We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but Beware Credit Card Use” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
US
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but Beware Credit Card Use”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for a week in September with a group club. The hotel is fine, rooms were clean and food was about what you'd expect.
However, following our stay, and continuing now in December, more than 30 people, including us, have had their credit card numbers used at places like Famous Footwear, online and other places.The only common thread has been use of the cards at the hotel. Some have had their debit cards used and bank accounts impacted.
Following our group, another group club used the hotel and also have had their credit cards used fraudulently.
The Topeka police have been alerted, but the hotel management has not been helpful. The police are investigating.
Please be extremely careful about using your credit card at this hotel.

  • Liked — pet friendly
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank robbinbobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    151
    75
    43
    15
See reviews for
102
39
26
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, SD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2008

We were in Topeka for a cheer competition which was next door in the convention center, so the location was good. The thing I noticed the most is when you enter the property all you smell is smoke. The property is set up with the rooms around the outside with the bar, restaurant in the middle. Smoke then travels throughout the whole place. The place was booked, due to the cheer competition next door. Unfortunately the hotel didn't adjust the staffing for such high volume. If you decide to order pizzas and it looks like they are busy, order from a chain, like Pizza Hut or something. PIzza took forever and when it was finally delivered it was raw and not the kind we ordered. Very poor service!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Horrible Service
  • Stayed November 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank motherofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
owatonna
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2008

My ex and I live 15 hours apart, he wanted visitation with his daughter. We picked Topeka KS for our stay and for him to pick up our daughter.

The rooms are WONDERFUL!!! There is enough room for a 4 year old to run around in and play hide and seek. IT WAS EXCITING for her.

In the morning we ordered room service, the food came to order, hot and before they told us it would be there. They gave us an estimate of 30 minutes, the food came in 15 minutes. EVERTHING was very pretty we didnt want to eat :O)

The hotel staff are friendly and very helpful, there was no complaint when our ETA was later than expected. They are the BEST hotel I have ever stayed at!!!! No other hotel will compare to the loby, rooms or food. It was perfect!!

Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank shadow97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KansasCIty
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2008

After receiving "my" room key I went to put my bags in the room. I walked in and the sheets and covers were pulled back on the bed. A gentlemans jeans rested on the back of the desk chair and his razor and after shave were placed on the counter near the sink. I went to the front and the problem was solved with a new room key. My son and I enjoyed the pool and hot tub. As for the nights sleep, it was very loud outside our door at 10 p.m. and on through the night teens were running and laughing through the hallway. There is a large gap between the door and the floor.The people 'next door" could be heard word for word normal tone through the wall on the opposite side of the bed. My son kept asking mommy who is that. So our sleep did not start well with the neighbors and was interupted with the night owl teens, throwing things over the balcony. This was a very busy place.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HowitzerWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2008

Stayed in the Govenor's Suite for the second time and loved it again. This is hands down the best place to stay in Topeka. Only recommendation is for the hotel to get some HDTV's in the room!

  • Stayed December 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NachoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2008

Our stay was orgainized by the large company that we were visiting. The hotel was a little dated, but in good shape. It was an atrium style place -- looked a little like an older Embassy Suites in the atrium. The room was like an older Marriott. Not bad, and clean, but not exciting either.

I don't recall a lot more detail, so I guess it was o.k. if not memorable.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TransCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2008

I booked three executive suites for a small family reunion. Upon arrival, three standard rooms were provided. Management satisfied complaint with upgrade of one room to the original reservation and breakfast coupons for the other two (due to a lack of executive suites), and installation of microwaves/refrigerators in standard rooms. Rooms are extremely outdated!!! Rooms' reeked of smoke throughout stay. Staff provided a portable air purifier. It didn't reduce the amount of smoke. Bring your own Oust Smoke Neutralizer. Will not return!

  • Liked — Pool/Spa
  • Disliked — Smoke filled hotel and outdated rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gomiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.9 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#6 of 32 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#1 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Property: Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Address: 1717 SW Topeka Boulevard, Topeka, KS 66612
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing