tv was great, with HD channels---something our much higher priced hotel had lacked. Don't expect fancy sheets or towels, but do expect a comfortable sleep. We were pleasantly surprised that the airport noise didn't affect us at all. Free parking, too.

The hotel is in the Liberty Station area. It is next to Homewood Suites, but is newer. We didn't need a suite and didn't need or desire to cook our own meals, so Courtyard was just fine with us. There are plenty of chain type restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel restaurant was an absolute gem! We ate dinner there, but had an excellent meal. After eating overpriced, ridiculous meals for a few days, the meal in the Courtyard was a welcome surprise! The wine list, although not extravagant, was well thought, and reasonably priced. The bar was also a welcome relief. The staff was excellent, friendly, but not over the top. Well done, Courtyard!

If you have extra time, you might consider driving to the Cabrillo monument. It's an easy 15 minute drive through a mostly residential area. They have limited hours (9-5?), but it's well worth even a short visit to Rosecrans cemetery and the monument. The views are spectacular. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplainjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Courtyard San Diego Central
#18 of 278 in San Diego
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $132 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing