We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Convenience”
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights staring July 1, 2013. Our first time to San Diego. We enjoyed ourselves. The Hotel was very nice and clean. We got 2 regular queen beds, nothing special. We slept well except the airplane noise which it didn't really bother us so much. The only downside is the breakfast is NOT complimentary unlike our visits to Residence Inn the other night. Miriam is very nice and Terry from the Front Desk, housekeeper Maria was awesome. We didn't really spend so much time in the Hotel but we saw plenty of good stuff. We'll come and stay here again around Christmas.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bienmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I’ll be sure to share your comments with Miriam, Terry and Maria – I know they will be excited to see them. You are correct that breakfast is not included in most rates. However, we do offer a few rates that do include breakfast – when you rebook in December please inquire if we have any of those available.
Take Care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    333
    65
    23
    7
See reviews for
402
282
61
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We booked this property on-line in advance of our holiday to San Diego. We arrived after a long international flight and drive from LAX and were allowed check-in a bit early. Had a room on level three that was very comfortable. The motel is reasonably new and the decor and cleanliness is excellent. Parking is free and easy out the front of the motel and there was a very nice pool area and restaurant, although we did not eat there. The staff were helpful and friendly and the price for three days was reasonable. Close to down town San Diego and as a bonus Squirrel are plentiful in the gardens at the rear of the motel and as I have not seen one before it was a bit of a treat. Lastly, the best feature was free and easy wi-fi internet. Marriott are streets ahead of Hilton in this regard. Well done Marriott Liberty Station. Negatives are hard to identify, perhaps the aircraft noise from the close San Diego Field but its not something that will be a real burden in my opinion. If you like ask for a room at the front of the motel. I would certainly stay here again on my next visit, I recommend the place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at front of motel away from aircraft flight paths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gmert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I thought the hotel was very clean, friendly and in a good location! Loved the breakfast they serve for $12.50, my son who is 6 ate for $6.50 and the triplets ate for free (19 mo.) The rooms are very clean, you walk into a room and you know the cleaning staff takes pride in what they do! Also for a late night snack we had the banana bread pudding, it was decadent! The only thing I noticed is that there was no ventilation system in our bathroom. That I think was the only downfall. My family will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thanks for the review and the shout out to our housekeeping staff. You are correct, they do take a lot of pride in what they do and they do it well. We share these comments with the staff so both them and the kitchen crew will be excited to see them.
Don’t stay away to long
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We decided to go on a quick family vacation and try something different, to our luck on our way there our brand new car engine went out (YES BRAND NEW) after a rental and long hours by the time we got to the hotel our day was pretty much done and front desk girl found out about our car mission so she was nothing but understanding and accommodate us right away, even though our day had turned out to be a nightmare we were able to make the best out of it. Our kids went swimming in the pool, order food from the restaurant, by the way it was so good and the bartender (Jim) was awesome he made our day turn out to be a great one. The rooms are so nice and clean and the water view rooms are just so relaxing, we went the next day to Seaport Village which is only like 10-15 minutes away and Gaslamp District about the same distance.

We had to leave back to Arizona but our car stayed behind after 2 weeks we had to come back and pick up our car at the dealership shop and with no hesitation we decided without doubt to book this location again, as we checked in the front desk girl remember us and was very friendly, we decided to make this the trip that was interrupted last time and make the best of this, went downstairs and the bartender (Jim) once he saw us when we sat down he remember us as well and said I know what you guys want and started making our drinks, now that is what we called customer service. This location is by far the best we have stayed at and we travel quite often and stayed at multiple locations but we found our San Diego location and will definitely recommend it to all of our friends and family.

Thanks Guys

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunavaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear about your car troubles. That is no way to start a vacation but I’m glad we were able to provide a little relaxation. We all agree the Jim is awesome and an important part of our team. I hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

It was supposed to be a quick trip to San Diego for a wedding. It turned into an 18 hour day of weather delays, cancellations and airport frustrations. I called Marriott from Chicago with 'help'. I'm not landing until 1 a.m. The reservation desk was on it and within 5 minutes I had a room, directions from the airport and a reassurance of after 1 a.m. check-in was not a problem. And it wasn't. When i got there the midnight desk clerk had my reservation ready and called me by name when I atumbled in dragging luggage that had managed not to get lost. He was kind, helpful and cheerful. The room was clean, cool, and comfortable with lots of fluffy towels and hot water for a severely stressed traveler. A huge bed with lots of pillows and enough outlets to charge all the electronics made dropping into bed after 2 a.m. an easy thing.

The next morning breakfast at the buffet contained good selections, omelets to order and a full carafe of coffee on my table. Duncan, the day manager took care of getting me transportation further north with a quick phone call and San Diego van service was prompt and efficient. Between the Marriott and their quick van service I was back on track for the wedding;

Room Tip: It's a Marriott. They're all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Toshua99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
We appreciate the 5star post and we were glad to assist in making what sounds like a very stressful finish on a high note.

I hope the next trip is little easier, but please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I recently spent a week at this hotel and were very happy with the hotel and the location. Great walking area, and safe. Rooms were very clean and staff was super! My wife left her purse in the lobby by mistake and it was returned to us by Asst. Manager MacDonald. All her cash and credit cards were still in the purse. Honesty, is very important to us as retired school teachers, The loss of her cash and credit cards would have ruined our vacation. A big Thank You to Duncan MacDonald and Marriott. John K.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnKusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate the feedback and discuss them all with our staff. I just glad we were able to get the purse back safe and sound.

Travel Safe and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed here for two nights this past weekend with family. I got a water view room with two queen beds on 4th floor right above the pool. We have two toddlers travelling with us, and the room's balcony facing waterfront/pool/park is an attraction on its own. The kids would not come inside the room...All the bird/boat/plane watching was just too much fun for them!
The hotel's facility is very neat and cozy. We love the decorations in the room. It actaully feels better than a Marriot SPA resort. Surprisingly we couldn't hear airplane noises at all inside the room even though the location is so close to the airport. Free parking is awesome. Even though there's not complimentary breakfast, I like the fact that they have a little deli providing inexpensive breakfast sandwich options for a quick bite before we go about our day.
The only thing that took one star off is the common area cleaness. I constantly saw little pieces of trash and dirt on the elevator carpet. Maybe it's because we have toddlers so I looked down quite a bit. Also when my husband was getting ice from the ice machine, my two-yr-old son accidentally put his hand inside the ice outlet. His hand was all black dirty and moldy when he pulled it out. We can imagine how dirty it must be inside the machine. The ice isn't meant for eating, and it's not a big deal to us. But a little more thoroughness towards cleaning would grant five stars to our overall experience.

Room Tip: water view room with balcony is awesome for kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ichenle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I glad that you enjoyed your stay, but want to apologize for the condition of the ice machine. We monitor them on a regular basis but obviously that interval needs to chance. It has already been addressed with our engineering department.
I do agree that we have an excellent location to use as you explore the rest of San Diego. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Airport - Liberty Station
0.5 mi away
Hilton San Diego Airport/Harbor Island
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#119 of 279 in San Diego
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Island Palms Hotel & Marina
1.1 mi away
The Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina
0.8 mi away
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#23 of 279 in San Diego
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing