We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full service Hilton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #76 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Full service Hilton in the heart of San Diego, this 1000+ room hotel has nice bar, restaurant, spa, and meeting facilities. Of course they are expensive. This is a full service place with bell captains, hhonors desk, full time concierge, valet parking, etc.so you will pay a bit more, but it is on par with other properties in the area.
All rooms have at least a partial water view, and are fairly large with newer furnishings and nice glass shower in bath.
Located right next to convention center and just a short walk over the walkway to Petco park, as well as 5 minutes from the Gaslamp district this is a great location for business or pleasure in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southwest corner (especially lower floor) could get some noise from the ship loading do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlabsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,098)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,738 - 3,744 of 5,099 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2013

I travel to San Diego frequently on business. As a Hilton Diamond member, I have stayed at over 100 Hilton properties. This is by far one of the best at this price point. Spotless, bright, conveniently located, and great staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schiegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Hotel's location is absolutely gorgeous, close to shopping and dining, with beautiful seaside view and Downtown of San Diego; close to the convention center. Service and accommodations are great as well. I ordered room service: first night it was prompt and delivered within 25 minutes, however, on second night it took a bit over an hour. Though, I was notified of a delayed delivery when placing an order due to high volume of orders.
The only disadvantage was that cell phone connection was very poor and unavailable in some parts of the hotel, which was problematic for me as I was there on a business trip and had to be constantly connected. Other than that, beautiful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crystal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went there for a business trip and decided to try out their restaurant, the staff was great! There wasn't that much traffic so this gave me a chance to get better aquatinted with the staff, one manager in particular Bianca Juarez. If your company has a employees are anything like this one I would very much recommend this to everyone I know

Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for your outstanding review. I am overjoyed to hear that Bianca made your stay so memorable and that you truly appreciated her wonderful customer service. I am so happy to hear that you were impressed with all our wait staff. I will be sure to give Bianca special recognition for a job well done! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The front desk staff were exemplary and the rest of the staff we encountered were helpful and engaging. The structure and decor are impressive and interesting. I enjoyed being on the property for two nights and our 29th floor (of 30) corner room had a great wrap-around view with clean windows. Clean windows in a room with a view are paramount (thanks)! The guest room was modest sized but adequate and the bathroom more than adequate; both very clean. I didn't eat here at all since we had all meals planned elsewhere and I used the self-parking garage which was convenient enough but kinda' spendy. The footbridge from the property, across the tracks to downtown is very cool (high-tech stainless maritime architecture). My GPS unit failed to get me to the hotel due to the few crossings of the rail, which made access inconvenient. It's not difficult to get to by car but it's not as easy as I'd prefer and the location is kinda' at the far end of where the action is downtown, right next to an industrial area near the Coronado Bridge. The pool was closed for remodel but I was given fair warning and an alternative. I really want to knock off a rating point for the marginal location and expensive parking and tiered Internet (which annoys me) but those things wouldn't really matter if I was on-foot, attending a convention next door or a ball game at Petco.

Room Tip: Doesn't really matter which side you're on if you have a high corner room. Both views are ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ricomalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. My room view consisted of the skyline and the water with mountains in the background. I don't think the previous poster had a fair assessment on the construction. There is never perfect timing for renovations however, how exciting to see what they are doing and they had informative material at check in explaining their new Courtyard, pools, and patio bar. I was shocked that room service had such a limited menu consisting of average food and an average wait time of over an hour. To the hotels defense, they did inform me at the time of placing my order that it would be over an hour and 15 minutes due to the rain. The hotel was not what I expected for the location, price, and being a full service Hilton Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great Location - but for price just ok. Staff nice & friendly. 1 restaurant good the rest just ok. Have stayed in other Hilton that had "silent" doors - this one does not and heard the next door 3 AM nightly arrival of the guests next door. Also quite frequently travel with family so am used to minifridge/microwave in room. Also have never stayed anywhere that didn't have free wi-fi in room. This has free wi fi in the Lobby of the hotel but daily charge to get it in room:()

Room Tip: Be sure to get an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familytrips4us4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#123 of 286 in San Diego
2,788 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $105 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing