We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTIFUL UPSCALE, BUT ISOLATED”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2011

me and my wife stayed here jan 27th-30th on a quick trip. it is a really nice, clean, big upscale hotel. they couldn't have built it any better except putting access to the starbucks and fox sports grill from inside the hotel. the rooms were extremely clean and nice and comfortable. the problem was that this hotel even though located right across the street from petco park and the gaslamp district, you have to walk back down to 5th street to cross the train tracks to get over there. you just feel a bit cut off from downtown. but the views are great. they are building a walk over bridge but it is not yet open. also, there were no place to purchase alcohol to bring up to your room. there are no close by stores or anything. the retail shop does not sell alcohol and the restaurants and bars don't sell alcohol to bring up to your room. it would take about 30 minutes time to walk to your car in the garage, drive somewhere and come back. the other bad thing is they hold a lot of conferences and "balls" there so the lobby and parking garage is always busy. the last night of our stay my wife was sick and we had to get up at 6:00 to catch our flight and they were holding a "ball" there and the people there were up and in the halls all night long yelling and laughing. we first complained at 11:30. it went on until 4:30. we didn't get to sleep more than 30 minutes straight all night long. they kicked over glasses outside our door and when i opened the door and asked them to be quiet they asked me if i wanted to fight. there was nothing done about this that night by the staff to quiet them. why can't they put all the guests of a ball on the same floor? not to mention we were close to the elevators and they dinged all night long too. i did call a few days later to complain and they took my parking charges ($75) off. but that doesn't make it better. when you pay the money to stay in a hotel like this you don't expect these problems.
nice clean hotel, weirdly isolated, no help to quiet loud guests, expensive parking. i will definitely stay on the other side of the train tracks next stay in san diego.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremymelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,957)
There are newer reviews for Hilton San Diego Bayfront
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,350 - 4,356 of 4,957 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

Feels very new inside. Everything to experience in San Diego is close by. Amazing views from every room. Best bayfront hotel

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Nice ambiance and great facility. Only issue is poor AT&T reception.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keepthepace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

Most of the staff were courtious, though the restaurants were very, very expensive. I had a nasty allergy to something at the hotel so was miserable most of the time. Hotel billed the wrong credit card. Wifi wasn't free as it is in most hotels ($20) per night. There was a charge of some sort for everything...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

great service, nice range of restaurants, great location and easy to walk to most locations - highly recommended but note the extra charges for wifi etc - not cheap :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werdna00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

We came to San Diego from NYC to celebrate our 5th Anniversary and my wife's pregnancy (first child - 7 months pregnant), and I have some positives and some negatives:

Positives:

1) Nice, new hotel, within 10 minute walk of Gaslamp Quarter
2) Due to us being Hilton Gold, we were upgraded to a nice room overlooking bay and Petco Park. Beautiful view.
3) Due to us being Hilton Gold, we were given a free food and drink item each day from Starbucks. We kept kosher, so Starbucks allowed us to get 2 free drinks each day. Also, because we kept kosher, the hotel had also given us a free food item from a restaurant in the hotel, which they also allowed us to exchange for Stabucks credit.
4) New pool was really nice and modern, and overlooked the bay.

Negatives:

1) $25 a day parking. Way too high in my opinion, and no alternative in the area.
2) We reserved a king bed, but when we got there they said they were all sold out due to a convention, and only had 2 Queens. No choice at that time but to accept. Wish they had told me earlier.
3) Walk to Gaslamp quarter has a lot of homeless people, and we did not feel so safe walking it. Maybe once the bridge is finished.

Overall is was a nice stay and we would stay there again given the right price. Any questions, please email me at yoshapman@hotmail.com

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yoshapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Stayed five nights for a conference. Paid to upgrade room to 16th floor on opposite side from bridge view so I wouldn't be looking at and listening to the huge Dole container ship being unloaded and loaded - had a view of the Bay and over the roof of the Convention Centre. The hotel still feels new - it's clean and not cruise or convention worn...yet. The bed was very comfortable, somewhat limited tv channels when you're not interested in sports. The bridge over towards the baseball stadium is still not finished so you have to walk alongside the Convention Centre to 5th before you can cross the tracks. As a solo traveller, I didn't really want to be out and walking around after dark as there are a lot of street people hanging around but not as aggressive as the ones in Seattle.
I ate in the sports bar twice, first time the food was good, second time so so. You can't access it from the hotel which is very strange, same with the Starbucks. I ate dinner in the Vela and found my food tasteless and expensive - having the discount coupon made it slightly more palatable -- and you can look at the Dole container ship when you're put in a not prime seating area as I was.
Staff were all very friendly and helpful.
A little too chilly to use the pool and you're staring at and listening to the container ship being loaded/unloaded.
Make sure you take all your toiletries with you - I paid $5 for a travel size tube of toothpaste at their Gift Shop. I didn't feel like walking for 15/20 minutes to a drug store.
$20/day for the "better" wireless access is downright extortionate - I needed it to access my work VPN.
Went to the zoo, took a taxi there and the bus back [$2.25]. Zoo admission is now $40.
SuperShuttle was the most efficient I've encountered, $16.00 round trip, they showed up on time, were extremely professional, left a message on my cell to remind me of my return trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 278 in San Diego
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,632 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $138 - $540 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing