We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Argentinian dining in San Diego”
Review of Puerto La Boca

Puerto La Boca
Ranked #329 of 4,804 Restaurants in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Bonita, CA
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Argentinian dining in San Diego”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Referred by a friend. Nice Little Italy location. Live entertainment, great Argentinian wines at reasonable prices. Lots of good dishes to try. Always ask the waiter for the special we were very pleased with the appetizers and steak. Good value and we'll be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snorris57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    53
    11
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DeliciousArgentinianFood”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great ambiance, delicious food, nice entertainment, great service and delicious Argentinian Wine, from Mendoza. My husband and I enjoyed a nice evening out. I am so glad we found this Argentinian Restaurant in San Diego. As an appetizer, you have to try the Argentinian empanadas, one of my favorite. The restaurant decor gives a nice atmosphere, the tables are very close to each other. We sat outside and it is also a small space, but it is a great place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air to little Italy”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Great Argentinian food and wine makes this small and intimate restaurant very different from all the Italian restaurants in the neighborhood. The way they serve, platters sitting over hot racks is something I have never seen before. It kept the food nice and hot while it was presented in family style. The amount of food is over the top when you order for two. The Argentinian wine selection is very good and the wait staff is very knowledgable. A great place to have dinner

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoTravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santee, California
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious meat cooked to perfection!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Enjoyed every morsel of the Beef Empanadas and my companion had Filet Mignon which she loved. The meat was scrumptious in both meals.
Tip... Unless you are a Sports fan and enjoy watching the game on TV while you eat, don't sit in the bar area. Very noisy. There is another room which has candles and atmosphere more conducive to a quiet meal. I have given it 4 stars only because the meal itself was excellent but the service was zero. Never even got my water refilled. They were pleasant enough but focused more on the games than the customers. Thank goodness the chef was in the kitchen!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little taste of Argentina in SD's Little Italy”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Found this quaint restaurant walking by. Authentic foods of Argentina. We enjoyed appetizers and salads. Loved the Morcilla! The food was fresh and delicious. The staff was amazing. Recommend to all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puerto La Boca also viewed

 

Been to Puerto La Boca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing