We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came from England for the Man V's Food Experience!”

Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop
Ranked #115 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Northumberland, UK
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Came from England for the Man V's Food Experience!”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Walked from the old town to experience this food nirvana. We had large guacamole and nachos followed by the Surfin' California and Surf and Turf Taco and a Flaco Taco. I didn't realise the tacos would be soft (i prefer them crispy) the filling was so so tasty and just perfect. The staff were great and helpful. Very cheap and well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howie603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    133
    52
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awsome Burritos and big tacos”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recommended this place by a friend and it did not dissapoint. The portions are huge and well worth the price. the place is small but somehow it adds to the experience.

We had the surf and turf burro and I can say I have never had a burro like this. The french fries give this burro the perfect crunch and flavor to add to the shrimp and carne asada. In our party we also tried the carne asada tacos which were very big and also delicious. A must stop in your in San Diego.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Eagles1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“eclectic atmosphere - love it!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

the line was long but the last review is correct - worth the wait! you get fresh salsa and chips while you wait. i had the california burrito and it was pretty darn good. loved the atmosphere of the place. always a long line so its a good sign!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krissy1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very unusual motif of a 60's wrestling star "Lucha Libre". The food was excellent for a casual cafe style place. We waited 20 minutes in line, but definitely worth the wait. Great fun selections. Jack C

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Huge tacos”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

They have burrito sized tacos for taco prices. $3.89! I had the surf and turf taco and it was great. If I could have had a bigger stomach I would have gotten another. Just amazing.

I like the Mexican wrestler theme. Very well done.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theschuay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop also viewed

 

Been to Lucha Libre Gourmet Taco Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing