We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfect location for a convention” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #68 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“perfect location for a convention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

A very nice hotel with a perfect location for a convention. Located just across the San Diego Convention Center, this hotel is close to almost everything of interest in downtown San Diego.It is conveniently near the gaslamp district where you will find all sorts of bars and restaurants and is also a few minutes walk to the USS midway museum. Very near also is the train stop which you can take to go to as far as the Las Americas outlet mall near the border of Mexico. The rooms are spacious and adequately furnished and the amenities are above average. I also love the bar with a patio facing the bay where you can have drinks at night. The walkway connecting to the bay walk is perfect for our early morning runs. The only negative thing i can say about this hotel is our experience at the breakfast buffet. We stayed for 5 days in the hotel and everyday we had to wait for atleast 15 minutes to get a table. They do give you a pager but you can't really go very far and there were not enough seats while waiting, so every morning you will see a long queu leading to the restaurant. We tried going early, at 630AM, and late, 9Am, but still the line was long. The staff explained that the hotel was full and that there were several conventions going on in the convention center. But they should have anticipated that given their location or atleast open another restaurant for breakfast if the hotel is full. To make things worst, you get the same food everyday. The choices did not vary and you will see the same type of food on the same tray on the same spot everyday. Again, they know that most of their guests are attending conventions which lasts for a few days so they should atleast vary their food selections (atleast the main courses) everyday. What made us go back to breakfast everyday (aside from the fact that it is included in the room charges) are the very courteous and friendly staffs in the restaurant. Overall, my experience in this hotel was excellent and if you get tired of the same food during breakfast, there is always Starbucks infront of the hotel.

Room Tip: you can request for a room facing the bay for a better view although the whole time we were there, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveldoc298573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thanks so much for sharing all the details of your stay with others. We’re very glad you loved our location, spacious guestrooms, Odysea Lounge and the boardwalk along the bay directly in front of our hotel. I greatly apologize for the wait you experienced in Vela during breakfast. Your comments have been reviewed by our Director of Food & Beverage so he is aware and can make changes for future guests. We have also noted the request for variety on our breakfast buffet. In addition to our breakfast buffet, we offer a full breakfast menu with an assortment of choices that guests are welcome to order from each morning. It’s wonderful to hear that our Vela team members were courteous and friendly and that this was one of the reasons you continued to return. I will be sure to pass along those compliments as well. We’re so glad your overall experience was excellent and we certainly hope you’ll be back to stay with us again in the future. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    1,609
    625
    244
    100
See reviews for
978
915
154
2,072
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2011

Great location... Only 3 minutes walk from Gaslam str. And downtown... Exactly beside the convention center.. Clean rooms, very comfortable pellows and beds..great view .. Excellent food and room service.. I strongly recommend this hotel...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muathz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
171 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel has sprung up over the last few years since my last convention visit to San Diego. It's quite nice and modern, with quite reasonably-sized rooms. The bathroom counter was very spacious (always annoying when there's not enough room for your toiletries). Perhaps the only negative was the somewhat less than luxurious shower spray. Not that it was a drip or insufficient (and I'm all for water conservation), but it seemed just a litle on the narrow or weakish side given the room in the tub/shower (with the amply curved "american-style" shower rod). But it was workable.
I declined the extra $20/night for a "view" room of the bay and downtown, but my view from an upper floor was fine (down to the pool and spa area, the Dole shipping facility next door, water, and the bridge to Coronado). I had been expecting a wall or alley view...
The location was great. Just on the "far side" of the convention center (bascially crossing the street from one end and you're there), across the street and tracks from Petco stadium and 10 min to the Gaslamp district etc. It takes 15-20 min to walk the length of the convention center to get to the Marriot Marquis and Manchester Hyatt on the other side. Being on the edge of the downtown/convention area zone, it was the perfect balance of convenience, but also less hectic.
And whoever thought of putting bumps on a bar of soap and labeling it a "massage bar" is a marketing genius...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ptbooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
We appreciate you staying with us on your recent business trip and sharing your experience with others. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our location, guestrooms, bathrooms and beautiful views. I shared your comments regarding the shower with our Director of Property Operations. Generally the water pressure in our showers is very good, so perhaps there was an issue in your particular guestroom. If this is ever the case during future stays, please let our Front Desk team know so that they look into it and resolve the concern during your stay. Thanks again and we hope to see you back for another visit very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a beautiful, very nice hotel. It is next to everything--convention center, gaslamp district, the bay...on and on. Parking is very expensive, but, easy to selfpark. Very close to the airport, but, I experienced no disturbance on the 20th floor. I also had beautful views of the bay and the bridge going across. I can't imagine that there any bad views in this hotel, after you are high enough up. The hotel is new and very state of the art with regard to amenities--HDTV, channels, check-in reception area, restuarants are very california-ish. I just find the food better in the south and the east! Only complaint was they were extremely slow at checking people in. I believe there was a medical conference going on while I was there, and they did not seem to staff for the large crowds. I also had to return to the reception desk to get a "ticket" for breakfast. They would not let you in without one. It was probably a good thing because I discovered that I was entitled to free breakfast when I was prepared to pay. The hotel is very impressive, and in an excellent location. I think you could probably walk to many attractions from there. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thanks so much for your recent visit and for recommending us to others. It’s wonderful to hear that you loved our location and contemporary style. I apologize for the wait you experienced upon check in and the inconvenience regarding your breakfast voucher. Your comments have been reviewed with our Director of Front Office so he is aware. You can definitely walk to many great attractions from our hotel. The Padres’ Baseball stadium, Petco Park, Jet Ski, Boat and Bike Rentals, Water Taxi and Ferry to Coronado, The New Children’s Museum, Seaport Village and so much more is all within walking distance. I hope you get to enjoy these on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you return very soon and we thank you again for your 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

I was at the Bayfront for a conference this past week and it is a great business hotel. All the amenities you need during a conference - large rooms, nice bathrooms and walking distance to the Gaslamp district.

The best part besides the great service is the large array of TV channels (awesome when you are away from home) and a Starbucks that opens at 6am.

The hotel has a resort feel so I can imagine it would be great for vacation as well!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samhope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

If you are traveling to San Diego , California for business or pleasure , I highly recommend the Hilton Bay Front. The location was great , just a four minute walk to Fifth avenue full of restaurants, Shopping and entertainment.

Room Tip: Facing north towards the bay / City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juanjo263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

From the moment we drove up we were greeted with smiles and excellent service. We checked in Thanksgiving day to be near family for the holiday. Registration was a breeze with Jorge at check in. He is friendly, helpful and there with a smille when you have questions or concerns. Thanks Jorge and thank you John for all the help with lugguage and settling in and out of our room with the view of the city and the sea . He is the best. Enjoyed the fantastic Thanksgiving buffet - 11 of us. Again great service and very helpful staff. Breakfast in the morning was delicious - we chose to order from the menu but many were enjoying the buffet, Beds are so comfortable - and of course the hotel just about sits on the water so the view is the best. There is a green area just outside the hotel and we saw kids and families playing touch football and croquet. Thank you for making our holiday a great memory.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P.Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubletreeSanDiego, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
We’re so glad you were able to spend your Thanksgiving holiday in San Diego with us. Thanks for letting us know about your experience and for your compliments about Jorge and John. I’m glad they were so welcoming during check in and helped to get you all settled in. We’ve already shared your comments with our entire team so they will be recognized for their excellent service. It’s very nice that you enjoyed our Thanksgiving Buffet. We look forward to you coming back again next year! Thanks again for your 5 star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,802 reviews
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing