We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells like cigarettes.”
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #19 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Blue Springs, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smells like cigarettes.”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We called in advance to stay at this hotel. We requested a non-smoking room.
The Quality Inns we have visited before were very clean. This one smelled like smoke in the hallways. The room smelled less of smoke.
There was an orange gooey substance on the doorway to the bathroom.
We were tired & weren't up to changing hotels after unloading the luggage up to the room. In the future I think it is a good idea to visit the hotel before giving any credit card info.
We didn't stay for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank playnmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave s, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello Dear Guest, we are terribly sorry that your recent stay at the Quality inn was not very comfortable because of smoke smell .We take full responsibility for this incident and are working to insure that any situation like this will not happen again. Out of 47 rooms only 4 rooms are smoking but we are in process of changing all our room to be 100% non smoking. I thank you for your understanding and we do look forward to having you stay with us again on your next passing through Topeka. Wishing you happy and safe travels, the Quality Inn, Topeka!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    20
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
51
30
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Although this is probably an average hotel/room, we were treated as if we were the most important consideration of the day. We arrived early, but were still able to check in, and when Alyssa (desk receptionist) learned that we had an older dog, she checked to see if there was an available room on the ground floor. Alyssa checked us in and switched our room to the ground level--that means more than words can express, and we felt so welcome. These seemingly small extra efforts really really matter to the road-weary traveler.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxykirkland_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were very pleased with out stay at Quality Inn , We always stay at this hotel and never had any trouble. Front desk always welcome me and my husband with our last name that really gives great touch to the customer service.Breakfast person always welcome us with great big smile and that make our day wonderful. We feel like home when we are there. We always ask for first floor and same room. Our room is always fresh and very clean. I really like the new look of room.We will be back in november again.

Room Tip: we like room on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorichapman c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dave s, General Manager at Quality Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Lori, Thank you so much for sharing your experience with other travelers. We have wonderful team who really enjoy their job and all work together to help keep our property clean and well maintained. We are so happy that you had a great time at the Quality Inn Topeka and look forward to having you as our guest again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

After staying in the quality Inn and Wichita, I thought you would be a good bet. I was wrong. The Quality Inn Topeka was very close to the interstate and easy to get to. There were eating places nearby but I did not feel as welcome in the hotel.as The pool bad bad chlorine problems. The cleanliness of the place was not so good. The hallway stunk of cigarette smoke.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Staff was very courteous, and the rooms very clean. Would highly recommend this hotel. great Breakfast. And very clean room Indoor heated pool and Hot tub was great .I really like quick check out. Quality inn located next to shopping mall and all other store and restaurants near by.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulblak B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed one night here with 2 adults and 2 pets. Friendly staff at check in. The price is reasonable and the room was clean. The bed was pretty comfortable. It is a nice place for a night but nothing special about this hotel. There isn't much parking for vehicles towing trailers. I would just rate this as average but I would stay here again if necessary. I will say that I didn't hear much noise from the hallway so that was a definite plus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

My partner and I stay in a choice brand hotel atleast once a month and this is the first negative experience we have had. The front desk clerk was friendly at check in. Our room, a king, was very large and very hot so we cranked the ac and headed for the pool. There were two others in the small dark pool area and the front desk was in talking to them. It appeared they were friends. There was some sort wrestling and the man in the hot tub spent a long time moaning. We only stayed about ten minutes. Upon exit, we found there were no clean towels, just a basket of dirty ones and a sign to bring the basket of used towels to the front desk for clean ones. Back in our room, it was just too large for the ac to cool. We went to the vending machine for something cool and everything was sold out except Diet Dr. Pepper. The hotel was nearly deserted, negating any suspicion that they were so busy that things just ran out.

Positives: The king room was large enough to teach a yoga class in. It had a fridge and microwave. And a couch. And a desk. It was clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.6 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites I-70 & Wanamaker
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#7 of 32 in Topeka
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Topeka
0.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 1240 SW Wanamaker Rd, Topeka, KS 66604-3811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Topeka
Topeka Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing