We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful business stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #70 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful business stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

Very good location - downtown but right on the bay, with excellent view from my 19th floor room - w a $20 upgrade for view. Dog friendly - $50 charge for length of stay - with no restrictions and a very welcome attitude. Excellent writing seat - comfortable and looking out the picture window. Wish the room had a bathtub. Shower was large enough that I don't understand why no bathtub. No issues, problems, complaints. The walking area just outside the hotel - grassy area the size of a football field - next to the bay was great for us and our dog.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank temcnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Great to hear you like our location and amenities! We love pups! See you next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    1,609
    626
    244
    101
See reviews for
978
915
154
2,073
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed here on a recent business trip and had a corner room on the 7th floor. What a view!! With the windows on two sides, we could see all around the bay and convention center. The staff was wonderful and made the stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwimelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for the five star review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our staff and guest rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

I had family business in San Diego and needed a room for just one night. I chose this location for the view and incredible price. Excellent service and the location and view was fantastic. I will definitely stay at this hotel in future if the price is right.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank APLewisSanCarlos_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
What a wonderful review! Thank you for taking the time to share it. We hope you do stay with us the next time you are in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

Spent 3 nights here with Hubby. Since it was business-related, we did not personally choose this hotel--the meetings and hotel choice were pre-arranged. We upgraded to a room with a bay view, which was very picturesque. We chose a room with 2 Queen beds--we prefer softer beds and have found that Queen beds are usually softer than a King--beds were comfortable. Room was spacious. Bathroom was spotless. Hotel location is next to the Convention Center, which is at the end of the long line of hotels along the water. However, it is directly across the street from Petco Park if you are wanting to take in a baseball game & very close to the Gaslamp District, which is a conglomeration of shops and restaurants. The Seaport Village--another collection of shops and restaurants is a short walk along the water. Parking is around $30/day, so we did not choose to have a car. They also charge for internet in the room. You can get free Wi-Fi if you go down to the Lobby area--which I usually found full of other guests trying to use their computers. I simply do not understand why the nicer, large hotels insist on charging a ridiculous amount for internet usage in their rooms. We did not eat at any of the restaurants at the hotel. They do have a Starbucks, but it was a bit hard to find. You have to go outside of the hotel and all the way around the building--it only opens on the street side facing the Convention Center. Rather odd, considering the majority of its customers are hotel guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShazaamIam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We are happy you found our location right next door to the San Diego Convention Center convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back again for business or pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

They have every amenity you can think of at this hotel. Great location for the views. Our room was a spacious corner room with views of the harbor and the Coronado bridge. While a corner room gave us more views, it also gave us an overlook of the Dole shipping yard. While it was interesting to see the ships come in and unload their cargo, it became a problem that night while the cranes and trucks ran all night. We got little sleep that night. The hotel offered to change our room but it would have been a downgrade to get one on the other side of the hotel. We decided to see how the next night went. To our relief no loading or unloading was done at night during the remainder of our stay. The Gaslamp district and Petco park are just a short walk across the pedestrian walkway. If you get back to the hotel and they have a game at Petco park the parking lot will be almost full. You may have to park at the top levels, otherwise parking was easy but also $30 a night. Our room had a spacious shower but no tub. (No problem as my wife and I are not tub people.) Closet space was very small for a Hilton. The bellman got us an extra suitcase stand when we checked in which helped. After our first breakfast at the "Vela", breakfast anywhere else was not an option. We chose the buffet as the quality and selections were excellent. Brian Bosrom at the Vela was very gracious and will go out of his way to accommodate you. If you get "Matt" as your server consider yourself lucky. Matt will start your day on a high note. Overall the hotel is great but not perfect. From other reviews I would say all rooms are not equal and very depending on each ones own taste and expectations.

Room Tip: The higher levels are quieter. If you get a corner room it is posable one night could be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChachiJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience! We are happy you were pleased with the amenities we offer and our helpful staff during your stay. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

This rather new 30 story Hilton Hotel is located on the water's edge of San Diego Bay, next to the convention center and only a short taxi ride from either airport or the San Ta Fe Train station. Paid on-site parking is available in a parking structure for $30 per day. A San Diego Trolley stop is in front of the convention center next door.

Guests are welcomed in the spacious, high ceilinged lobby with modern décor in pleasing colors and ample seating groups for casual meetings. Unfortunately, our king bed room was not ready on our arrival at close to 2PM, and we accepted an alternative two queen bed room in order to get settled

The carpeted room with a beautiful, panoramic view over San Diego Bay and downtown was comfortably furnished in typical Hilton style. No fridge was provided. The modern bath with a tub/shower combo with a shower curtain was well lit providing ample vanity sink counter space. Robes and slippers, though these days standard for hotels in this class, were absent. All was sparkling clean, and very quiet at night.

A shoreline boardwalk invites guests to wander along the scenic waterfront to near attractions, such as Seaport Village, the aircraft carrier Midway and the Maritime Museum. Via a skywalk the hotel is connected to the S.D.Padres Petco ballpark. Nearby beckons the Gaslamp Quarter with shops and plenty of dining options.

Whether visiting San Diego as a tourist or for business, this holel is well suited and in a good near downtown location. We were very satisfied with our stay and will return some time in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, west facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your sharing your experience via TripAdvisor! We are thrilled you were satisfied with our accommodations, location and amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Great location, great room with terrific bay views, but there were disappointments. Arriving at 2:00, we were told our room would be ready shortly--4 times over a three hour period. We were compensated with a voucher for coffee at Starbucks.

Our room was a min-suite, spacious, but almost no closet space. The bathroom was small, no separate shower, only a tub with shower and curtain.

The location is great, the pedestrian walkway to Petco park starts on the Hilton property. He ballpark is less than 15 minutes on foot. Gaslamp district is just across the street, another easy walk.

The hotel handled our conference with ease, facilities were excellent, catering provided appetizing meals and kept the area neat over our three days.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Nineunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input on our service and apologize for the frustration you encountered. We will use your comments as we continue to evolve our guests' experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing