We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive, but friendly, clean and spacious” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Ranked #20 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expensive, but friendly, clean and spacious”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Marriott stands for great, clean hotels, which was also confirmed in this case.
I had to wait for a friend one night and was looking for an appropriate place to stay.
I found the Courtyard by Marriott, meeting all my expectation: spacious room, very clean, great service and excellent breakfast. The only drawback is the expensive price, but I would still recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosseler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    325
    61
    23
    6
See reviews for
395
279
61
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
180 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights in April 2011. The hotel is located close to the airport. Our room consisted of 2 queen beds and the usual amenities one would expect from a courtyard: flat screen tv, mini fridge, air con, but no room safe.
WiFi worked well throughout the hotel including the room.
There is also an outdoor swimming pool.
Although the hotel was located close to the airport, it was very quiet and we had quality nights sleep.
We had buffet breakfast at the hotel and it was reasonable value at $12.95 per adult. it consisted of fruits, breads, eggs, bacon sausage etc and omletes made to order.
There is plenty of parking available which is free.
It is certainly a good idea to have a car when staying at this hotel.
We really enjoyed our time in San Diego, there was plenty to see and do.
Our best dining experience in the city was Tapanade located in La Jolla.
Would certainly stay in this hotel again if we revisit the city.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northridge, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel with our 2 kids, this place is very cozy, clean, and has friendly and very responsive staff. we asked for extra blankets and they were brought to our room within minutes; this would have taken much longer at other hotels. everything is very clean in this place, and you will see crew cleaning all the time. They have a great place for breakfast, and ours was included in the room price, my kids loved the breakfast, too. This hotel is excellent value for the price, but the rooms are small, and if you have more than two people in the room, it would probably be difficult. The sofa bed is not comfortable at all, so next time I would take a room with double beds instead.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyNorthridge_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Rooms smelled and looked clean. Staff was very friendly. Hotel exterior is beautiful. There's an outdoor fireplace, pool and hot tub. Just behind hotel is a path. Surroundings are very serene and beautifully landscaped. Beds were especially comfortable and hotel is quiet. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again.

Within walking distance is a Trader Joes, Vons (grocery) and plenty of restaurants. Very close to airport, but not loud!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samiam2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
112 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights on a quick visit to San Diego and Seaworld. I chose it because it was Number 1 on TripAdvisor at the time and was well reviewed. Its a great stopover hotel, near the airport and Seaworld 10 minutes away, service was great, hotel very clean, but it is a basic no frills stay and has a small outdoor pool. It was our first visit to San Diego so quite difficult to compare to any other hotels in the area. If you are driving there from LA, we stopped at Del Mar were there are some great restaurants looking on to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marais72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Beautiful location, nice friendly staff. Thanks Stephanie for the advice on the Italian restaurant, was right on! Free shuttle to and from the airport was great because we didn't rent a car during our stay. Will definitely stay here again when in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mss09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

Attended educational meetings and took my wife along. Found that the conference hotel (Sheraton on Harbor Island) charges $20 a day for parking and is only a pleasant walk away through Spanish Landing Park.
This place is a crown jewel for the courtyard chain-- if you have never stayed at one this is the one to try. It has all the practical things you'd want including free internet and parking. The rooms are as always spacious and bright but it also helps that the facility is brand-new. Service is good but don't eat at the restaurant.
The best thing about this hotel is its location next to the Liberty Station neighborhood-- a perfect example of urban renewal done right.There are bayside parks stretching in both directions inviting romantic walks. Liberty Station is a former naval facility and has anything from Panera and Vons Supermarket to an evangelical megachurch ("The Rock").
It is 5 minutes from downtown by car or taxi and 5 minutes from the airport by complimentary shuttle. You can walk or bicycle downtown through the bayside parks, too.

Downside: Noise --but not really a problem. I was concerned about the proximity to the airport and airplane noise, but it was a minor nuisance since the hotel is not in the direct flight path. All of downtown San Diego including the Hotel Circle neighborhood, however, is in the flight path of the airport so you really can't get away from it. The noise from people in the outdoor hotel pool and hot tub was worse but stops when they close it. Ask for a room overlooking the parking lot if kids noises from the pool bother you. I was also concerned about reports in this website's reviews about hearing your neighbors. We found we heard no more from our neighbors than you would in any other modern hotel. We slept well.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor bayside room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank work-to-travelMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station

Property: Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station
Address: 2592 Laning Rd, San Diego, CA 92106-6418
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in San Diego
#12 Business Hotel in San Diego
#14 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand-new waterfront Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station is nestled along the water just minutes from Downtown, SeaWorld, San Diego Zoo, and the historic Gaslamp district. The hotel is adjacent to a beautiful 46-acre waterfront park with miles of waterfront trails. A fresh-stylish on-site restaurant, bar and deli offer multiple dining options with indoor and outdoor seating. Experience a modern destination combined with the rich history that can be found in Liberty Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Airport/Liberty Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott San Diego Airport/Liberty Station Hotel San Diego
Courtyard San Diego Airport
San Diego Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing