We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Typical Hilton, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Typical Hilton, great location”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Liked the location and the hotel was decent- typical Hilton. Valet was $45(!!) per day, and the rooms were a bit overpriced. Pool area too small, but clean. Friendly staff, great for conference. Walking distance to GasLamp District. Great place for morning runs.

Room Tip: Bayside, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oddi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy you enjoyed our location in downtown. We will share your feedback with our staff. We hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,032
    1,651
    649
    252
    109
See reviews for
994
928
156
2,149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Overall the hotel design and structure/setting is nice or even impressive but the the rooms are just OK. The bathrooms better. Nice shower. The breakfast buffet is mediocre or worse for the price. Great location for the convention center gaslight district. The biggest complaint is the internet for the price. I've had better Internet in old hotels in Europe. One expects better in Southern Cali In the day and age. It's a joke. Don't expect to get streams of anything as it will kick you off as soon as it detects anything above a modest bandwidth. I could not do web cast meetings from my room. Cell coverage was also weirdly inconsistent so the cell phone hotspot option wasn't reliable either. Not good for the business traveler. Better for downtown vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us. We are looking into the feedback you have provided regarding internet and breakfast and making necessary improvements. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2014

There was 8 of us ladies sharing 2 rooms this last Friday night May 16, 2014, our room wasn't going to be ready till after 4:00 PM and so we checked our luggage in with the bellmen until our rooms were ready and all the other ladies showed up. So, we went to the pool until then and when it was time to check into our rooms our Bellman "Gary Floyd" took all our luggage up to our rooms. It was do delightful and refreshing to experience such politeness, professionalism, and representation of your hotel to the highest quality I've experienced in a long time. Floyd was so accommodating and a complete gentlemen. When you recognize this type of representation in todays society it can't go unnoticed. The overall experience of this hotel was over top with service and amenities. I can't wait to come back again. Thank you Gary Floyd and staff for a wonderful time at your beautiful hotel. Mrs. Bonnie Connolly

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for sharing your five star review! Gary is a stellar team member and we are thrilled he made a difference in your stay. We will share your review with him. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed here this weekend for the second time. Based on the last experience we had here we were really looking forward to it. The room, the view and the service were all great BUT what has happened to the main restaurant? Last year when we stayed I loved the food, the choice and the presentation. This year - not nearly as good.
The starter we shared, the Charcuterie & Cheese Platter was ok, but a poor selection of things on the plate. We both ordered the braised lamb with polenta. While the taste of the lamb was delicious, it was sunk into the polenta and you couldn't really separate it at all. But the biggest disappointment for me was the dessert ( I love desserts!) Last year I shared a divine chocolate confection with my daughters (there was a chocolate cup filled with mousse and about three other beautifully presented little chocolate things. simplyt lovely), however, this year the desserts all came in Mason Jars? - so I chose the Crème Brulee Trio chocolate, hazelnut and vanilla crème brulee, caramelized with brown sugar. I expected three little miniature creme brulees but received a Mason jar with one creme brulee which had three layers. It was ok, but I was just so disappointed.
We didn't stay for breakfast this time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britsonhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you received last time. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
313 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Can't go wrong with this place, position is super, 1 minn from the convention center 2 minutes away from the gas lamp district and 5 minutes away from the shipyard.
Hotel is clean, has lots of food in different restaurants and has a cool pool/gym.
Definitely will be back with family next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricky v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for the review! We are thrilled you like our location in downtown. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The view when we first arrived in the evening was great. Beautiful.

Parking was a bit overpriced. Most expensive in our road trip. We travelled to San Francisco, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, and this hotel had the most expensive parking.

Walking distance to the Gaslamp district and that was good.

Room did not have a refrigerator which should be a basic item in any hotel room.

Overall ok considering we paid a promotional price.

Expected more from a Hilton establishment.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buchtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review. Please let us know next time when you will be needing a refrigerator and we will bring one up to your room. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plains, Montana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

What a great place for a business trip, or a day with your honey! We went a day early to enjoy everything Hilton Bayfront had to offer. The staff was friendly, everything from the guys who get your cabs to the people who served you in the restaurant!! I can't wait for next year!!

Room Tip: I loved the rooms looking right into the Bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for the review! We are thrilled you were able to enjoy our amenities and hotel during your recent business trip. We will share your kind words with our staff. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,973 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing