We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Resort style hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #19 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Resort style hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Not surprised by the favourable reviews as this is more like a resort hotel than a Courtyard or airport hotel. Nice welcome from the reception staff and no problem getting into our room before 2pm and by 2.30 we were lazing around the pool. Very nice pool which caught the sun until 5.30. Most of our 3 day stay it was quiet but occasionally got a filling of up to 10 children/parents/grandparents. Excellent breakfast with smoked salmon and fresh fruit as well as the usual eggs,bacon sausage etc. we ate two nights in the restaurant which was not heavily used but service and food were good. Jim the famous barman makes a great margarita and there is plenty of places to drink it, including a nice indoor/outdoor area with a fire and a business centre which is a library with computers. There are restaurants,Starbucks and Subway within 250yds walk. Great view of planes taking off , the noise is audible by the pool but not intrusive and inaudible inside the hotel. Nice walks around liberty station 3 miles and Spanish Landing 2.5 miles parkland with no graffiti or homeless people. The only disappointment was that we had booked a suite as we were relaxing after a two week drive down the coast from Seattle. The website does not make it clear that the suites have no balcony and are in fact two small corner rooms that have been joined together as a suite as they would not be able to be let as individual rooms. So the suites are in a poor location although they are of good size. In addition the bed abuts the ice maker and Pepsi machine which actually makes the wall vibrate behind the bed head. Luckily we always travel with ear plugs. We were offered an alternative room and in retrospect should have taken a fourth floor room at the south end as these have the best views.

Room Tip: Choose a fourth floor water view. Do not choose a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for adding your comments. So glad you enjoyed the breakfast and had the opportunity to visit Jim. He does make a great margarita. Sorry to hear that our suite didn’t make the cut and that it was loud. I’ll have our engineering check out the Pepsi and Ice Machine just to make sure they are working correctly. I do hope you get a chance to visit us again.

Travel Safe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    689
    314
    57
    23
    6
See reviews for
385
276
59
249
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomsburg, PA
Level Contributor
115 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Having never been to San Diego I went on Trip Advisor for help in picking a nice hotel with a good location near all the attractions. The Marriott Courtyard Liberty Station had such good reviews we selected it for our first San Diego vacation. It's been everything everybody says about it.

The grounds are beautiful and very relaxing. The location is excellent as you are a short drive to all the attractions, but not any where near the hustle and bustle of the city. Old Town is only about a 10 minute drive where you can pick up the Old Town Trolley for a great introduction to the city.

The first night our A/C wasn't working properly so they immediately moved us to a different room. The front desk people were very attentive and friendly, especially Samantha. Jim the bartender was great also.

We would come back here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
I’m so glad you enjoyed your first visit to San Diego but want to apologize for the A/C issue when you first arrived. I was happy to see we resolved it in a quick and satisfactory manner. Thanks for the shout out to Jim and Samantha – we agree they are special folks and we are lucky to have them as part of the team - I’ll be sure to share these comments with them.

Please visit again and travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Last week I visited the San Diego area, and stayed at the Courtyard Liberty Station. I cannot say enough about how nice this place is-- the property is beautiful, you can walk to all kinds of things, the staff is professional and pleasant, and the room...! (more on that later)...There is an in-house restaurant with a very good breakfast buffet (think smoked salmon & fresh strawberries in addition to the usual), and room service prices are reasonable, too.

From light fixtures to furniture to color scheme, nothing in my room said "hotel chain." Even the artwork on the walls was interesting. The king-sized bed was more comfortable than my bed at home, and there were lots of pillows. There were many families with children staying at the same time as I, and I never heard noise from other rooms.

My favorite feature, though, was the Esplanade behind the hotel: a landscaped walking path along a waterway. I spent a lot of time out there in the mornings, enjoying the view, watching canoes and kayaks in the water, and checking out a colony of (I think) prairie dogs that lives in the rocks along the water's edge! The path has benches, lovely flowerbeds and lights that come on at night- I felt perfectly safe walking even late at night.

I have family in S.D. and will stay at this hotel every time I visit California.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank escapeartist49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Greeting from San Diego,

Thank you so much for the amazing comments. Our staff take a lot of pride in the work they do and try to ensure each guest has a memorable experience. I agree that we have a great space to explore and relax just behind the hotel. I also take advantage of it and lunch – great place to recharge.

See you next time you visit the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here on our way to Hawaii and it was great. This was our first trip through San Diego, and we'll be back! The staff was so welcoming and attentive to questions we had about the area. The recommendations for dining were spot on, with the hotel even providing shuttle service to and from.
Not wanting to rent a car, we were told about the trolley for which we could purchase tickets right at the front desk. It was a very short walk from the hotel to the Homewood Suites next door where we got the trolley shuttle. This made for an enjoyable,relaxing tour of the city.
Our room was on the water side, and although close to the airport, we couldn't hear the planes from our room. We could however enjoy the views. There were people having picnics on the lawn, people on their bikes or jogging or walking their dogs on the pathways. It was delightful.
Another plus was the Keurig brewing system in our room. Pleasantly, there was tea available as well as the coffee selections.
Kudos for the friendliest and informative van driver Sandy. She made us feel like it was home away from home!
The Liberty Station within easy walking distance has many stores, eateries, and grocery stores available. Be sure not to miss the boat which is at the end of the parking lot and was used in McHale's Navy.

Room Tip: You'll pay more for a water view, but it's worth it! Don't forget to check with the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
We try very hard to make each guest feel welcome and I’m glad we were successful in doing so. All our staff read these comments so they will be happy to see that they make such an impact on your experience. Thanks for staying and posting about your visit and I hope you enjoyed Hawaii.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here 2 nights over the 4th of July, the room was very nice, as was the property and staff. The load of kids that got in the way in the pool and lack of parental concern or presence in this area was obnoxious at times, but unavoidable I suppose-as it is not the hotel's fault. We stay at many Marriott properties, and would not hesitate to choose this location again, ..minus the "zoo" environment by the pool---it is otherwise a model property for the marriott brand to strive to duplicate at other locations. It is Recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Stevyc79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Was in beautiful San Diego for a Navy Retirement Ceremony. My son-in-law booked my reservations at this Marriott. WOW! It was a delightful three-night stay (wish it could have been longer). Wrote a letter to the General Manager (Mr. Rick Brown) this morning to ask him to pass along my praise to two very special Front Desk Receptionists -- Samantha and Gretchen. Agree with the other comments that the breakfast buffet is fabulous! Go, enjoy, and you will want to go back again....guaranteed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virginia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
First, a big thank you to your son-in-law for his service. And I’m so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. I agree that Samantha and Gretchen are special folks and are a big part of our success.

Til next time – travel safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridley Park, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We checked in early with no problem. Rooms were clean, air-conditioning was on and everything looked up-to-date. Our beds were very comfortable.

The hotel was having a July 4th party because fireworks were going to be set off behind the hotel. They served hamburgers and hot dogs and side salads all of which was great. The only small complaint was that there were not enough lounge chairs around the pool.

All employees were friendly. All of the common areas were constantly being cleaned. Would recommend to anyone who needed to stay in San Diego.

Room Tip: We had a parking lot view which was quiet. Would have loved a balcony view of the water but they we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing