We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beware the extras” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Ranked #70 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
Ellesmere Port
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“beware the extras”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

Great hotel, not cheap and considering the price paid I'd have hoped to get internet access for free in this day and age. But no. $10 a day for a very slow connection and $20 for the faster service. And guess what! That was only for one device. We both had laptops and they wanted us to both pay. Then they offered us a bundle with unlimited wifi and breakfast for $25. My gripe is that they didn't offer this till we made a fuss.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajs_EP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sancc, Manager at Hilton San Diego Bayfront, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for staying with us last month. I'm sorry to hear you were displeased with the internet service, and I'm glad we found a bundle that suited your needs. Although internet is typically a seperate fee, we almost always offer a room package with internet included, on our website. Please come back and see us again and we'll be sure to get you a value package to fit your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,996
    1,609
    626
    244
    101
See reviews for
978
915
154
2,073
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

The service at this Hilton property is horrible....we are here for a convention and finally on the third day had to leave housekeeping a note to ask for more soap. (The one teeny-tiny bar that was here when we had arrived wasn't cutting it.) Also by the third day we had to request more toilet paper as that hadn't been replaced either. The hotel is adjacent to an unattractive industrial area, the view from our room is the hotel pool, Coronado Bridge and hundreds and hundreds of shipping containers. The rooms are also quite small for a more expensive hotel, the bathroom is tiny and the closet practically non-existant. For the convention rate of $269, better service was expected. Better service is expected (and generally experienced) at a lower priced hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aymee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

The hotel is located across the street from the gas lamp district and along the bay. Hotel is modern decor new and very clean. We were very happy with our room, while it was not oversized it did meet our needs for. 3 people. Starbucks located down stairs which was nice. Parking is $25 per day. All employees were friendly and helpful. Hotel rooms were quiet.
Very large heated salt water pool, with a flat screen tv outdoors the size of which is used for concerts, very nice. Also a large hot tub.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebnDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
336 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

this hotel was awesome. it was one of the cheapest available for the winter month we were going to be there, i can only assume because its so big that they had extra room space. the place was awesome. we were upgraded to the top floor ocean view rooms because of hilton honors and the views from the room were fantastic (pictures to come). they provide you with free breakfast, free starbucks, and free waters each day. great free hotel gym. amazing pool overlooking the bay. right off the bay path to seaport village. 5 minute walk across the street to the gaslamp district. this hotel had it all, i will tell everyone to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sandiUKLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

I am a VERY frequent traveler and a diamond member with Hilton. With that said, I never write reviews of hotels, even the nicest ones. However, my experience at the Hilton Bayfront prompted me to write my very first... I decided to book this hotel with my girlfriend for our California vacation using my points. A snafu by the Diamond Desk (absolutely worthless service "reserved" for Diamond members) had us booked into the wrong hotel. When we arrived, we called the Diamond Desk to correct the situation, but were told that they could do nothing because the hotel was "sold out." Then I approached the front desk and spoke with Robert and Lorraine... They single-handedly restored my faith in customer service through the following:

1) Booked us into a room, then upgraded to a corner room with a view (even though it was "sold out" according to the Diamond Desk)
2) Made excellent recommendations for dinner, hang out spots, and activities
3) Got the rest of the front desk staff involved in making recommendations
4) Offered extra perks to make up for the short comings of the Diamond Desk staff
5) Continued to speak with us throughout our stay to make sure we were have a wonderful time

The hotel itself was beautiful and modern with fantastic views of the bay and downtown. The room was nice and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast buffet was robust and delicious. But it all boils down to SERVICE and Robert and Lorraine definitely made our stay special!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

LOCATION-
This hotel has a great location. It's right across from Petco Park where the Padres play, the Gaslamp Quarter is walking distance, and if you're interested in the local Trolley Tours (which I also loved)- they've made this hotel one of their stops. Additionally, the popular Seaport Village is easily accessible with a short walk on the promenade that is directly outside of the hotel. Very convenient, keeping you off the busy streets.

STAFF-
Very welcoming, friendly, and helpful.

ROOMS-
Very much in keeping w/ the Hilton standards. Good size, exceptionally clean, and some great views. I was able to get a room w/ two double beds for $139/night. That really isn't all that bad considering the high prices you find in San Diego at comparable hotels. Internet was additonal, but that's expected.

Overall, a very pleasant stay. Pool area is an added bonus.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
298 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

Good location and conference facilities excellent. The restaurant and room service were well above average for a business hotel. Rooms were not large but new and very clean. Mine had an excellent view of San Diego Bay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbirdandgrizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hilton San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Diego Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Diego Bayfront

Property: Hilton San Diego Bayfront
Address: 1 Park Boulevard, San Diego, CA 92101-7897
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#25 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#31 Business Hotel in San Diego
#46 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#60 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Diego Bayfront 4*
Number of rooms: 1190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step in. From the moment you arrive you instantly feel the difference. All of the vitalizing elements of the sea and sun are embraced on this spectacular waterfront setting. Rising 30 stories above San Diego Bay, the Hilton San Diego Bayfront hotel is a spirited blend of San Diego’s coastal influences, style, innovation and of course the unmistakable vibe. Steps from downtown’s Gaslamp Quarter, San Diego Convention Center, and PETCO Park, this beautiful hotel offers the amenities and lays the best of the city at your doorstep. Now guests have easy access from the hotel by way of the pedestrian bridge, directly to PETCO Park, downtown’s vibrant Gaslamp district, and up-in-coming East Village. Luxury and comfort have no boundaries here. Enjoy magnificent San Diego Bay and city views from our lobby, restaurants and guest rooms. Each one of the 1,190 spacious guest rooms including 30 suites at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront has a Bay view and features Hilton's Serenity Collection® bed and linens, the finest amenities such as Peter Thomas Roth® products, and the latest technology. And true to Hilton tradition, exceptional service comes as effortlessly here as the tides ebb and flow. For a San Diego business trip, family weekend, or a romantic getaway, Hilton San Diego Bayfront accommodations offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton San Diego Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Diego Bayfront Hotel San Diego
Hilton Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing