We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a first class hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a first class hotel”
Reviewed April 24, 2009

Purports to be a 1st class hotel but falls far short. No bellhop in lobby and none offered upon check-in altho we filled 3 baggage carts and a large flat cart (that they provided upon request, but no help offered.) They have glass coffee cups in the room that are not brought fresh each day. The maid washes them out in not too hot water in the room, hopefully not with the same rag she cleans the toilet with. Several days, the in-room coffee pot was not cleaned. Water never was hot enough for a good shower. No drinking glasses in our room. At various times, items that were supposed to be furnished were not. Washcloths were missing one day, called the front desk and was told they were out of them and might not even have any by midnight (call was made approx. 4:00 pm.) No help offered at check out. Several members of our party had to have the toilet replaced in their room??? Don't stay here if you are allergic to or don't like dogs, we were there during a dog show and they were all over the place. Very noisy.
All in all, we have received better service and more sanitary conditions in many small motels in Western Kansas.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksfrequenttraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    152
    78
    44
    16
See reviews for
105
42
26
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2009

We booked this hotel the day before on Priceline. We got a great deal so I was not expecting much. We were pleasantly surprised. However, upon check in we were booked in a smoking room. With a asthmatic child that is not an option. I asked to be switched. The gentleman said " Yeah, I am to tired to argue with you so I will just do it." I thought,... Why would you argue????? It was just kinda rude. We ate in the resturant there. It was a little pricey. However, the food and service was excellent. The room and hotel is nice but the bathroom in our room was REALLY worn. It was clean but stained and needed grout and caulking. Also, no trash can in the bathroom????? Overall, it was a great experience and we would go back

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed at the hotel March 20th while in town for a Kids Wrestling tournament and had a nice stay. Check-in went fine, room was nice and clean, pool and hot tub was nice. Lobby bar is also nice. We did not eat there. We have in the past for breakfast and it was .. just okay... nothing great. I plan on staying here each year since it is very conveniently located next to the Kansas Expocentre.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissLakeTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2009

While there for a convention, we found the dining quality and service, and front desk service deplorable. We gave the front desk a UPS envelope to mail and they gave it to the US Postal Service, even though the package was clearly marked in a UPS standard envelope. The envelope critically important business information. While the customer service mgr was helpful in figuring out what wen wrong, two voicemails left for the general manager of the property went unanswered.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clownchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a week in September with a group club. The hotel is fine, rooms were clean and food was about what you'd expect.
However, following our stay, and continuing now in December, more than 30 people, including us, have had their credit card numbers used at places like Famous Footwear, online and other places.The only common thread has been use of the cards at the hotel. Some have had their debit cards used and bank accounts impacted.
Following our group, another group club used the hotel and also have had their credit cards used fraudulently.
The Topeka police have been alerted, but the hotel management has not been helpful. The police are investigating.
Please be extremely careful about using your credit card at this hotel.

  • Liked — pet friendly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robbinbobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, SD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2008

We were in Topeka for a cheer competition which was next door in the convention center, so the location was good. The thing I noticed the most is when you enter the property all you smell is smoke. The property is set up with the rooms around the outside with the bar, restaurant in the middle. Smoke then travels throughout the whole place. The place was booked, due to the cheer competition next door. Unfortunately the hotel didn't adjust the staffing for such high volume. If you decide to order pizzas and it looks like they are busy, order from a chain, like Pizza Hut or something. PIzza took forever and when it was finally delivered it was raw and not the kind we ordered. Very poor service!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Horrible Service
  • Stayed November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owatonna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2008

My ex and I live 15 hours apart, he wanted visitation with his daughter. We picked Topeka KS for our stay and for him to pick up our daughter.

The rooms are WONDERFUL!!! There is enough room for a 4 year old to run around in and play hide and seek. IT WAS EXCITING for her.

In the morning we ordered room service, the food came to order, hot and before they told us it would be there. They gave us an estimate of 30 minutes, the food came in 15 minutes. EVERTHING was very pretty we didnt want to eat :O)

The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful, there was no complaint when our ETA was later than expected. They are the BEST hotel I have ever stayed at!!!! No other hotel will compare to the loby, rooms or food. It was perfect!!

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank shadow97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
0.9 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#6 of 32 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Topeka
Comfort Suites Topeka
#4 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Property: Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Address: 1717 SW Topeka Blvd, Topeka, KS 66612-1410
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing