We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, helpful and polite staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #24 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, helpful and polite staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2010

We felt ourselves very well in this hotel. Large, clean rooms, helpful staff, delicious breakfast, huge parking lot.
If you have a car, this is really the place to stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelmutHungary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    327
    63
    23
    7
See reviews for
397
281
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2010

We recently returned from San Diego in March. We stayed at the Marriott Courtyard Liberty Station and were highly impressed with the hotel. The hotel is centrally located to all of the attractions where you can get to Sea World, the zoo, downtown, etc in 15 minutes or less. We did have a rental car which made it very convenient to get around. The hotel does NOT charge for parking which is a huge plus because many hotels do in the area.
Check-in was easy and they allowed us to check in early around 1pm. It’s a 5 minute drive from the airport so it was nice to get right to the hotel and unload after a long flight. The rooms were very nice and clean. We had two queen beds and a single sleeper which was perfect for our two boys (ages 3 and 5). Just allowed them to have their own beds at night. The bathroom was large, the TV was big and offered plenty of channels to watch. The room had a mini-fridge which was perfect to store milk, water, pop, etc. The room also had a Keurig coffee maker which was a very nice touch. Very convenient to make a cup of coffee and they offered plenty of coffee flavors. Our room did not have a balcony, but there are rooms that have them. I think because we got the room with the sleeper sofa meant there was not a balcony but we preferred the sleeper sofa option.
Yes the hotel is near the airport but when you are in your room you don’t really notice it. They built it in such a way that it blocks out the noise very well where it didn’t bother us at all. Most of the flights are done by 10pm anyway.
The kids loved the pool…was heated and also had a hot tub area as well. Lots of outdoor patio space with a fire-pit but we never used much of that. The hotel is very conveniently location near restaurants, Starbucks, grocery store, etc. There is a walking path right outside the doors that leads to a great playground for the kids.
The hotel had a restaurant, café, and bar as well. We never ate at the restaurant but it sure smelled good. The hotel does not offer a free breakfast so we just got items at the local grocery store and used our fridge in our room to cover the first meal of the day. There is a great pizza place nearby (Oggi’s) and Subway as well but most of the time we were out and about around San Diego.
Though the hotel was a Courtyard it felt more like a big hotel with all the amenities it offered. We were very pleased with our entire stay.
We really felt this was one of the best hotels we have stayed at for the money. I hope they keep up what they are currently doing with this property because I will surely stay here again in the future. I also heard the property next door (Homewood Suites) is owned by the same owner so we would also look to stay there as well. Both properties get excellent reviews so the owner and staff are doing a great job.
San Diego is an awesome city to visit and this property and location makes a great home base for a vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2010

What a lovely hotel. Staff could not do enough for us and any request was greeted with a smile. From the booking of the rooms, right through to our departure, everyone in our tour party was looked after. The rooms were large and spotless. The airport shuttle made my life easier to get all 65 of us to the hotel. The tournament being held on the park next to the hotel also saved us a lot on transportation. Location was good and I was pleasantly surprised that we could not hear the planes taking off, even though the hotel is so close to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank U20manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

Only 3 miles from San Diego International, and located at Liberty Station, this hotel is often booked, so plan ahead. If your booking on the gov/military rate, the hotel usually books out about 3-weeks in advance. It's not in the downtown core, but close (4 miles), located across the street from the Point Loma FASWTC Naval base. Quiet location, standard (by which I mean good) Courtyard hot breakfast buffet, dinner (did not eat diner there), good open-layout bar with three TVs (and doesn't have that creepy business-traveller-bar feel), espresso cafe (brews Starbucks, but isn't an actual Starbucks) with cafe food (panini etc...), pool, hottub, private courtyard, plenty of free parking, free wireless, room service (5pm-10pm only), dry-cleaning, coin-op laundry with free soap (ask at the desk), modern rooms with LCDs and iPod/iPhone docks on the alarm clocks. They also have the network/video/audio connection strip that allows you to connect your laptop to the TV to review presentations or watch DVDs. Liberty Station also has a Starbucks located in it, and an Oggi's (microbrews, good food, great pizzas) that are a 1-minute walk form the hotel (I usually eat at Oggi's). This hotel has an excellent combination of ammenities that any serious business traveller looking for a relaxing base-camp would want. This location is everything that the "Courtyard" concept was designed for. I've stayed there three times, and it is now the first San Diego lodging I check for when I travel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gablestout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2010

I've stayed in most of the San Diego airport hotels and this is the one I'll return to. It was pouring rain when I arrived so having many in-hotel choices for food was great - room service, restaurant, deli and 24 hour convenience store) I opted for room service and the food was very good - crab cakes and sweet potato fries - yum! The location right on a canal with pathways, many many shops and restaurants within blocks was perfect. The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable, my room spacious, very clean and modern. The mini fridge also came in handy. It was a little chilly for me to try the pool or hot tub but the outside location with comfy chairs, couches, out door fireplace, looked like a wonderful place to relax. Lots of other amenities including ice cold flavored water (try the watermelon!) right by the front desk to refresh you when you return from a jog.

To save a little $$ I took the free shuttle to the hotel when I landed (be sure to have the phone number handy as you need to call them for pick up) and back to pick up a rental car the next day. I repeated that process the day before I went home - no need to return the rental car the morning of flight - much less stressful and saved 2 days of rental costs. And this hotel even provides FREE parking!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmarcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2010

What a great ending to our vacation! We stayed here for just one night before our flight out of San Diego airport. The location was ideal for us. The hotel, while not luxurious, more than met our needs and we are happy to recommend it.

The hotel itself has contemporary styling. Not to my tastes, but it was clean, comfortable and very functional. The bathroom was great. It looked like they put a lot of thought into the needs of the business traveler, with easy computer hookups and a comfortable work chair. The flat screen tv was great, with HD channels---something our much higher priced hotel had lacked. Don't expect fancy sheets or towels, but do expect a comfortable sleep. We were pleasantly surprised that the airport noise didn't affect us at all. Free parking, too.

The hotel is in the Liberty Station area. It is next to Homewood Suites, but is newer. We didn't need a suite and didn't need or desire to cook our own meals, so Courtyard was just fine with us. There are plenty of chain type restaurants within walking distance, but the hotel restaurant was an absolute gem! We ate dinner there, but had an excellent meal. After eating overpriced, ridiculous meals for a few days, the meal in the Courtyard was a welcome surprise! The wine list, although not extravagant, was well thought, and reasonably priced. The bar was also a welcome relief. The staff was excellent, friendly, but not over the top. Well done, Courtyard!

If you have extra time, you might consider driving to the Cabrillo monument. It's an easy 15 minute drive through a mostly residential area. They have limited hours (9-5?), but it's well worth even a short visit to Rosecrans cemetery and the monument. The views are spectacular. Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noplainjayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

This hotel is right next to Homewood Suites Airport/Liberty Station - so they shared the same benefits of location, convenience. The shuttle driver told me that the owner owns both hotels, therefore they shared the shuttle service.

This is a BETTER hotel than Homewood Suites next door. It is very clean, rooms are spacious (note they don't have suites), and they are much newer. We arrived late and the complimentary shuttles picks us up at Terminal 2 within 10 minutes since I called. Check in was a breeze. The carpet in our rooms are new and bathroom is spotless. Staff are also very friendly and helpful.

Any dark side? Hum, a little bit - since it is right next door to Homewood you would expect the airplane noise. It is slight better though (maybe better insulation?).

Homewood offers free breakfast, but the restaurant in Courtyard offers the same continental breakfast buffet for $10 USD. We ordered American breakfast for $12, that comes with a toast, 2 bacons, and 2 eggs. I'd suggest saving the money and go outside for breakfast.

Anyways, this is a very good hotel (compared to Homewood which we stayed prior to our departure)

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank biggroofy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#110 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing