We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #69 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Saranac Lake
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was here for a conference and the location was great. Easy walking to the convention center, Gaslight district and Seaport Village.

Room had a wonderful view of the bay and was comfortable. But it never causes me to think about the accomodations for two folks when there is only one comfortable chair to sit in. Come on add an additional chair.

Room Tip: Ask for the 30th floor. Never know but you might get it and it is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    1,557
    592
    220
    95
See reviews for
939
875
147
1,986
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,072)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grayson, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a business meeting. Everything was wonderful, even the food for the meeting. Located right next to the Gaslamp Qtr and Convention Center. It has its own walking bridge over Harbor Dr. It also has plenty of outdoor lounge space to enjoy the great San Diego weather.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
336 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Hilton Silver member spent three nights for a conference. Check in was slow and the honors desk line was a 30 minute wait. Room not available at 12 but said they would call me. My travel companion, not a HHonors members, got a call for the same category room at 12:30. When I inquired about mine, I was told it wasn't ready. When asked if they prioritize HHonors guest they said yes but couldn't explain why the other room was ready 1st. Desk clerk talked in circles until I just gave up and walked away. 3:30 no call, so I went to ask for keys. They had to call housekeeping to see if my room was inspected. Finally checked in at 3:45. Room is nice, clean and well appointed. Hotel does not seem to have a bad view form any angle so don't pay for upgrades. This is a very large hotel and they do not seem properly equipped to handle the guest count, turnover or dining needs. Location on the other hand is awesome. Walking distance to Gaslamp and Seaport Village. Great walking/running trail lines the bay for miles. Plenty of options for eating and drinking nearby. No need for a car unless you plan to venture beyond the few square miles surrounding the hotel. Very impressed with the banquet food and presentation - one of the best we have experienced. I would stay here again with the appropriate expectations. Had the hotel and staff not felt so impersonal, it would have been 4 stars. It appears as though they are understaffed and the guests sacrifice the service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joski69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us, I am disappointed to hear that you had to wait for a room, we truly appreciate the business our Honors members bring to us and your room should have been prioritized, this issue has been addressed with both our housekeeping and front office teams. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and views from your room. I am sorry you found our team members to impersonal; I can assure you this is not the style of customer service which we expect of our team members. I am pleased to know that you were impressed by our banquet food and presentation, our culinary team work very hard to ensure our banquet offerings are unique and above the normal expected from banquet cuisine. Thank you for being a Hilton Honors member and I sincerely hope we have the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Not only is this a great hotel, beautiful, clean, quiet, friendly in a great location. They actually care about their guests! My husband and I booked a room for our 22 wedding anniversary. I told the lady on the phone it was our anniversary and she said "oh I'll make a little note here that it's a special occasion". At the time I didnt think anything of it. When we checked in they upgraded us to the presidential suite because it happened to be available that night!!!! AMAZING, and THANK YOU Hilton Bay Front is all I can say!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cgotc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Firstly, congratulations on your 22nd Wedding Anniversary, I am thrilled to see that our team were able to upgrade you for this very special occasion. I am also delighted to hear you found our hotel to be friendly, conveniently located and quiet. Thank you for sharing your experience with our future guests and I hope we have the chance to celebrate many more anniversaries with you in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The view of the bay was awesome!! The service is excellent, staff were very friendly. This is a great conference host hotel for the city given its proximity to the conference center. breakfast buffet was very good in the hotel restaurant. multiple amenities on site.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonStrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and enjoyed our famous breakfast buffet. I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed the beautiful views of San Diego Bay and our close proximity to the convention center. Thank you once again for your review. I hope with have an opportunity to delight you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Amazing view and location, everything is within walking distance. Service does not match up to price. Food quality at all outlets does not match up to price and California expectation. I tried the lounge and room service, both were very average. We experienced some of the local restaurants and local chains, food was absolutely amazing. Average service for a four star hotel, the bell staff was always on top and greeted everyone. Beds were a little too soft.

Nice hotel, very clean and awesome location. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Don't let the allure of the bayside location fool you. My room overlooked miles of trucks at a Dole packing facility and the walk to any part of San Diego meant crossing a big pedestrian bridge....68 steps up and then 68 steps down. Yes, after doing this several times a day, I began to count.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,591 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#49 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#47 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#61 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing