We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - Look for the Deals (don't pay full price)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I had stayed in this hotel years ago, so I went back because of the previous experience. I was not dissapointed. The location is perfect for the areas we needed to visit.

Hotel room was clean and roomy. They have free wi-fi (yeah!) too. The room service menu is small, but I'd recommend the angus burger - two people could eat that one meal alone.

Our room was large (two doubles) and had enough space for a family of three (with a crib in the room). Checking in/out was a hassel, the staff took a bit long and the wait was long as they only had one person servicing the registration desk. The room service attendants were very friendly and helpful - though I did not eat at the on-site restaurant, it was usually pretty busy throughout the day.

My only complaint would be the noise at night - though minimal, you do hear it, especially on a weekend stay. All of the rooms face towards the atrium and the noise from the bar area carries all the way up to the 7th floor (where our room was). So at 10pm when we and our 1 yr old were ready for bed - Saturday night's bar crowd kept us up.

Overall, I would go back - I found a great deal online (you can also follow the hotel on twitter and get great deals that way too)...or name your own price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProjectGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
There are newer reviews for Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 455 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2010

The rooms lack amenities that should be provided for the price of the room. Stayed during the off-season so the price was $89/night but that was with a student discount. No complimentary breakfast and the rooms looks very old. Wallpaper was peeling and no wifi. Carpet very worn. Noise level was ok and the lobby looked nice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merkitaminasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Everything isn't brand new...but so what! The room was big and the bed was comfortable. The pool area was great. Less than five minutes south of I-70. The only downsides were the outdated gym and and bathroom fixtures. We are pretty picky and were prepared for something much worse given its rating on tripadvisor. For what we paid on Priceline, I don't think we could have done better. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradohamish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Centrally located in Topeka, only minutes drive to shopping, restaurants, etc. Room was clean and very spacious, large bathrooom too. Not sure if I would pay $100+ standard rate per night but I got a good deal with Priceline so it was much better than others at the price. Bar and restaurant are nice, lots of parking. Only bad thing is the fitness center, it is ancient.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

I stayed at The Capital Plaza for one night while traveling through Kansas from Missouri. On the plus side, the parking was abundant and easy, the room was spacious and comfortable, and the staff was friendly, and the lounge area was comfortable. I would absolutely not rate the room/stay as a three star. The rooms, lobby are very outdated and basic - the rooms were outdated, the bathroom needed alot of TLC and the carpets are very worn (I see from previous reviews that they hosted dog conventions here so that would explain the carpet condition). There's quite a bit of hallway traffic noise given the circular pattern of the hallways and the sound from the center lounge area drifts up to all floors and you can hear people walking through the halls. Not a bad place to stay if you need one or two nights and someplace to hang your hat - as long as you get a good price. I wouldn't go back, and would gladly pay $15 more to stay at a better/updated hotel in Topeka.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shadowtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2009

My room rate was $189 and for that price, this isn't a great place. The carpet is dirty, the continental breakfast was late and tasted like they ran to the corner convenience store for day-old pastry. The coffee tasted like clorox. Minimal bath amenities. Exhaust fan in shower didn't work.

The front-desk couldn't locate my reservation, the phone in one of the two room suites didn't work.

This is an old Embassy Suite hotel. For a lesser price, it might be ok, but it is not a first-rate hotel. The prices reflect much more than this place has to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We held out National Dog Show at the hotel and MANY of the guests had their credit card #'s stolen.

Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
Thank 123travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 33 in Topeka
546 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.9 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#5 of 33 in Topeka
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 33 in Topeka
497 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#6 of 33 in Topeka
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Address: 1717 SW Topeka Blvd, Topeka, KS 66612-1410
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range: $108 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing