We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very friendly stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #78 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A very friendly stay!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Bayfront for 2 nights. The hotel was everything I would expect a large 4 star hotel to be. We were upgraded to a corner room for an additional $12 per night which was well worth it. Very comfortable bed. GREAT shower! Clean - modern room. Best of all, the staff was extremely kind, outgoing, and friendly. They catered to our every need - and there were several of them since we were traveling with a 1 year old. If big hotels are your thing, this is a good one.

Room Tip: Ask to upgrade to a corner room. They are bigger and have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,096
    1,715
    680
    271
    123
See reviews for
1,048
962
160
2,228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Niles, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I see the reviews here and the word "entitlement" comes to mind. I am a Gold HHonors member but that doesn't mean I am entitled to free internet, free drinks, free this and that! When you choose to stay at a full service hotel, you don't get the amenities that you get at a Holiday Inn Express. The staff here is wonderful! We had no issues at all. Food was expensive but very good. Gaslamp district is close and views from this hotel are spectacular. I am here on business but I will be back with my hubby. This place rocks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valpograd86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful 5 star review and for sharing your perspective as a HHonors member to our future guests. It is great to hear what our loyal HHonors members think and knowing that you are completely satisfied with the property means a great deal to us. We value you and your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the property and that you found all the staff to be very friendly and accommodating throughout your visit. I am glad to know that you were delighted with our location and that you will be back to visit with your husband. We look forward to seeing you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our 5th visit to San Diego and the only hotel booked (out of 10) as an attachment to our flight with BA to make the deal a 'package' enabling ABTA cover. All other hotels were researched, chosen and booked by ourselves.

Not our favourite hotel in San Diego, and we have stayed in a few over the years. The hotel was practical, functional, a little bland, quite corporate and the harbour view was half harbour and half industrial site. Room size was good which is just as well when travelling with enough luggage for nearly a months' holiday. We did not sample the food and drink offerings as we prefer to walk into the Gas Lamp area of downtown.

The room was clean, the staff polite, helpful and friendly. The location is ideal if you need the exhibition centre and for conferences but as a vacation hotel there are plenty that are better and also more ideally located for walking into the Gaslamp District and Little Italy. We found the hike across the bridge and to 4th and 5th Avenue a little tiresome when you are coming and going on a regular basis.

We would not choose to stay here again and we have every intention of going back to San Diego either this year or 2014.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the Christmas holiday; and it was a great treat! The lobby was beautifully decorated, we had a high floor room with an amazing bay view that even our 8th month old enjoyed. The spa is a must with a super relaxing steam room. The Hilton is a few blocks from the gaslamp quarters which was a great way to work an appetite. We also enjoyed going to the New Mexican super market by el barrio area.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadivaAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review and for choosing to bring your family to stay with us over the Christmas holiday. I am pleased to know that everyone enjoyed the beautiful views, including your little one. I am happy to hear that you were impressed with our modern lobby and hotel aesthetic and that you loved the convenient location of the property, right on the bay and within walking distance to a variety of shops and restaurants in the downtown Gaslamp Quarter. Thank you for your review and I hope you and your family come back for a visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great location and wonderful few. Minutes walk to GasLamp District. Bkfst was expensive and the pool wasn't big, but staff was very friendly :)
We were there only for two days and can't wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your recent 5 star review and for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests. I am pleased to know that you truly enjoyed your stay and that you were thoroughly impressed with our convenient location on the bay and just a short walk to all the best San Diego has to offer. I am ecstatic to learn that you found the staff courteous and accommodating and that you can’t wait to come back for another visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

When I arrived after a 16 hour journey from Hong Kong after 3 pm, I was looking forward to a good shower and some sleep. Instead I had to wait for an hour to have my room ready. Then, I just fell asleep and was unlucky enough to wake up at 11 pm and then, there was just no way the hotel could provide me with any food. The staff member on the phone suggested a pizza place that took a really long long time to deliver a really bad quality pizza. If you really want to feel unwelcome after a long journey halfway around the world, I would recommend this kind of an experience to you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie E, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am sincerely sorry that your room was not ready upon your arrival. I want to assure you that our team does their best to accommodate all our guests as quickly and efficiently as possible. I am very sorry that when you woke, our onsite dining establishments were not longer open and you had to order in. For future reference, our concierge team should be able to provide you with a variety of dining options within a short walking distance away or more delivery options to fit your needs. I am so sorry to hear that you did not feel welcome during your stay as that is never our intention. We always want all of our guests to feel welcome and comfortable during their visit. I hope you reconsider visiting us again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eatonton, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Great location next to the convention center, but ability to meet the demand for breakfast seating in the morning leaves much to be desired. Vela is a very small restaurant with a very high price tag for breakfast and therefore you wait, and you wait, and you wait for a table even at 7:30 in the morning. The restaurant is not set to handle covention attendees that are trying to make the show floor first thing in the morning.

Check in was a little slow as the staff was constantly waiting for the rooms to be released by housekeeping.

Room Tip: Try for a higher floor that has great views of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgiadawg70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,550 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#29 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing