We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in a "Pure" room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #72 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in a "Pure" room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Gorgeous hotel with the option to stay in a hypoallergenic, air purified room called a "Pure Room"; the effect was enormous: at home, I awaken every morning with a headache, and during my stay I didn't have a single morning where I woke with a headache - not once - also none of that dry stuffy hotel room environment, just amazing.

The hotel itself could benefit from some quiet public spaces. Most seating/dining areas have louder music than necessary. But the food was superb; Starbucks on site is very convenient.

Green Features: very sane, well thought out - I don't wash my towel at home every day; why should I do it when I'm traveling?
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JD S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    1,629
    636
    248
    104
See reviews for
989
920
154
2,101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Loved the property- clean & welcoming. Location was great and beautiful. Property was not only business friendly but family friendly... family had a great time at their awesome pool while I sat in meetings on the 30th floor with an amazing view. Food was good- breakfast buffett was just ok according to husband but he judges everything by their sausage- lol. I enjoyed all catering in meeting but a bit fancy for my taste. Food by pool was good. Overall very happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jessica Settle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed at this hotel by the bay for two nights. We really enjoyed our stay. Clean, comfortable, an amazing pool to relax with kids activities.

Walking distance from Petco Park, Downtown and Seaport Village, everything is close.
Had a higher floor room with a great view on Coronado bridge. What a beautiful place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank subway_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This hotel is great for someone who wants to get the Gaslamp experience while in San Diego without having to deal with the crowds and noise of the Gaslamp. Although it is a bit removed from the hustle and bustle of the Gaslamp, it is still within walking distance, so you get the pros of the area without the cons (noise, etc.). It also has beautiful views and a great pool area overlooking the water. Also great for business travelers there for the convention center, as it is located right next door.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

City / bay views are gorgeous, located on the bay promenade. Convenient to convention center, Gaslight, Petco Field and Seaside Village / USS Midway. A couple of blocks longer walk than the other big convention hotels but a little less hustle and bustle and a little lower cost too. Right on the bay but surprisingly few public areas where you can lounge outside and enjoy these areas. There are some seating areas but they are along a narrow walkway. No spacious verandas. The pool was disappointing. It was always crowded and loud, loaded with kids and drinking/ partying older kids. Loud music. No place to take in the view or read a book. Lap swimming was difficult at sunrise due to unsupervised kids in the pool, impossible at any other tome. Dining options in the hotel are sparse - plan to wait in a long line at Starbucks for coffee in the morning. But plenty of dining options outside of the hotel if you are willing to walk 4-5 blocks. Rooms were what you would expect, your basic new Hilton room, comfy bed, flat screen TV etc. free wifi only in public areas and not in room is a nuisance. The hotel provided us a base of operations to visit relatives, sight see and dine, exceptional views and a clean comfortable room. It was not great at any one thing but good a a lot of things. In the end that is what you want a big convention hotel to do.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinleyKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to hear that you loved the beautiful views of the bay and Coronado Island and appreciated our convenient location within walking distance to the downtown Gaslamp Quarter. I am very sorry to hear that the pool area was busier than you would have liked and you would have liked to have more outdoor space to relax. For future reference, we do have a variety of seating areas at the Pool Club, our open-air lounge as well as our Promenade Plaza, both with front row views of the bay. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and I do hope that you reconsider choosing to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This Hilton property is in a great location. It's located right on the bay and walking distance to everything. It is clean and comfortable, it had kids activities as well. Staff is very helpful.

I would have expected a refrigerator in the room but you have to pay extra for that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yankeegirl1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved our location on the bay and within walking distance to a variety of shops and restaurants in the downtown Gaslamp Quarter. I am happy to know that you found the property clean and comfortable and that you loved that we had a variety of complimentary kids activities. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel, but there are others very close that offer much better value. Great views, especially if you upgrade for $20 a night (which I didn't). I realized that I don't spend a heck of a lot of time in my hotel room so it doesn't much matter what's outside the window. The standard downtown Cons: no microwave, no refrigerator, no wireless, nothing complimentary. The Fox Sports Grill on the premises had good food. If I go back to the area I'd stay in the Gaslamp Quarter and walk across the street to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,883 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing