We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real not much to write home about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #24 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Real not much to write home about”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stay in a lot of Marriott hotels and this has to be the most disappointing. The room was pokey, the ac did not function properly and the bath plug was broken and therefore really just a shower. I will not be back, there are plenty of far superior hotels in San Diego for the same price. To top it all off drunk guest make considerable noise throughout the night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FC96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick b, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Man, I hate to read reviews like that! It's like a punch in the gut!

I'm so sorry you encountered problems during your stay with us. We appreciate the feedback though, and have corrected the issues. As you can read from previous reviews, this isn't a systemic problem here, just an isolated case unfortunately.

I don't know how to respond to the "pokey" comment, but again, as you can read, most all of our guests feel differently, and our rooms are pretty similar to the 800+ Courtyards in the system.

Thansk for giving us a try though, and I wish you well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    327
    63
    23
    7
See reviews for
397
281
61
262
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I changed to this hotel from the Courtyard at Mission Valley, was so pleased with the nice location near the harbor, walking paths, and location in a nice new small shopping center with restaurants, massage and pedicure shops. Staff was extremely friendly, and pool patio area was a great place to sit out and enjoy the lovely San Diego weather! I was attending a conference at the convention center and it was an easy 10 minute drive. I appreciated being removed from the crowds and chaos of the Gaslamp and general downtown seediness and staying at Liberty Station. Will definitely return! The Homewood Suites was right next door and would also be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EHS_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for being a loyal Courtyard guest! We are very proud of our location and of being part of the Liberty Station neighborhood. We believe our hotel is in an awesome location that is off the beaten path, and offers a more tranquil environment than where some of the other San Diego hotels are located. I am very happy you enjoyed all that our hotel and Liberty Station has to offer, and hope you are able to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed in this hotel about a year ago but I forgot to review it! very nice stay. beautiful rooms, nice lobby and bar, staff were friendly and attentive. I didn't get to use the pool but the view from the pool was awesome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik67ir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Wow! Thank you for thinking of us a year after your stay! I am glad we were able to make a lasting impression, and appreciate you taking the time, long after your trip, to share your experience. We hope you continue to remember us when returning to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
115 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night in early Nov. Very attentive and helpful staff at the front desk. Restaurant on site. Bar in the lobby. Breakfast buffet was great, including omelets to order. Close to the airport and offers a shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am happy to hear our staff took good care of you and you enjoy breakfast. I hope you can come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I stayed here for a week on business in the Point Loma area and picked this hotel since the reviews were overwhelmingly positive and the location. I was not disappointed. The hotel is located in a good spot and only a few minutes if that, from the airport. If you are headed downtown each day this isn't the best location for that. There are a few restaurants nearby, and the walking trail that runs along the water behind the hotel is great. I didn't use the restaurants in the hotel but the bar sure was hopping each evening when I would get back.

Check in was uneventful and I was put in a King room with a small balcony looking towards the Homewood Suites next door. The room was clean and definitely had the newer design you will only find in newer Courtyards. The bathroom was large and sufficient, although the door opened out into the foyer instead of into the bathroom, which was strange since there is plenty of room inside the bathroom unlike some older Courtyards where the door barely clears the toilet. Not the case here. The bed was super comfortable. WIfi was standard hotel quality, not that great but should work for anything other than video streaming. There was wired internet as well which wasn't any faster. AC got nice and cold, the thermostat wouldn't switch over to "heat" mode, not sure if it was broken or simply disabled(I didn't need heat anyway). My room also had a second, bigger fridge along with a brand new microwave which was fantastic. The original "cube" fridge was below a counter with a single-serve Keurig machine which is also a nice touch. The k-cups taken/used each day were replaced every single day. Kind of weird that consuming the bottle of water in the room resulted in a $2.50 charge yet the 5 kcups provided were free, which have a value of about $3(and were restocked every day).

The only complaint would be the lack of TV channels, a couple HD channels didn't come in all week so there were only 9 working HD channels, and perhaps 25 regular channels(several were fuzzy as well), a pretty meager selection from many other hotels I have stayed at. My TV was a flat panel LCD but definitely an older model from when the hotel opened a few years ago. The first remote was non-functional but a simple visit to the front desk solved this problem with a replacement.

I've stayed at a lot of Courtyards and this one is better than most with the newer rooms, a Keurig, microwave/big fridge, and nice grounds and a couple restaurants. If your business takes to the Point Loma area/base this is a solid choice.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side have a view of downtown/walking trail/water instead of the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for your nice review of our hotel. As you know, many of our guests rely on Trip Advisor reviews to help them decide on where to stay. I am happy to see that you picked our hotel based on the many positive reviews we have received, and that we were able to live up to those expectations. I apologize for the minor I.T. issues you experienced in the room, and have informed our engineering team of the issues. Thank you again for choosing our hotel based on our guests’ positive feedback, and for providing feedback of your own!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The nicest Courtyard we've every stayed at, and we've stayed at many. It is quite new so that's part of if but also the hotel is very spacious and the staff is professional, friendly, and accommodating. We stayed for one night to explore Liberty Station and surrounding areas. We had our bikes and petaled all around the area during the day and that night enjoyed dinner and dancing in Gaslamp which was a short cab ride away. The Courtyard is in a beautiful location and convenient to explore many areas of downtown.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
I just finished reading another response that mentioned we are the best Courtyard that guest has ever stayed at, so needless to say, this has been a good day! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences at our hotel! I am so proud to see that we have been leaving a lasting impression on our guests, and are leading the Courtyard pack. Thank you again, and we hope you return to San Diego and our hotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
298 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were greeted by a smiling, cheerful Samantha who answered all my questions with no complaint. Our room was beyond clean! Beyond spotless!!! We had two queen beds (Rm 460) and the room was very spacious and well appointed. Nice comfy chair beside the window and comfy chair at the work station. Nice flat screen t.v.; dorm size refrigerator and microwave. Our linens were fantastic; mattresses perfect and as Goldilocks said, "Not to hard, not to soft, JUST RIGHT!" Bathroom was great! Plenty of counter space and for once, the bottom of my shoes did NOT stick to the floor from lack of mopping! Nice grab bars in front and towards the rear of the tub and the shower spray was excellent. There was absolutely NOTHING to complain about where the rooms were concerned.

The outside is also like a resort! The hotel is situated right on the water (lagoon???) with nice, paved sidewalks that seem to go forever. There are even benches beside them facing the water and that is nice in the late afternoon for enjoying a glass of wine or having a beer.

The swimming pool and hot tub are great; also a nice covered area with wicker furniture; fire pit off to the side of the covered area with plenty of chairs. Another area off the fire pit area with tables and chairs!

The hotel has a small restaurant (breakfast buffet $12.50; two eggs, meat, potatoes, toast was $9.50 (I think). We did McD's carry-out and brought it back to our room. The bar is really nice with quite a few good beer choices; our bartender had a great sense of humor. There is also a Waterside Deli with good choices for light b'fasts, salads and sandwiches and soups. We will try that next time we stay there.

Every employee we encountered during our visit there was so friendly and polite; even the Housekeeping ladies seemed friendly and always spoke first.

We used two Marriott gift cards so our room rate with tax was only $79.88 for this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and chairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel! We could not have asked for a BETTER REVIEW! I am so delighted to hear that every aspect of your stay met or exceeded your expectations. From Samantha at the Front Desk, to the great job our Housekeeping staff does every day, our convenient and friendly dining options, and our spacious and well appointed rooms; thank you so much for recognizing our awesome staff and a property we are very proud of. I will be sharing your kind words with our entire team, as this is the type of feedback we strive and work hard for every day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.6 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Island Palms Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#21 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#110 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing