We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #78 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My husband and son were attending a conference in San Diego at this hotel so I went along for the trip. We had reserved a regular room with a bay view, but we were upgraded to a corner room, which had views of the city, bay and sunset. It was worth it for the views! The hotel and room were beautiful and the beds were very comfortable. We slept very well. Our son's room was very nice too, but without all the windows and views.
The pool area was exceptional. It was overlooking the bay and had its own bar and restaurant. I spent every afternoon there and really enjoyed it.
The only hotel restaurant we ate at was the Fox Sports Grill. The food was good, the view of the bay was great and the prices weren't bad for San Diego. They had a nice outdoor sitting area and we had lunch out there one day. On weekends they also serve breakfast.
The location of the hotel was perfect for us. There is a walkway that goes from the hotel to Seaport Village. The walkway goes along the bayfront and on the way to Seaport Village you pass hotels, restaurants, marinas and the convention center. I walked to the end of Seaport Village every morning and it was great! You can get to Seaport Village in about 10 minutes.
The other big plus is if you walk out of the lobby of the hotel and go right you cross a walkway over to Petco Park and the Gaslamp District. We went to the Gaslamp District every night for Happy Hours and dinner. One night we attended a Padres game. It was about a 5 - 10 minute walk to Gaslamp or Petco.
The service at the hotel was great. The day we left I gathered up all the luggage, duffel bags and cooler from our room and our sons room and had it all in our room. The bellhop came up to help and took everything on one cart and then followed us to the lobby, waited with us while we checked out and then loaded everything into one taxi. Excellent service!

Room Tip: Corner rooms on a high floor have great views and are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review and for choosing to visit us while your husband and son attended their conference. I am pleased to know that you loved our convenient location situated right on the bay and within walking distance to all the best dining, shopping, and entertainment that downtown San Diego has to offer. I am delighted to learn that you were impressed with your beautiful accommodations complete with a view of the bay, downtown, and Coronado Island. I am overjoyed to hear that all of the team members that you encountered during your stay were courteous and friendly and that they provided outstanding service throughout your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to welcoming back you and your family on your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    1,715
    680
    271
    123
See reviews for
1,048
962
160
2,228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh NC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am at this hotel right now and will be checking out in an hour. I thought I would reflect on my observations while they are fresh.

The location is great and the view outstanding. Being on the 29th floor, I was impressed by the panoramic view. The lobby is spectacular and is a great place for a conference which I have attended.

The problem was the hours of the restaurants which always seemed to be closed when we wanted to go. Yesterday, both the Odyssey and the Vela were closed around noon time and so we had to dine poolside. The meal of a hotdog and veggie wrap was below par but the price was staggering. After getting the check for the two items plus two teas, I was stunned to see the price. I placed a 15% tip in the tip space and just as I finished signing I noticed a small statement on the receipt saying an 18% gratuity had been added for poolside. This meant I had inadvertently gave the waitress who had only checked on us once, a 33% tip for mediocre service and substandard food. Very disappointing with the total damage $48.

The chairs in the Odyssey and the Vela are very deep and awkward to sit in making it almost impossible to sit in them with your back against the backrest. I did see some normal chairs but where we were seated the two times we dined there, the seating was uncomfortable.

Outside of the poolside event, the food was very good and the other service above average. As a Diamond member with Hilton, I have a pretty high standard for Hlltons and this one was not in line with most.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prestoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a week at the hotel in June. The rooms are very nice and bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located within walking distance to many different areas of San Diego (Gaslamp quarter, Seaport village, Petco Park, Coronado ferry service, etc.) A special thanks to Sweet Treats located on the hotel property for delicious frozen yogurt. Overal a great stay, but a couple of minor issues: some TV channels lost signal intermittantly, the pool did not have a depth over 4.5 ft., and check-in was a little slow after arriving at 3am due to a delayed flight, even after I had called ahead to confirm the reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Located very close to the convention centre and the Gaslamp Quarters, the hotel is conveniently placed. The rooms are smallish and the decor dated, but the views across the harbour quite make up for these.
My check in was excellent with only a short wait as I am an HHonor member, though those without the privilege had to queue up.
Concierge services are very efficient, with all questions answered.
The beds are comfortable, toilets adequate and toiletries of an acceptable standard.
The fare in the restaurants is good, with large servings and a very friendly serving staff.
No shortcomings during our stay.

Room Tip: A high floor would help
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeBee00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was the closest and most convenient access to the Gas Lamp District. The staff was accommodating, the amenities were well kept and on-point and the pool and facilities were amazing. I could not have asked for a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ida Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review and for choosing to stay with us during you visit to the downtown San Diego area. I am delighted to learn that you loved the hotel and that you received impeccable service throughout your stay. I am pleased to know that you loved our brand new pool area complete with our new open-air lounge, The Pool Club. I am grateful to hear that you appreciated our convenient location on the bay, within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarter, perfect for your summer getaway. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel is, indeed, commendable for its spacious lobby with beautiful flowers, rooms with lovely views, and having local shopping, sports and sightseeing within leisure strolling distance. However, all this can be rendered meaningless if they cannot be seen. Excitement to be attending my first National Energy and Utility Affordability Conference had been building over the past months and I finally had kindred spirits with whom to talk on the flight to San Diego and van ride to the hotel. I was in the lobby standing in line to check in when I realized I left my glasses on the airplane. Fortunately, a hotel staff member, Alex Lucero, provided personalized service to not only ensure I understood what I was signing for my stay in the hotel but that I was also connected to appropriate airline staff to retrieve my glasses from the plane before it flew out of the airport and arranged to have them delivered to the hotel. Exceptional!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRegan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. I am pleased to know that you truly enjoyed your visit here at the hotel and that you received amazing customer service from our team. I am ecstatic to learn that Alex was so helpful in arranging to get your glasses from the plane back to you at the hotel before its departure and helped ensure you had a memorable visit with us. I will be sure to give him special recognition for his outstanding customer service. Thank you for your feedback and I do hope you come back for a visit again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tx
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

This is my 2nd time to stay in this hotel. The hotel is very nice, clean, modern/contemporary decor. It is directly on the water, hence the name Hilton Bayfront. The only reason I say this is to confirm that it is directly on the water. I have been to hotels that fib about location.
Great view of Coronado!
It is directly next door to the convention center but if you want to walk around downtown I would say its not the best hotel for that.
If you want a great view & clean hotel- this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj79Tx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your amazing review and for choosing to stay with us again during your recent trip to San Diego. I am so happy to know that you loved your stay and that you found the hotel clean and comfortable and that you truly appreciated our beautiful views of the bay and Coronado Island. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,550 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing