We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Running Trails Nearby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #23 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This hotel was fantastic. We had a large Army event being held at this hotel and I'm very glad I decided to stay in the hotel instead of on post nearby. It is in a wonderful location that includes many popular running routes nearby. The Libety Station area is gorgeous and had good history you can see while you run by. The hotel itself was very nice and I will certainly be staying here during my next San Diego visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeStanphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2014

We are honored to have had the Ball held at our hotel! It is such a relief to be able to have an event here, and then just head up the elevator to your room. The options for exercising outdoors are endless here in Liberty Station, and with the beautiful waterfront path, exercising becomes a treat instead of a chore. Thanks again for choosing to stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 1,175 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014

This Courtyard offered nice rooms and several special touches. Upon entering the hotel, just past check-in is two containers with flavored water (fruit and cucumber).

Free parking!!!

For dining options there is two options:
- there is a full buffet breakfast with drinks included in the price...made to order omelets, waffles, pancakes, eggs. Buffet line has eggs, meats, potatoes, bread, fruit, etc. A good value. at 12 or 13 dollars. Also, a Starbucks has coffee options with a few breakfast-to-go items.

Had the opportunity to eat dinner here the day of our late arrival...was actually very good at a reasonable cost. Jim, their "famous bartender" was a pleasant fellow who they keep rather busy and he does a nice job of keeping the guests supplied with drinks and food items.

The hotel is located conveniently to downtown, Gaslamp District, U.S.S. Midway, and all things San Diego. If you are into breweries...the well known Stone Brewery (not the original location, but the Liberty Station site) is within walking distance or a very short walk. Several dining options at Liberty station as well.

The room was well afforded and clean. They provide Paul Mitchell toiletries and Keurig coffee. A small refrigerator also is in the room. large bottles of water are available in the room for 3.50 each as well.

They only semi negative comments that could be made:
- requested a king room and recieved 2 queens instead. Was given a room by the pool that can be a little noisy with normal pool use and activities. Our patio backed right up to pool chairs. There was not any noise late but if you are an early to bed person you might want to avoid this location as guests will take advantage of the pool.
- the Starbucks had only one young man running the show in the morning. Although he was capable he is only able to wait on one person at a time and the line can start backing up.
- the bar area can get busy as well and on the night we enjoyed dinner the bartender had to wear many hats. Jim was the solo person manning the bar, the bar dining area, bringing drinks to the outside area, and fixing TV's in another section. He handled himself well and with a smile, but the one person "helping" him with food delivery was not a real go getter.
- house keeping seemed a little stingy with the Paul Mitchell hair products. While I am darn near bald, my wife has long hair and could go through the hotel size bottle of shampoo each day. Had to write a note for more product and to replenish the water bottles available for purchase. I am accustomed to tipping the housekeepers but stopped when the normal toilitries were not provided and instead resorted to the note process.
- although others have said there is NO noise from the close airport...we would have to disagree. You will periodically here jet noise. This never woke us up or disturbed us in anyway...usually noticed it when getting ready in the morning. But just wanted to let you know that there is SOME jet noise, not soundproof.

In conclusion, we would stay here again if ever in the San Diego area with no reservations

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dutch_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your thorough review! We love to put forth the extra effort and do touches like infused water for our guests. And yes, we have free parking- a rare added value for a hotel in San Diego! We always strive to give every single guest the award winning customer service that Marriott Hotels are famous for. From Housekeeping to your room location, if for whatever reason your room is not what you expected, please let the front desk know, and we will make it right. We hope you will come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We really liked this hotel. Our king with sofabed room had a fairly large fridge and microwave in addition to the Keurig coffee maker and a balcony. We had a nice partial view of the inlet and the walkway/bridge area. My only criticism is that the room was a little small. Because of the placement of the king bed, there was only about 1 foot of walking space on the right side of the bed. One more foot of space would have made it feel more spacious. A positive was that the bathroom was nice and large with a very large granite counter. Free parking was also nice and the location is convenient to so many sites and the airport.

One other comment is that our room was right across from the maid's service room which was left open all day so that every time we opened our door, we saw the all the bedding, towels, cleaning solutions, etc. It just turned me off a little and it was always open until the maids were done for the day, which was fairly late. It was also a little noisy because they start early in the morning. We always request a quiet room and my husband is a gold level marriott member (and we own property with marriott) so I was a little disappointed in that choice for us, though our view and balcony were very nice and we didn't want to change that.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water and a balcony. The double rooms "seem" to be more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for your very thorough review! The sofa bed, Keurig Coffee Maker, and Balcony are all wonderful additions that we provide for most of our rooms. Along with the free parking, and close proximity to the airport, our hotel has a lot of added value. I will be passing along your comments regarding the service room to our housekeeping department to review. It is because of this wonderful feedback that we are able to continually improve the guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I was attending a Safety Culture Conference in the hotel the week of May 12, 2014 and my mother tagged along with me. We both noticed that the hotel was extremely well kept and very clean. As for the staff, Anna in Food & Beverage made my mother's morning breakfast very enjoyable; James in Food & Beverage was wonderful and was very nice to my mother. He noticed that my mom was not feeling well when we arrived and made sure she was comfortable, hydrated and was accommodating when she visited/dined in the lounge. Martha in Housekeeping was very friendly, courteous, responsive, and knowledgeable about the San Diego area, and Jim in Food & Beverage makes an amazing margarita. The food at the hotel is very good and the Rib Eye is to die for. I highly recommend this location and truly thank them for their hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KBailey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your conference, and bringing some family along! Anna, James, Jim, and Martha will be so happy to read your great review. I am pleased that we were able to create a comforting environment for your mom while she visited the restaurant, and lounge. Please come back and see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here again. Absolutely love the location, so close to everything. Really enjoyed talking to Sandy the shuttle driver. Front desk staff so friendly. Room was great with nice view. This is our place to stay every time we travel to San Diego. We'll be back soon!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mss09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! Sandy is a fantastic addition to our team here, and she will be delighted to read your recommendation. We can’t wait to see you on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel is one of the best options in the area especially for the quality of sleep, great room upkeep, and nearby shops and restaurants. Additionally, free parking is amazing and very hard to come by in San Diego. I stayed here for my wedding on July 28, 2013 and the process was pretty easy besides working with a few different people to reserve the block of rooms. However, the only major disappointing thing was that I thought I would be receiving a bridal suite and instead received a standard king room. This made the getting ready process quite difficult in a small space so my advice to any brides that choose this hotel for this purpose should ensure what type of room they are reserving. Besides that, all of the guests really enjoyed this hotel and the breakfast (was not included in the room rate).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for choosing our hotel for your bridal party! We upgrade brides whenever we can to larger rooms, but they unfortunately are not always available. Again, I’m glad we were part of your memorable wedding day. Contact your coordinator if you would like to come back for an anniversary stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here one night while in town for a college graduation. This had to be one of the best Marriott Courtyard hotels I've ever stayed in. The building is nearly new, the room was excellent, the desk staff was very friendly, and the hotel breakfast buffet (13.50) was very good. One of the best spots was lounging by the pool near the bonfire. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms have balconies - the ones that face the harbor. We chose not to have one as we have a 3 year-o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rick B, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We are so happy that you were able to spend a night here at our hotel! Our outdoor fire pit, next to the pool, is a hit with guests looking to relax outside. We hope to see you again soon, perhaps for a longer stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dolphin Motel
#38 of 278 in San Diego
1,117 reviews
The Pearl Hotel
#47 of 278 in San Diego
979 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $151 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing