We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Topeka”
Review of Hyatt Place Topeka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Topeka
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“An oasis in Topeka”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've stayed at several other hotels when visiting Topeka for business. You won't find a nicer property with better customer service.

On my last stay, my check-in was complicated (my fault - not the hotel's). They had some difficulty finding my record (again - my fault). Even though it was no fault of theirs, I found a sincere handwritten note under my door apologizing for the inconvenience.

The hotel is conveniently located at the end of Wanamaker, the main road in Topeka for restaurants. It's not a big city, so nothing is more than a 10-20 minute's drive.

I stay in all brands of hotels, and you can't beat Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bgsu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    120
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
168
92
26
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stay in this hotel which we love. The good price, complimentary breakfast (excellent), big room, very comfortable beds and excellent service makes this hotel the best bet for the money.
The room is perfect for a familiy of 4.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venerriqueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Simply put....This place is amazing!

The staff was excellent, The room was very clean, and the breakfast sandwiches are some of the best you will ever have.

A big thank you goes out to Sarah who helped me locate a facility to go skydiving.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kurt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

My review should be tempered by the fact that the hotel was very busy while we were there, and appeared to be slightly understaffed. The good: our king room was very spacious, the bed was extremely comfortable, and the toothpaste as a free toiletry came in handy (we were at the end of our trip and had run out). The not so good: check-in took a long time since the person checking us in was also making drinks for the huge crowd at the attached bar, breakfast selections were low on healthy food (but had plenty of high fat and high sugar items), and there wasn't nearly enough seating at breakfast (we had to beg our way into a table already seating another family). The price was pretty good and the location was convenient, so I would still recommend the hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bbqueen05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont,CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were very pleased when a large group of us used the Hyatt? Great staff- all very pleasant and accommodating despite being busy.

The hotel is also great- good size rooms. The breakfast options offered nice choices in a breakfast bar-

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAD80503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockdale
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Was only there for a short day, arrived 10:00PM and left 6:30AM next day. They do have an in house bar which is convienent and the morning breakfast was adequate. The breakfast did not start until 6:30 and the lady setting up did not have items in place until almost 7:00 so could not benefit from much at breakfast as it was not ready until we had to leave to go to project work site. Seemed to be a good location, close to a large shopping area and the kansas Speedway for race fans. Reasonably priced, very nice rooms. Beverages at bar were not very cold. Need to keep adult beverages colder.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I came into Topeka looking for a hotel close to 70 and on the west end. I was working a night shift about 25 miles west In St Mary's. The Hyatt Place could not have been in a better location for what I needed.

The service was extremely accommodating. Working a night shift, I'd miss the continental breakfast every morning, but the staff would still serve it to me around noon or 1 when I did wake up which they didn't have to do but I really appreciated it. Also I would typically be asleep during the normal room
Service hours, but if I needed anything picked up or re-stocked I could call and have them come up anytime. The staff was all very friendly.

Rooms are very nice, my first night they were pretty booked so I stayed in a double bed room. They switched me over to a King room the next night at no extra fee. Both rooms were set up the same, the double bed room was slightly bigger. Both have a very nice large couch, office area, small kitchen/bar area with sink and mini fridge, a 42-50in flat screen, a nice bathroom area, closet, and a large window next to the bed.

I would say the Value of this stay was priced correctly, you can stay a few places down the road for a slightly lower rate per night but you won't find the service, convenience, or coziness the Hyatt has to offer

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wpwiest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.2 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
470 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#6 of 32 in Topeka
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
4.5 mi away
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
4.4 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#5 of 32 in Topeka
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Topeka

Property: Hyatt Place Topeka
Address: 6021 SW 6th Ave, Topeka, KS 66615-1006 (Formerly AmeriSuites)
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Topeka
#6 Romantic Hotel in Topeka
#6 Business Hotel in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Topeka Hotel Topeka
Hyatt Topeka
Topeka Hyatt Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing