We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and exceptional service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #75 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Newark
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and exceptional service”
Reviewed April 5, 2011

The Hilton San Diego Bayfront is an extremely nice hotel with great views of the city and bay. The service is first class with everyone making sure your stay is comfortable and needs are met. Check in was pleasant as was resteraunt and bar service. The hotel is very clean and rooms are adequate. Great location, across from Petco and short walk to the Gaslamp. The only downside is the Port of San Diego on the south side of the hotel but we had a room on the north side so was our view was perfect! Would highly recommend this Hilton property, as always Hilton is out to satisfy thier customers.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,048
    1,676
    659
    255
    113
See reviews for
1,004
935
157
2,179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I went to San Diego this past weekend with my family and friends to celebrate my birthday. We booked three rooms together and were traveling with three toddlers in total. This was our first stay at the Hilton Bayfront. Normally, we stay at the Omni next door to Petco Park. I thought it might be fun to try someplace new. I'm so glad we did!

The hotel has an amazing location to start. It is the last property located next door to the convention center. Thanks to the bridge that connects it back to Petco Park, you have immediate access to everything. In comparison to the other hotels in San Diego, it is not too pricey for what they are offer. Overnight parking is actually cheaper than a few other hotels in the same vicinity.

Since the property is only two years old, the rooms are very nice, clean and comfy. When traveling with little ones, that's important. We enjoyed the Starbucks on the first floor and ate at the hotel bar as well. The pool is great and we spent time there also. From the hotel, you can even make the walk up to Seaport Village. It's relaxing as a walk on Sunday morning. Because of the marina, the children love it as they can see all of the boats.

The service we received at the front desk was exceptional. Thank you to James and Robert. Other than that, the service at the rest of the property was good, but not memorable. When I say 'not memorable', I mean I didn't go out of my way to remember their names to say thank you. I think that's pretty much on par with everywhere else. Since the property is larger than that of places like the Omni, you don't necessarily see the same faces over and over again. That's not their fault, so you can't criticize them for that.

All in all, I would definitely stay at the Hilton Bayfront again. In fact, I already have reservations to stay there again twice in the next six weeks. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanoshegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancc, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
First of all, Happy Birthday! Thank you so much for giving Hilton Bayfront a try. We are thrilled to hear you had a wonderful time, and enjoyed our Starbuck's, bar, and pool. I hope you tasted one (or two) of our specialty cocktails in Odysea bar, they are to die for!

I'll make sure to pass along your thanks to James and Robert at the front desk. You mentioned you are staying with us again soon and we are honored to welcome you back. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay even more memorable, please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

For purposes of convenience of its location being adjacent to the convention center, I give it an A rating. It's clean and the towels are plush, but in this day and age, why charge $15 a day for Internet? I don't get it at all. there's no ref in the room. Altogether, stay was fine but I don't think I will be going back. There are other nicer hotels in the area which offer more convenience without extra charges. Parking is even steep!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Altitude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2011

Spent 9 nights in the Hilton Bayfront on family holiday and was very impressed all round. Booked through Travel Republic and got what turned out to be a really excellent rate. As the name suggests the hotel is located right on the bayfront and is ideally placed for the seafront walk right the way up to Seaport Village, US Midway etc. Ferry for Coronado island is 100 yards from front door and the start of the gaslamp Quarter at the bottom of 5th Avenue is about 300 yards away. Both the Blue and Orange lines of the Trolley run directly in front of the hotel.

There were so many really excellent restaurants in the locality that with the exception of Starbucks at breakfast we didn't bother dining in the hotel at any stage. Some of the places we dined in that we would certainly recommend without hesitation were Lou & Mickey's, Joe's Crab Shack, Extraordinary Deserts, Saigon on Fifth, Tequila 100 and The Cheesecake Factory further afield in the impressive Fashion valley Mall.

Staff very friendly and helpful and we found it to be a very relaxing experience despite the fact that it has a big conference clientele. Nice saltwater pool and sunbathing area to the rear of the hotel.

It israther amusing that most of the complaints from others on this forum
( parking fees, internet fees, ships unloading in the Bay area etc etc ) are so well documented that they MUST have been known in advance by those now complaining after the event. A little research goes a long way and certainly our research payed off as the Hilton Bayfront ticked all the boxes and more for us.

Highly recommend both the Hotel itself and the City and we will be back

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buckshee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancc, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
So delighted to hear you had a wonderful visit to San Diego. I'm glad you were able to relax and enjoy the salt water pool. You'll have to come back in the summer months and have a drink and snack at Bay Breeze, our poolside lounge. On behalf of the Hilton Bayfront and the city of San Diego, we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Great hotel, not cheap and considering the price paid I'd have hoped to get internet access for free in this day and age. But no. $10 a day for a very slow connection and $20 for the faster service. And guess what! That was only for one device. We both had laptops and they wanted us to both pay. Then they offered us a bundle with unlimited wifi and breakfast for $25. My gripe is that they didn't offer this till we made a fuss.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajs_EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancc, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for staying with us last month. I'm sorry to hear you were displeased with the internet service, and I'm glad we found a bundle that suited your needs. Although internet is typically a seperate fee, we almost always offer a room package with internet included, on our website. Please come back and see us again and we'll be sure to get you a value package to fit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

The service at this Hilton property is horrible....we are here for a convention and finally on the third day had to leave housekeeping a note to ask for more soap. (The one teeny-tiny bar that was here when we had arrived wasn't cutting it.) Also by the third day we had to request more toilet paper as that hadn't been replaced either. The hotel is adjacent to an unattractive industrial area, the view from our room is the hotel pool, Coronado Bridge and hundreds and hundreds of shipping containers. The rooms are also quite small for a more expensive hotel, the bathroom is tiny and the closet practically non-existant. For the convention rate of $269, better service was expected. Better service is expected (and generally experienced) at a lower priced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aymee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

The hotel is located across the street from the gas lamp district and along the bay. Hotel is modern decor new and very clean. We were very happy with our room, while it was not oversized it did meet our needs for. 3 people. Starbucks located down stairs which was nice. Parking is $25 per day. All employees were friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms were quiet.
Very large heated salt water pool, with a flat screen tv outdoors the size of which is used for concerts, very nice. Also a large hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebnDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 279 in San Diego
4,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#27 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing