We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard scores again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #25 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Marriott has become our First Choice when traveling and the Airport/Liberty Station Courtyard lived up to and exceeded our expectations! We underestimated the drive time to SD and called to let them know we'd be late, but were assured it was no problem. And after a smooth and friendly check-in, our party of four decided to eat a late dinner in the hotel instead of getting back into the car. We were not expecting much from a hotel eatery, but were pleasantly surprised with excellent crab sandwiches, crisp salads and what would prove to be the tastiest clam chowder of our entire week in So. California. The breakfasts proved to be very good as well, and the service fast and friendly. Our server's recommendations on sightseeing were top notch and much appreciated!
As to the rooms, we found them to be clean, comfortable and spacious enough for us. The second couple in our party told us that their bathroom fan wouldn't turn off, but I think that was their only issue.
The hotel sits next door to the Liberty Station Complex, a large and attractive area that once housed the Naval Training Center and now was home to shops, museums, and restaurants. There is huge open park area that lies along the inlet and it was ideal for walking and jogging. The outside seating area attached to the lounge provided a pleasant place to sit in the evening and enjoy a drink or two before dinner.
And I have to add that, like we have come to expect from the chain, the hotel staff here was friendly and welcoming and totally accommodating. Thanks, San Diego !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saruman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Our staff work very hard to make each stay special so they will be happy to know that they were successful with your visit. We share all these comments with our staff and I know the chefs will be excited to hear how much you enjoyed the food.

Again thanks for the kind words and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

674 - 680 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel had the best breakfast. The rooms were pretty, the staff were unbelievably friendly, and the room views were stunning. The best part was the k-cup coffee maker in the room. I had a great cup off coffee on the balcony over looking the water. Not a bad way to start your day.I will stay here everytime I am in town .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for the 5 out of 5 review. Our breakfast crew will be thrilled to hear you like breakfast so much. And I’m on board with coffee on the balcony – a great way to start the day.

Travel Safe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived late due to flight delays and our room was waiting for us as promised. The Queen suite was roomy enough for the two of us and outdoor noise was minimal. Can't say the same for indoor noise as people in the hallway woke us up several times. The desk staff were wonderful about calling taxis for us and assisting with catching the shuttle back to the airport.The property is clean, well maintained and in a great location.

Two very small problems we had...the TV remote didn't work and even after being "repaired" we we not able to watch TV. But, there is a gorgeous walking path behind the hotel so it's just as well as we had opportunities to walk about. The shuttle only runs until 11PM, so we took a cab from the airport. After we had checked in, the desk staff told another person over the phone to take a taxi, get a receipt and they would be reimbursed. Had we known this, we could have gotten a receipt.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpwhisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

I’m happy to hear the service was excellent but want to apologize for the TV remote and confusion regarding the shuttle service. Get in touch with me at the hotel and I’ll refund you the cost of the cab. And I agree, Liberty Station is a great area to walk and explore.

Hope to you see next time you are in San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Came to this CbM with the same old expectations... This is by far the nicest courtyard I've stayed at...no joke. Awesome staff, hospital-clean rooms, hot event staff, and best of all, Jim, an awesome bartender whose legacy in SD is top notch. Not a man crush: this is truth. Ask for his margarita's - unique and delicious. Other great drink: Filthy Martini....Close to everything. All the best.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Not sure how to response other than to say Thank You. Our staff take great pride in the work they do and will be very excited to read your comments. We agree Jim is an awesome bartender.

Take Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We partnered up with this Marriott location for business purposes and our experience was amazing. We are working on the new Stone Brewing project in liberty station and it was very helpful to have this great hotel within walking distance of the site. Upon arriving we were not only greeted by name by the front desk, but the GM, Director of Sales and Event Coordinator came by to say hello and it felt like the entire staff knew who we were and welcomed us very warmly to their hotel. The next morning during breakfast, the F&B director came by to introduce herself. Everyone was very accommodating to our needs and really made us feel at home. The rooms were spacious, the beds were very comfortable and the breakfast buffet had a lot of tasty options. We look forward to our next vist!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

We like to make lasting impressions and it seems like we were successful. We are also looking forward to working with you and Stone Brewery as you get ready to join our Liberty Station family.

Travel safe and we’ll see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I just stayed at this courtyard marriott this past week. Wow! What can I say. A really great experience top to bottom. This whole hotel does it right. I had booked my reservation through Rick who was just absolutely top notch. He made sure that my stay met my needs so that I was 110% satisfied. Not a single problem. Room's clean, front desk polite, whole building spotless, breakfast hot, gym clean, pool clean, jacuzzi warm, view fantastic, quiet, internet connection great, TV's new, housekeepers polite, amenities plenty, friendliness, parking great. I just had a really great time here and it is just a tranquil & beautiful place to stay. If you want a trip to San Diego to be an enjoyable experience, please contact Rick and the friendly San Diego crew that makes this Courtyard one of the very best out there!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeO386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Our staff work very hard to make every guest experience special and I’m so glad were successful with your stay. We share all these comments with the staff so they will be excited to read about your stay.

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Easy to print, copy and scan with the help of the staff. Very courteous and prompt inhelping get the job done. Great recommendations for restaurants and help helpful with directions. Located in within easy walking distance of a variety of shops and dining establisments

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougS782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan M, Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate the feedback and I’m happy that we were able to make your stay less stressful.

Til next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Courtyard San Diego Central
#34 of 286 in San Diego
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Homewood Suites by Hilton San Diego Mission Valley / Zoo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $167 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing