We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the luxury we were looking for....we'll be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #76 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were offered an upgrade for very little and took it. We stayed on the 28th floor and the gentleman at the front desk was right, because it was worth it. The view was incredible. When we were greeted the front desk staff came out from around the desk to greet us and it set the precedence and they didn't disappoint. We were incredibly satisfied with this location, and we'd stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Gary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I am so happy to hear that you loved your upgraded guest room and that you received wonderful service from our front desk team. I am glad to know that you were truly impressed with your room and the views and that you appreciated our amazing location right on the bay and within walking distance to downtown San Diego. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,099)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,523 - 3,529 of 5,099 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

Once you're inside, this is a very nice hotel. It is convenient to shopping, restaurants and downtown. It is a pain to park (very expensive, many vehicles drive recklessly inside parking structure), and checking in or out is frustrating due to lack of parking near the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kristeena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Location is amazing. Picture perfect. Comfortable bed, usual amenities on par. Walkable to convention center, Petco park and Gaslamp. No issues there.

Issues

RECEPTION: Traveled with another couple, paid $28 for garage parking (after usual argument), charge added to our room. Next day, checkout.... loooooong line 35 minutes... finally made it to the front - major issues with our coupon (issued from Hilton as a reward). Other couple grew tired of waiting and ran back up to room to check out on TV, housekeeping did not appreciate that and was quite clear that "the room has been vacated, no one comes in!"

Finally leaving the garage, attendant charges us $28 again... For parking says we never paid! Suggested we aren't being truthful. Both couple volley over who will "just take care of it" as it turns out reception didn't charge us as requested the day before. Very frustrating final touch.

ROOM:
We were offered to pay an additional $30 (each room) for a view of the downtown skyline and harbor but opted against it to enrich our experience more socially. As two couples in two rooms we were asked if we wanted to be next to one another (yes!). Rooms were in fact on opposite corner of the same floor and one was an upgraded room while the other was not. Hmmm that's not ideal. But let's move on.


BAR: clear issues with who is working where. Patio waitress was adamant she would take our order... Not in a hospitable way... Territorial. Drinks took over 15 min and mine was wrong (ordered off menu, pointed out option, made no changes???). Appetizers were delayed, water was delayed. View was awesome. Went there to use voucher given at check in for 50% off appetizer, (two couples, two rooms) waitress would only accept one. Even of we split the $115 bill. So much for a the value of a voucher given out 1 hour before.

DINING: Had breakfast. Waited 10 min, were seated without menus. Asked for them. Waited. One got hungry and decides buffet it is! Two waited. Finally just went to bar and got two menus. So,
Three of us eventually ordered...
(1x) breakfast buffet
(1x) oatmeal with brown sugar and blueberries -missing cinnamon- (1x) side order scrambled egg
(1x) you pick omelet
Drinks were 2x coffee, 3x orange juice, 3x water (one serving of coffee and juice included w/buffet price)

Whole experience took about 1.5 hours. Total bill = >$70 before tip. Yes, you read that correctly. And it was noisy and clustered and the waitstaff were sooooooo kind but verrrrrrrrrry overwhelmed.

Extra bummer... We own a timeshare through Hilton (easily visible to employees by our luggage tags and Hilton honors info we were told). No acknowledgment or inquiry or recognition at all. Don't need bells and whistles (just minimum standards) but I had to ask for my comped water where other Double Tree and other Hilton properties have been very VERY welcoming and forthcoming with comfort touches to ease a travelers journey. It's less about what went wrong and more about how the other properties I've visited have set the bar quite high.

All in all, I'll still choose Hilton and would even stay here again. I can appreciate sometimes things just don't go quite ideally and didn't ask for any compensation, restitution or otherwise for the very very small collection of first world inconveniences we suffered on our one night stay. All the same... some of the above are deal breakers to an individual or family and if you are traveling on a budget, small slips are big deals.

Safe travels to all!




  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_JB_916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Everything is always perfect here: decor, cleanliness, service, food, SPA and fun! The location is amazing - walk to the Gaslamp district for food and entertainment and also walk to PetCo park for sports events. Gorgeous views all around from every hotel window. Plenty to do for couples and kids too!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review. I am pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you loved all the amenities that the hotel has to offer. I am glad to know that you found the property clean and inviting and that you loved the food and Spa Aquazul as well. Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent trip to San Diego and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hilton San Diego Bayfront is a very nice hotel. It's setup for conventions more than anything. We paid extra for a view but I don't know that it was much better. It was beautiful but I think looking at the city (ball park) would have been just as good as the water view. The beds are great. The parking cost is ridiculous especially at the price we paid for the room. There is no comp breakfast or internet but we loved staying where we could walk to the ball park and be close to the Zoo and airport.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is located at the bayfront and very close to the historic center of San Diego the "Gaslamp quarter". Walking along the Bayfront gives you a great view of the bay and the Marina. Staff at the reception was friendly and efficient in their services.Restaurant food was good but little pricy though. If you like to work out during your travel, they have a very nice fitness center at the Promenade level. its good to start your day with physical exercise. Overall I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms come with extra $20 if you like to see that..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zahed I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This Hilton was nothing special. The website made it look and feel very different than it actually was. The room did not have a refridgerator, fixtures were falling off in the bathroom and the shipping yard outside our window was loud. The service at the spa was great and the couples massage we had was wonderful. I would not reccomend gettting hair and make up for a wedding. I was beyond dissapointed in both services and had to redo my hair when I returned to my room. It was an average stay at best.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 286 in San Diego
2,788 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $105 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing