We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #74 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in a port/Coronado room with breakfast included. The hotel was packed for the July 4th weekend, but our room was surprisingly quiet and comfortable. It.certainly was not the most luxurious of accommodations, but the location was great for Gaslamp Quarter exploring, and it could not have been more ideal for the fabulous Big Bay Boom fireworks celebration. We were impressed with the variety (if not the organization) of the included breakfast buffet in the Vela restaurant. We paid $11 each night for a $50 breakfast buffet for two, and it was well worth the frustration of dealing with the unruly children of clueless enabling parents. While wireless was not included in our package and parking charges are exorbitant all over San Diego, we felt that the Hilton Bayfront provided good value and service.

Room Tip: Stayed on port/Coronado side for $40 less per night. If you want to see San Diego, leave the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AmarilloByMorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thanks so much for staying with us this month and for your great review. We’re glad you enjoyed our comfortable, quiet guestrooms and our location next to San Diego’s famous downtown Gaslamp District. It’s great that you were able to experience the Big Bay Boom celebration in the park, with such an incredible fireworks display on the bay! We are pleased you liked our breakfast buffet in Vela and you feel our hotel provided good value and service. We definitely hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit from Texas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,032
    1,651
    649
    252
    109
See reviews for
994
928
156
2,149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were there for July 4th weekend and it was just amazing. We stayed at Hilton for 4 days and 2 days at Westin but my kids loved the Hilton. They made extra effort to accommodate kids with their own check in and all the July 4th kids activities were fantastic. Loved every aspect of the Hotel and amazing place for seeing the Fireworks. I will visit this place every July 4th if we could. We looked for parking and did self parking and was much better and convenient then going anywhere. There is nothing wrong with this hotel. It is just a great location with park for kids to play, you can do a boat ride from the pier which is 200 ft walk. Gas lamp area is a small walk as well. Overall, I liked the fact that this was a hotel where I could go in and out as well as spend a lot of time.

Room Tip: Stay at the Higher Floor with with the Bridge View of Bay View. Both are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AZ_RD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thanks so much for your excellent 5 star review. We truly appreciate hearing that your kids loved our hotel and that your family enjoyed all the special activities we had over 4th of July. We have received such great feedback from our guests, so we are continuing with that program for the rest of the summer. Guests can look forward to kids’ sand art by the pool, games in the park, wine tasting and other fun activities for the family during weekends through Labor Day. We hope you will be able to stay every 4th of July weekend to enjoy the festivities with us. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Superb location and great view. Very friendly staffs and kids friendly with programs throughout each day while were there fourth of July weekend . Wish could have stay longer.
Will definitely go back there when in San Diego next time.
Only parking got a bit full due to concert nearby since it wasn't just for hotel guests.
Also pet friendly and enjoyed watching all different types of dogs roaming around.

Room Tip: check into hotel website for specials for free internet and parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arizona03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
We appreciate you staying with us over 4th of July weekend and thank you for your 5 star review! We’ve received excellent feedback from our guests about our 4th of July program, so we are continuing with it for the rest of the summer. Guests can look forward to kids’ sand art by the pool, games in the park, wine tasting and other fun activities for the family during weekends through Labor Day. We are glad you loved our location and our friendly staff. I definitely enjoy all the dog watching too. Thanks for your tip to check our hotel website for our packages including parking and internet. I couldn’t have suggested it better myself! Thank you again and we certainly look forward to the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

nice hotel, but service at the restaurant and bars were slow and unprofessional.
the staff were unorganized and seemed new to the business.
the house keeping they just made the beds, did not clean room or bathroom.
won't go back.

Room Tip: go elswhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank advancetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience with others. We focus strongly on providing excellent guest service, so it’s disappointing to hear that we fell below our expected standards. Your comments have been reviewed by our Food & Beverage and Housekeeping Directors so that we can correct this for you and our future guests. We hope you decide to give us another chance and if so, please contact our Assistant Director of Front Office at garin.carpenter@hilton.com to plan your next visit. He will be more than happy to assist you with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis, minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront for 3 nights over 4th of July weekend. Two episodes in the hotel lobby set the whole tone for me.
First, the desk clerk was happy to see us. Not because it was in her script. And not with a paste-on-smile. She sincerely enjoyed her work, and wanted to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. ( I wish I could remember her name, but her badge said she was from Ohio) A few feet away, they had a kid's check-in. 2 hotel staff, both with polo shirts rather than blazers and ties, were giving the kids grab bags and talking up the weekend. The kids in the elevator couldn't wait to show us their new sunglasses, etc.
It's a big hotel, located next door to the convention center. But, they make a big hotel feel personal, not corporate. I was wowed.
Only shortcoming: the parking ramp is not well marked. We moved the car 2x each day, and had trouble remembering where we parked. The hotel doesn't own the lot, so I can't fault them...but even putting A, B, C on the posts would allow us to remember where on the 3rd floor we left the car.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jon160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thanks so much for visiting us from Minnesota and for your glowing 5 star review. We absolutely love hearing the way our Front Desk staff made you and your family feel upon check in. Your comment that our team members made our large hotel feel personal is one of the best compliments we could receive. The feedback from our guests about our 4th of July program has been excellent, so we are continuing with it for the rest of the summer. Guests can look forward to kids’ sand art by the pool, games in the park, wine tasting and other fun activities for the family during weekends through Labor Day. You are correct that another company owns the parking structure, but we are looking into how we can improve the signage for our guests. We definitely hope you’ll visit us again next 4th of July or at another time of the year when your travels bring you back to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
60 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed for a conference in the convention centre.
Location: right beside the convention centre so couldn't be better. Nice view of the downtown bay area from the hotel rooms/bar etc. Across the road from 5th avenue, the main part of the gaslamp quarter.

Public areas: efficient and helpful check-in and guest services. Nice bar area with outside overlooking water. Breakfast had many options although was a bit "mass produced" and very busy. Didn't use the gym.

Rooms: plenty of space and facilities; overall modern and comfortable

Overall I'd recommend, especially for a business trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hc1401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We expected more with the hotel being bayfront and a Hilton. However, the rooms were standard, nothing special. We found some very helpful staff members, but the majority were rude and acted as if simple tasks were inconvenient to them. The housekeeping staff and front desk staff were absolutely amazing, accommodating and top-notch. The bellmen and guest services staff were irritated to be working. The bellmen up front would stand around the counter outside and chat while guests were arriving and departing and needed help with bags. One thing I would recommend is to reserve breakfast when booking the room (not when you arrive because the prices are more than if you do it in advance). Additionally, make sure you arrive early for breakfast (830am or 9am) otherwise you will wait in line (in a large crowd, really) for at least an hour. We left to go around the corner to Starbucks to eat breakfast and apparently, the other impatient people had the same idea because that line was outrageous too. The concierge is good at giving you lists of activities, but that's it. We asked how long it took to get to Horton Plaza (outside of the Gaslamp District) and they said 15 minutes walking. We asked if there was any other means of transportation other than a cab. They told us no, but it's only 15 minutes and it was really close. We walked a good 30 minutes before we arrived. On the way back we got a rickshaw, which the Hilton Concierge failed to inform us about. The spa was amazing, very relaxing and reasonably priced. In fact, the showers in the spa locker rooms were SO MUCH BETTER than the ones in the hotel rooms. Overall, if I had to do it all over again- I would research other hotels for this price before booking. We only stayed here because it was convenient since the wedding we attended was held here and, of course, you can't beat the view.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLB1150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanDiegoHilton, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, July 28, 2011
Thank you for staying with us during a wedding you attended this month. We are so sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations and the level of guest service we strive to provide. Your comments have been reviewed with our Concierge staff so they can provide more details about our city for our guests. We certainly apologize about the impression our Bell staff gave you. Although this is not normally what we hear from our guests, we do take your comments seriously and have passed them along to our entire team so we can constantly improve. It’s great to hear that you loved our Spa Aquazul and that our Front Office and Housekeeping teams are top notch. If you decide to stay with us again in the future, and I hope you do, please contact our Assistant Director of Front Office at garin.carpenter@hilton.com and he will be more than happy to assist you with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,976 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#26 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing