We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pendry San Diego(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
J Street Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (5,254)
Filter reviews
5,254 results
Traveler rating
2,245
1,844
731
298
136
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,245
1,844
731
298
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspetco parkconvention centergaslamp districtpedestrian bridgevela restaurantthe fox sports grillcoronado bridgethe gas lamp districtcorner roomshort walkbay frontself parkingbeautiful hotelbreakfast buffethigh floorbaseball stadiumlarge hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,852 - 2,857 of 5,254 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Small pool that is over run with locals, wifi? Keeps dropping signals. Reported by others also so it is a problem that needs fixing.Not free unless your a platinum honors holder. Got better reception using my cell hotspot, get with it, internet connections are deal breakers in this day and age! Had to clean my room after housekeeping failed to do so even after calling and reporting it. All they did was drop off fresh towels! Had to dump my own trash, really Hilton. This place caters to the business clientele and not the vacationer. Better places to stay for the price. Valet costs $40 while daily is $30. A good location near Petco, Seaport village and the Gas Lamp district but that's about it. Poor customer service. Marriott hotels still a few notches above.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Sfomainliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Thank you for your review of your recent experience at our hotel. We’re very sorry that you encountered an unacceptable level of service. We do our best to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We’ve addressed these issues with our staff and hope that next time you’re in the area you’ll visit us again and experience a higher level of service. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

This was a lovely hotel on the harbour front short walk to the gaslamp district where you can find great restaurants and shops.
The hotel was clean and room were a good size, on the negative side we were using the pool and the pool bar was very very expensive there was nothing to justify the prices we only used it once as there are plenty of bars around the hotel so in my opinion they are losing custom from their hotel paying guests

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank fbfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed our location in downtown. We will share your review with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed here in July and I was just surprised that some things are optional even in this day and age.
It is right across from the Gas Lamp district and since parking is tricky during the week, it is just great to walk across from the hotel.
The Starbuck's at the hotel is convenient too.
Room was large enough and the pool was great for the kids. They loved the kiddy splash area when it was open, which was quite random. It was shut at 8 pm for no visible reason but open at 9 pm later on.
There was no wi-fi available in the room and only in the lobby.
Also, there was no mini-bar in the room as well.
I never knew these were optional extras and are available in the Honours rooms only. I guess only Hilton does it that way.

Room Tip: Please make sure that you have your requirements met before you book otherwise everything else is an optional extra
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Worldismy0yster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience via TripAdvisor. We’re very sorry we didn't provide you with the high quality amenities you deserve and expect when staying with us. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, we do hope that you will be our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

Stayed here with my family for a week and was very happy. It wasn't cheap, but few full service hotels are. Service was excellent, rooms were clean and modern and the restaurants were surprisingly good although the breakfast buffet was thin given it $24.00 price tag. Great location and plenty of amenities.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
Thank Rjv33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Thank you for share your stay with us! We are thrilled your family enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Hilton San Diego Bayfront needs to pay far more attention to details if it wants to rank as even an "adequate" hotel. The Hotel is adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and is one of those massive convention hotels that cater to convention attendees. Given this, you would think that they would be used to the crowds and activity when a convention is in town -- but no, not here.

I was attending a big international conference in June at the Convention Center and tried to check in on a Saturday afternoon. The reception desk personnel couldn't find my reservation for Saturday night - though they did see a reservation for me for Sunday through Thursday. So I waited in the lobby for two hours while attempting to reach my office to get a confirmation number. I inquired twice more at the reception desk - invoking the fact that I am a Hilton Diamond Awards member - but to no avail. Finally my office got back in touch with me and as I inquired at the reception desk a fourth time, they said - "Oh there it is." Duh.

Needless to say, by that time, all the premium Hilton Honors rooms were taken - though I was generously offered one for the following evening if one became available.

Then there's the breakfast buffet. Between the hours of 7:30 and 10:00, everyone has to wait to be seated. And wait we did. There were always plenty of free tables available, but this had no effect on the personnel who were seating people. I suppose the hotel could try to justify this by saying that it was full and there were only a limited number of wait staff to clean the tables. But this was a long-planned convention, not some surprise event where the hotel was unexpectantly overwhemed.

Eventually we were seated and were allowed to proceed to the buffet. The buffet was standard fare except for the fact that the Omelet Man had a tip jar in front of him with dollars and coins in it. Apparently, one is expected not only to tip the wait staff (who deserve the tips) but also the Omelet Man for the simple act of making omelets. Who knows where this might lead - perhaps even to a tip jar being placed in front of the tray of butter patties, which had been so artfully arranged in horizontal and vertical rows....

Then there's the $6.95 charge in the business center for printing out your upcoming boarding pass. It was hard to know whether an additional tip was necessary for this service.

In summary, if you're attending a convention in San Diego, you may want to look at the other hotel adjacent to the Convention Center - the Marriott Marquis. Otherwise, you will need (to mix a couple of metaphors) to have the patience of Job while waiting for Godot.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DCTraveler2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and we apologize for the experience you had at the front desk and in the restaurant. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise. Your feedback helps us improve. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area, we do hope that you will be our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews