We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - would return!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #28 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My extended family of 7 traveled to San DIego for Marine Corps boot camp graduation at nearby MCRD. We were very happy with the location (we had a rental car as they do not provide shuttle service to MCRD). Free parking. Good location - close to restaurants, shopping and the airport. The hotel itself - very nice. Yes, there was some minor wear in spots, but overall I was very happy with our choice. Because of our large group, we had 4 different room types (all facing the pool area) and they were all very nice. Bathrooms quite large which was a nice surprise. Front desk personnel were all very accommodating. Breakfast buffet - great. Small deli/Starbucks area also very handy and nice if you are in a hurry or don't want a huge buffet. Bar area, indoors and outdoors was great. The bartender treated us to a fabulous dessert when he found out we were celebrating a "new" Marine. Every single staff member we came in contact with went above and beyond our expectations. We would return !

Room Tip: We had rooms facing the pool area, and never had an issue with noise (our stay was during the week h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IowaFamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Congratulations to the “new” Marine and thank them for servicing. I also want to thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Our staff try very hard to make special memories for all our guests and we be happy to read that in your case we were successful.

See you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,181)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

554 - 560 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2013

This hotel I think is good for business travelers. We went as a Family and was not impressed that much. The staff was so friendly and helpful from the front desk to the bar. The housekeeping was very good. The Marriott itself needs to update. I have never waited for an elevator as long as that one took. They didn't offer a complimentary breakfast. Hours of operation at the restaurant and bar were very limited.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view...ours had a big tree in front of the balcony. Also the A/C unit was ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am sorry that our physical property and hours didn’t match your families’ requirements. I was happy to read that you found our staff helpful and friendly – we try very hard to make each stay special. Perhaps we will soon you again on your next business trip to San Diego.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We booked this hotel for 1 week in August. We arrived to find ourselves booked into a undesirable location. When we asked to be moved, we were told we should have arrived earlier or paid for a better room. We are gold members of Marriott and have not been treated in this anywhere else in the world. Rude front desk personnel, Chris and I think Damien. We moved of there in 2 days to another Marriott where we were greeted by much friendlier people. Would not stay or recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank rositala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We are so sorry to read that you felt our front desk was rude. Kris and Damien are 2 of our very best associates and care a great deal about all of our guests and have always received nothing but fantastic compliments. In fact this is the very first negative comment I have ever received from anyone concerning these 2 individuals. They both remember this interaction well, and after reviewing in detail what transpired, it seems that it was more about you not getting exactly what you demanded, it isn’t about them being rude at all in my opinion.

The Courtyard Brand does not provide any guests with a free breakfast, so I’m sorry if you felt this was a rude answer, but it’s simply a fact. We also did the best we could to try and find you a room that you were wanting. When you didn’t like the 2nd room we showed you, you asked to be upgraded to our premium rooms with a balcony and water view. All of them were occupied by the time you had checked in at 7pm. When you asked how you could of secured one of these rooms in advance, you were told that you could have booked them at a higher rate. I’m sorry that you again felt that this explanation was rude, but it’s simply another fact.

We do appreciate you being a Gold Marriott Elite member, and wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a last-minute trip to San Diego because of family health issues. We called the hotel the night before we departed Europe and asked if they had a room large enough to accommodate our family (7 total). The lady who answered the phone checked availability and found a room (which didn't show up on the website); she then talked to her manager and told us that because of our situation, they would give us a discount on the room!! Wow - I was so grateful! I would have happily paid the regular rate for the room (we've stayed here before and love the hotel) - but this was icing on the cake (especially considering the money we had to spend to fly 7 people international at the last minute).

This was our second stay at the Courtyard (the first stay was June 2012). Unfortunately, because of the nature of our visit, we didn't spend too much time at the hotel. However, here are a few highlights:
- Internet was free and fast.
- B-fast was not included in our room rate; and despite being a Marriott Platinum, it is still not complimentary.
- Parking is free and plentiful.
- The pool was great (because we had traveled from Europe, our kids were wide-awake before dawn; fortunately for us, the pool opens very early (I just apologize to any of the other guests who may have been disturbed by our kids in the pool at 7am)).
- Room was great; comfy beds (1 king and two pull-out doubles).

We will be back to the Courtyard on our next visit. They have certainly earned our loyalty.

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FunWithDaFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

First, I hope that all is well with your family and I’m glad we were able to assist you during this stressful period. Unlike some Marriott Brands, Courtyard properties do not provide complimentary breakfast, however on occasion we offer some packages which may include breakfast.

Thank you for posting about your experience, our staff read all these reviews and they will be thrilled with this one.

See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Pro:
5 Min to the airport; clean room; friendly staff

Con:
Expensive; no free brkfst; room a little small; mediocre food at the onsite restaurant

I don't care the price since i'm on a business trip, but I will choose the homewood studios next door for family trip because free brkfst is included there. Also the room is bigger. (see my review for it)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonwalkerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post about your experience. I’m truly sorry you felt the rooms were small but am glad to hear that they were clean and that our staff was friendly. We work hard to maintain a culture of friendly service and I’m happy to see we were successful in this regard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

No question I would stay here again!
This place is just GREAT!!!
Hotel - Awesome! Rooms - clean, spacious & relaxing!
Staff - Incredible, Kind & Attentive!
What more could you ask for?!
oh..location is good too!
Stay here!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hbsurfer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for your glowing review! We work very hard to make every stay special and I’m glad we were able to do that for you. Our staff will be thrilled to read your comments. Please visit us again – soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in early September. This was truly a great location because the race I ran was right outside the hotel. All employees that we encountered were friendly and attended to our needs/requests promptly. The front desk staff did a great job with our check in and departure. Our room was on the 2nd floor (small balcony) south side with a partial water view (it also faced a neighboring hotel) but it was very quiet. Lots of comfortable social areas inside and outside the property. We enjoyed poolside a couple days. Breakfast was good.

Shuttle service to and from the airport was prompt but make sure to reserve your shuttle (at the front desk) for your departure time to the airport. If the shuttle is available, they may be able to take you to a local restaurant. One night we had about a two mile ride to one of the local restaurants on Shelter Island. My wife arrived late into SAN (after 11:00pm) and had to take a taxi because the shuttle stops around 10:30. Not an issue since Marriott reimbursed us the $12:00 fare.

Plenty of good shops and restaurants within a mile walk of the property. There is a Trader Joes and Von's within a short 10-15 walk if you need to stock up on supplies.

Nice area and great hotel. We would definitely stay here again. It's all good.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room on the south side but you may not have much of a view since it faces a neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TYOTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of on Trip Advisor. I appreciate you sharing your positive experiences with us. It is nice to hear that our property and our surrounding area met your needs during your stay. We look forward to your next trip back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Courtyard San Diego Central
#18 of 286 in San Diego
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $133 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing