We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #77 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront for a trade show. If you are going to a trade show at the convention center it's a perfect location. It is also extremely close to the Gas Lamp District and the view from the Bay View rooms are fantastic. Get a corner room up high, it's worth it! The hotel is modern and clean, the pool and hot tub are great! Didn't eat at the retaurants although I know someone who did who said the food was mediocre and expensive. There are a ton of food options in the Gas Lamp Section just fifteen minutes away.

Room Tip: Up high bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregm3367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,322 - 4,328 of 5,157 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here! It is a huge hotel and is right next to a conference centre, so there are lots of people milling around from the conference - however the views are lovely and the surrounding area is delightful to walk around and you are so near to the gaslamp area to walk in and get a good meal very easily and without parking. Also the beautiful Coronado Island is very near and has a fabulous beach! The staff were very nice and the pool area was lovely -not sure why they need loud thumping music round the pool though - but every hotel we stayed in on the West coast seemed to do the same so maybe thats a Californian thing!!

Room Tip: Worth paying more for a bay view - its just lovely! The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thanks for staying with us this summer. We’re so glad you loved our views and location and that you got to enjoy much of what our surrounding area has to offer. For the music at the pool, we have Pandora playing, so it’s an automatic selection depending what ‘genre’ is selected. We do try to play more mellow music during the days, so I apologize if it was too loud while you were here. We’re always more than happy to adjust the music according to our guests’ requests. Next time, you can definitely ask one of the team members in our Spa Aquazul for your desired music selection. Thanks so much again and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the West Coast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

First off, chances are huge that you'll stay here for biz/conference. It's right next to the convention center, next to the also huge Marriott Marquis and Hyatt, and you really won't have to leave it during most business matters. It's also very convenient to the airport and has a great location overlooking the Bay. It's walking distance for your biz dinners/events in the Gaslamp. The rooms are blasé, you can get a great view and that's about it. Not much in terms of character, but like I said, if you want character and all that jazz...simply try out other hotels in the Gaslamp. Would I stay here again? Well, after the Hyatt, Marriott and some others depending upon where my meetings are, or if I'm here for fun. If you're here for fun, don't bother. Otherwise, it fits the bill.

Room Tip: Get a bay/water view. Corner rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smrpenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for staying with us during your recent business trip. I’m glad you liked our convenient location right next to the San Diego Bay and Gaslamp. I’m sorry to hear we didn’t exceed your expectations, as this is something our team always strives to do for our guests. We certainly hope you’ll reconsider choosing us over the other hotel chains during your next visit to San Diego. If you do, please contact our Assistant Director of Front Office at garin.carpenter@hilton.com and he will be glad to assist you with your stay. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Great slick modern hotel with excellent views and a convinient location. 10 min walking distance to Gas Lamp District with food and enterntainment. A bridge over the railtracks connected to the hotel comes in handy when trains block the bayfront off. Having Starbucks downstairs is excellent. It was a trully enjoable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enginem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton Inn on the San Diego Bay waterfront for our anniversary and had a room vith a view of both Coronado and the downtown skyline, as well as the San Diego Harbor. I asked for a low level floor but wished we had requested a higher floor for the added view. The room was a bit pricey plus they charged $27 or one night of parking so our stay for one night cost $342 which included a buffet breakfast for two. The location was close enough to walk to restaurants near Seaport Village (about a 20 minute walk) and right next to a new pedestrian bridge that was built for the Padres Petco Ballpark access and access to the Gaslamp District (about a 15 minute walk). The pool was really nice (billed as the largest saltwater pool in San Diego). The bar was OK and had outdoor seating. The two restaurants at the hotel looked comfortable but we only had breakfast at the one with the buffet. The buffet was OK but the hot food was cold by the time I got to the table. The service was not great (the waitress was nowhere to be found). This hotel is perfect for the San Diego Convention Center meetings because it is right nextdoor. We went to Joe's Crab Shack for dinner as it was only a 10 minute walk along the bayfront where they are just completing construction of the waterfront "boardwalk" that connects the hotel to the bay.

Room Tip: Rooms on north side have the best view. Stay above the 18th floor for the best view and get a corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor91931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for staying with us recently and for sharing your review with other travelers. We’re so glad you loved our location, our pool and views. We offer packages that include parking and internet and we encourage potential guests to check our hotel specials on our website. I apologize for the service you received in our restaurant. Your comments have already been shared with our Director of Food & Beverage so he can share with his team and make improvements. Thanks for taking the time to submit your beautiful photos. Next time you visit, I hope you get to stay on one of our highest floors, as you wished. Please contact our Assistant Director of Front Office at garin.carpenter@hilton.com and he will be glad to assist you with your stay. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in early September - for less than $100 a night (inc breakfast) this hotel proved to be outstanding value. In fact, I can't think of another hotel that comes close of providing the facilities/services this Hilton offered for that price.

Transfers from the hotel are available, but you'll probably end up needing a rental if you're heading out of the downtown area, so you may as well pick up the car at the airport and drive the 10 mins to the hotel - it's not a difficult route and there is amble self-parking available (but the parking garage layout can be a little confusing).

It seems a bit odd that in order to access some of the amenities (sports bar, starbucks, etc) you have to leave the hotel, walk round a corner, and enter from the outside. Then repeat the exercise to back into the hotel. Not a major trauma, but its a bit bemusing that you can't access them from inside like you can the cocktail bar and restaurant.

A quick walk over the bridge delivers you to the Gaslamp area and more restaurants/bars that you'll probably ever need and catering to every budget and preference. If you just want to stretch your legs then the waterfront is right outside and you can wander along looking at various floating maritime attractions.

Breakfast is good, with an amble buffet and portions from the menu are sufficient to see you through the morning (and maybe more!). Food at the Fox sports bar is perfectly acceptable, if somewhat predictable, but then it's a sports bar so you know exactly what's what.

Rooms are clean and tidy, sensibly sized, the same can be said for the bathroom. Higher floors have better views, and if you plan to spend time looking out the window then opt for one overlooking the bridge rather than the container docks. The higher up you go the less noise is apparent and there's little need to close the curtains - no one can look in - and if you're not fussed at the scenery then save yourself the extra $ charged for the bridge view and stare out the window at nothing in particular from the comfort of the bed.

I'm sure it's an endless source of amusement to the check-in staff as bemused guests wander around the lobby looking for the elevators that take you to the floor you're looking for - it isn't immediately obvious.

Will be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Windswept_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

While stating at the hotel , we were apart of the Eufora convention The staff was just so helpful I would especially like to thank the Banquet setup guys Jeff and Ronnie for helping us out whenever we needed anything. I would Like to give a Big thank you to Ronnie from banquet setup he found my I phone and immediately turned it in to our lost in found. He was also very helpful in telling us about some of the history of San Diego from the star of India to the u.s.s midway and about historic old town San Diego. Cant wait until next year to experience the Hotel again

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2011

Thank you for attending a recent convention here and for sharing your experience with others. We’re very glad that our team was so helpful. We appreciate you mentioning the individual team members, as we like to be able to recognize them for taking good care of our guests. Although you were here on business, I hope you got to experience some of the surrounding sites Ronnie told you about. Next time you’re here, it’s a lot of fun to take the water taxi or ferry across the bay to Coronado to have dinner. We look forward to your next visit, whether it’s for business or pleasure. Thanks again for your 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 286 in San Diego
4,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#57 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $164 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing