We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SWANKY Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This hotel grounds are great. The pool area is really very very nice. There's a sliding board for the kids in a separate pool area. There's a large screen TV outside. Hot tub was wonderful. There a lil outside bar that has warmers for cooler weather and just a neat place to hang out and relax. The rooms themselves are a little basic but the grounds and surroundings make up for that. This hotel is in walking distance of convention center along with the downtown Gaslamp area. Plenty to do right at the hotel. Nice spa (limited) but nice. Plenty of places to eat and drink AND a STARBUCKS right there. Bring your tennis shoes no matter what as this is a walking area no matter where you stay or what you do. We had an enjoyable stay here for a conference that was being held next door at the convention center.

Room Tip: The bridge rooms still see the water just not a beautiful view and see the DOLE plant along with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed the amenities our hotel has to offer guests. The Pool Club is the place to see and be seen in the Summer, so come back and join us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,097)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,117 - 3,123 of 5,097 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had excellent view of water, city and Petco Park from 25th floor room. The pool, 2 hot tubs, kids area and service at the pool were great. We got coupons for Starbucks to use each day. Short walk to Gaslamp where all the shops and restaurants are. Also, parking is $30 a day which is typical for big cities.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank JMRow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and photograph! We are happy you enjoyed our downtown views, pool, service and our location right across from Petco Park. We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The hotel has excellent view. However the romms are not great. The rooms are old and with only minimum facilities. But the location is good and the hotel has Starbucks and few other good cafes. Close to downtown and has good recreational facilities. People who love to walk should stay here as the hotel is just opposite Bay area.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor and bay view. It's worth the extra bucks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shekar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had a great stay here at the Hilton Bayfront. From the front desk to housekeeping they were all so nice and helpful. I stayed in a water view room which was so beautiful. I came here for a convention so walking to the gaslamp district was only about a 5 minute walk which isn't too bad.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Glad you stayed with us during your convention! We are located right next door to the convention center making it the perfect location. And right across from the Gaslamp District and Petco Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is ideally placed with views over the bay, but a short safe walk from the town, without the hubbub affecting your sleep potential.

Not the easiest place to find with your car, at least with my satnav, but well placed to get out of town at the end of your stay.

Rooms are of a good standard, and have good amenities, and reasonably priced.

Breakfast was hearty and well serviced in the hotel, although initially they tried to palm us of with a Starbucks coupon for a drink and pastry. Just so not up to the Hilton standard elsewhere.

I would probably stay there again, and would recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cwyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Great to hear you enjoyed our beautiful location and service. We will share your feedback with our staff. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed February 1, 2014

easily accessibility from airport and to Genentech; You could actually just use taxis instead of renting a car; saves time and money;Hilton Garden Inn keeps a good quality; too bad there is not a bit more variety. Even the decor and what hangs on the wall seems so standardized. But when on a business trip not much time is spent in a Hotel anyway

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Hilton San Diego Bayfront is a must stay whether on business or leisure. From the welcome by the courteous bell hop staff, to the swift, helpful front desk, and the comfort of the room and views, this property is outstanding. We enjoyed the proximity to the downtown Gaslamp Quarter which is filled with restaurants and activities tailoring to all ages. Additionally, the Seaport Village with more restaurant and shopping options was just a short walk from the hotel along the beautiful bayfront providing exceptional views of the water, boats, and ships. The convention center is across the street and the hotel offers many amenities attractive to business travelers. Restaurants and lounges exist on property as well that will accomodate any meal or lounge setting you are looking for. Definitely will be the place we stay always in San Diego. Enjoy!

Room Tip: All rooms appear to provide great views of the bay and/or downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samira M, Public Relations Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share you review! We are thrilled you enjoyed our accommodations and the proximity of our hotel to everything Downtown San Diego. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 278 in San Diego
4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 278 in San Diego
2,786 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $106 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing