We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hotel Still Near the Fun in San Diego” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #19 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Texas City, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hotel Still Near the Fun in San Diego”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a short business trip. Hotel is not new but is well-maintained. Reception staff were courteous and efficient. Hotel was busy when I was there. The hotel is tucked behind a shopping plaza with many stores and a wide variety of restaurants, and within a few minutes walking distance. The location is quieter than a downtown hotel, and relaxing. This Courtyard was very close to the San Diego Airport. Hotel offers a free 24 hour airport van. Call for a free pickup when arriving at the airport. Parking is free, My room was of standard size and had two queen-size beds. Public spaces in the hotel were pleasant. A bar adjacent to the lobby is open evenings. Hot food can be ordered from the hotel kitchen. A sit-down restaurant is across the aisle from the bar for a traditional dining experience. Prices are fair. Work out room had the standard aerobic equipment and some free weights, although the exercise room was larger than one normally sees in a hotel this size. Everything worked in my room. I was pleased with this hotel. I will look to return on future trips.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for a better view of San Diego.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bahnreise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    301
    53
    22
    6
See reviews for
371
269
54
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
371 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here before an early flight out. Nice, clean rooms. Very quiet. Ordered room service, which was a great meal. Only complaint would be the thin walls. Would definitely stay here again. Shuttle was free and very convenient to airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bocagrlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station for five days in mid-September, 2012. The hotel is located at a quiet and beautiful area, with a spacious parking lot and parking is free compared to many other hotels in San Deigo that charge guests for parking.

The room was nice and clean, the housekeeping was prompt and nicely done, and the ladies at the front desk were courteous and professional. The room offered Keurig K-cup single brewer, so bring some of your K-cups if you have a favorite kind at home. The buffet breakfast was of good value (we had it every morning of our stay) and the free coffee and tea offered on one side of the lobby was such a friendly gesture of the hotel. We especially liked the terrace that led up to the lake because it's a great place for a stroll after a busy schedule during the day.

We are frequent travelers, both domestically and internationally, and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone who considers a trip to San Diego on business or for sightseeing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Branda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
253 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

we were there for a wedding and found this hotel clean, modern, well appointed and in a great area...try it! the tv and channel options were great, the balcony wonderful, the quiet option lovely...we would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We recently visited California and stayed at four hotels while we were there, the Marriott Courtyard San Diego Airport was by far the best location. It was clean, comfortable, great location, great service and the breakfast was very good with many options. I would highly recommend this hotel for any travelers business or family vacation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Had a very nice experience at the courtyard, from the walking distance to the nail salon,or to the sports bar on Sunday. It was perfect distance from the gas lamp district were we could catch a cab for a minimal price. My new spot in San Diego.

Room Tip: second floor balcony...A must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MissShawnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel for several days and our experience was not so positive. The down fall was the interaction we had with housekeeping. They need to be retrained in cleaning and business professionalism. The housekeepers on our floor used foul language in Spanish As a Spanish speaker it was very offensive...to say the least.

Front Desk was on the other handle friendly and very helpful. Great location

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rick b, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
First and foremst, thanks for staying with us and giving us the feedback, both good and bad.

I'm embarrased to read that you had to hear some of my associates not being professional and felt that they didn't clean correctly. We have a great staff and a very clean hotel, but like anything, human beings will take a different path occasionally, unfortunately. I have shared your comments with the team and can assure you that they received the message loud and clear.

I sure wish you had told management at the time it happened so we could have done something immediately. I think you would have seen action taken swiftly and felt much differently upon your departure.

Thanks again, and all the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
Courtyard San Diego Downtown
#17 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Old Town / SeaWorld Area
Holiday Inn San Diego-Bayside
#115 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Road, San Diego, CA 92106
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing