We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #76 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Amazing view and location, everything is within walking distance. Service does not match up to price. Food quality at all outlets does not match up to price and California expectation. I tried the lounge and room service, both were very average. We experienced some of the local restaurants and local chains, food was absolutely amazing. Average service for a four star hotel, the bell staff was always on top and greeted everyone. Beds were a little too soft.

Nice hotel, very clean and awesome location. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,583 - 3,589 of 5,010 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

Don't let the allure of the bayside location fool you. My room overlooked miles of trucks at a Dole packing facility and the walk to any part of San Diego meant crossing a big pedestrian bridge....68 steps up and then 68 steps down. Yes, after doing this several times a day, I began to count.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Visited in April 2013 for a conference that was in the hotel. Location is great and convenient for quick access to the gas lamp district and also great views of the harbor. Lobby is nice and large with free wifi for hotel guests. Buffet breakfast was tasty and adequate variety of hot and cold food. I had bed and breakfast so it made sense to go for the buffet.
There's direct access via a bridge to the other side of the road where you can access the Trolley system that gets you around town very easily. Enterprise rent a car has its desk inside the hotel making it extremely convenient to pick or drop off a car.
The rooms are not so great but bathrooms large and well maintained. The in room wifi is free for HHonors Gold members but 13$ plus for regular folk which I thought was not just expensive, but the signal kept dropping every few minutes, which was really annoying. All in all a good stay, though certainly not so memorable.

Room Tip: Higher floors, facing the bay are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjdmello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased to know that you were comfortable during your recent stay and that you appreciated our convenient location on the bay and within walking distance of the convention center, Petco Park, and the San Diego Trolley. I am glad to hear that you loved our delicious breakfast buffet at Vela as well as the complementary wifi throughout many areas of the property. I want to thank you for your loyalty as an HHonors member and let you know that we truly appreciate your business as well as your feedback. I do hope you come back to see us again on your next trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel the past weekend with some friends. We had 2 rooms reserved. When we checked in the rooms were not ready as we wanted to be on the same floor as our friends so we upgraded our rooms. After a few hours and HHonors desk trying to expedite it still nothing was happening. After 3 hours of waiting we were getting frustrated that we still didn't have a room - it was aftern 4:00 p.m. We had been at this hotel the previous year and we saw at the front desk the same person who had helped us the previous year. His name is Chris and we decided to speak with him. He was just wonderful. He was attentive and listened to our concerns and really worked very hard to come up with a solution. I think he is a great asset to the hotel. He was decisive and came up with a solution very quickly and within 15 minutes we were in our room. After that our stay was wonderful. We had rooms with beauitful views and we really enjoyed our stay. Thank you Chris for taking such good care of us. We should have more people like him. Elizabeth Y.

Room Tip: get a room on the higher floor and ask for the city and bay view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at the Bayfront Hilton during a recent Conference was pleased with the facility and the services. Great Breakfast buffet. The views from the hotel on the bayfront were beautiful and restful. Access to the bay walk was a great feature!

Room Tip: Well appointed, clean, spacious and QUIET!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

What an expensive dump...room smelled like a old bar..complained but nothing happened until I found the source...used cigarette butts in a glass of water in a drawer. I nearly puked and totally ruined by breakfast (which included a $12 coffee -- ordered a cup was sent a carafe). Certainly would avoid this one if you can.

Room Tip: The higher you are -- the better the view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid feedback. I am sincerely sorry and very embarrassed of what you found in your guestroom. I am so sorry that you were inconvenienced and that you were frustrated with the lack of attention to your concerns. This type of customer service is not acceptable and I will be sure to relay your feedback to our Director of Housekeeping. Our housekeeping team does do their best to ensure that every guestroom is in pristine condition for every new guest. I want you to know that we do not allow smoking in our guestrooms, and I am very sorry that this was the impression you received during your stay. I do hope that you will give us another chance and return for a stay in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I traveled to San Diego last May for a conference, which was held at the San Diego Hilton right on the waterfront. The hotel is airy, clean and modern feeling. It's got fabulous views of the harbor area. I spent two nights there and found it an excellent experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room up high with a bay view ... I think it's worth it even if you have to pay a sligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maserk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#124 of 278 in San Diego
2,686 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $127 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing