We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sleek and modern”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #77 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Overall nice property, but can get VERY busy depending on what's going on. Stayed during a very large Marin Corp event one Friday night, so the property was very busy. Love the on-site restaurant/bar choices, much to select from. On-site Starbucks and a great little frozen yogurt dessert place too. The on-site sap is nice too, love the steam room, not too crowded and truly relaxing.

Parking is expensive, so if needed, suggest looking for a rate that includes parking (don't know if they offer this). Property is conveniently located to Gas Lamp area, so lots to do/see.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrFozziedoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,288 - 3,294 of 5,150 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2013

Fantastic hotel with great views of the bay and city. I have stayed at this hotel a few times and the rooms are always very quiet - never hear door slams or water running through the pipes from other rooms. I highly recommend the Spa. The pool is heated and clean without an overwhelming chemical smell. The restaurant and bar are also quite nice but avoid the food at the Sports bar attached to the hotel - it is fine for a drink but the extra cost for the hotel food is well worth it. The hotel gift shop is also very good and has the things you were most likely to forget (umbrella, tooth brush, etc). My only complaint is that there is not much (ANY?) warning about the 20% gratuity that is applied to everything. I have no issue with a 20 % gratuity as the service was always well worth it but there is no warning so one can easily end up paying a 40% gratuity - which can also be OK in some instances but I'd like to know about it before I get my receipt back. The staff is very accomodating. I had already checked out of my room and had some time before catching a plane so I asked a staff member if I could still go for a swim. The reply was "Of course, you are here until you leave!" - they really live up to that motto with excellent accommodating serivce from foot-in to foot-out the door.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I checked in to the hotel to find that the bathroom light wasn't working. I called front desk for help. Omar Limon did a great job of getting someone to fix it right away. I was tired from traveling and the last thing I wanted was to have to wait to shower because there was no light. Omar apologized and followed up to make sure I was taken care of.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zevostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is fantastic. Every inch of this place is beautiful. The bayfront is spectaular, the service is pretty awesome, the rooms are quiet and spacious. Almost every room has a good enough view. Everything is pretty pricey, but you should be expecting that when coming to a hotel that's owned by Hilton and is by the bay. This place exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Overall, it was a pleasant stay. The thermostat is set to a lowest at 65F. It should be set a little lower for some people who like it colder.The Jacuzzi is great and so is the pool. The coffee pot is really bad. The rooms and bathroom were clean and room service wasn't lacking either but with the amount of money that we paid i need to see more amenities (microwave,mini-bar). The food and water to order was way over-priced.Hotel has a great location, close to the Gas lamp quarters and the green line transit (access to La-Jolla)
Its a neat and pleasant place to stay and relax in a peaceful environment with a great view!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vijaikrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

and stayed in room 2544, a pure room. Room was very basic, no robe was provided. The air purifier in the room was MUCH louder than the AC and the lights on it made it impossible to leave running overnight. I couldn't get the room cool enough for me but I like it cool and this isn't unusual in hotels.
Breakfast service was VERY poor but I only used twice.
The Concierge was the most impressive I've ever met. She took multi tasking to a whole new level. VERY well done!

Excellent location and very easy walk into Gas Lamp.

Room Tip: dont pay for pure room - useless waste of time and the machine is loud and too bright!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fysmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you were thoroughly impressed with our efficient and accommodating concierge team. I am sincerely sorry to hear that the air purifier in your room was disturbing and an inconvenience to you. In the future, please be sure to let us know and we would be happy to make alternative accommodations if possible. I am also very sorry that the service you received during breakfast was not what you were expecting. I will be sure to relay your feedback to our Director of Food and Beverage so that your concerns may be addressed. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

A nice hotel, but nothing about it stands out to make it anything other than a bland non event that in a couple of years time will never be remembered. The rooms were fine, the service was ok, the facilities were adequate. From its location it obviously caters for the conference/sports crowds. It is a big hotel with a high turnover of guests. Can't really add much more but I will say that it was good value when compared to other hotels in San Diego and it is close enough to the Gas Lamp District to walk there no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sisisisisisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. I am pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel and it met your needs while visiting San Diego. I am happy to hear that you appreciated our convenient location on the bay and within walking distance to all the city has to offer. I am sincerely sorry to hear that there was nothing that you felt particularly stood out to you about the property, but we feel that our service, amenities, food and views stand out above our competitors in the area. I invite you to try any one of our restaurants or spa while you are there and see if that changes your mind. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $167 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing