We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice hotel / Location B-” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Nice hotel / Location B-”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed at the Capitol Plaza 4/12-14 for a cheer competition with my daughter. Its a very nice hotel , similar to an Embassy Suites in style. Has the open center atrium with lounge and cafe below.
We stayed in a corner 2 room suite ( highly recommend ) it has a King bed in the bedroom and a nice sofa , chair and table for four in the living area. There do not appear to be many of these type room so dont delay when booking . Also they are not listed on the website .. The pool was perfect for the girls to do there thing and the room service menu is quite extensive , which is good because the surrounding area of the hotel does not offer much . With the exception of a Sonic drive Inn for burgers and such down the street. One other thing , super fast elevators ..
I give this hotel a grade of A- only because of the B- location.
Would stay there again if need be..

Room Tip: Corner king suite and high floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mpk218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear mpk218,

Thank you for writing such a glowing review on the Capitol Plaza Hotel. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that your daughter enjoyed the cheer competition. I hope to see you again next year for the competition.

Sincerely,

Kevin-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    151
    75
    43
    15
See reviews for
102
39
26
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pueblo, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

The desk clerk should write a book about customer service, she was excellent. The hotel was very clean and nice, the room was the same with absolutely no complaints. Breakfast was about $12.00 each, and was good. Traveling with a trailer and the parking lot could handle it. Will stay here the next time we need to stay in Topeka.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Jim K,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review of the Capitol Plaza and our Front Desk Associate. Courtney does a fantastic job for us, and I am so glad that you got to meet her. We showed her your review and she was overjoyed that you were happy and flattered that you took the time to recognize her exemplerary service.

Thanks again, and we will see you next time around.

Sincerely,

Kevin-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, SD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

The location of this hotel is not the best, it is bordered by a fairly run down area of Topeka. However the hotel is very nice. Rooms were clean and all the commons areas were well kept. Breakfast is very generic and cost me about $12.00.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John57401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear John57401,

Thanks so much for the review. I am glad that you found the hotel nice and our common areas well kept. We are continously working with our local politicians to improve the city and I appreciate your comments.

Thanks again,

Kevin-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

My husband and I had a one night get away at the Capitol Plaza in Topeka. We had such a good time. We hung out at the Falling Water Grille and Lounge. The people that work there are so fun and friendly. We had a blast and we didn't even have to leave the hotel!! The next morning we had a smorgasbord of a breakfast. We are definitely staying here again! Thank you Capitol Plaza for making our little getaway from kids and our hectic lives awesome!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amyhast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
261 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our stay at this hotel was for one night. We used a last minute booking through Travelocity, and found a room at less than 1/2 of the going rate. Nice.

The room was very clean, comfortable and very tidy. Free parking was easy. Our one night stay was very pleasant. Staff were efficient and kind.

It feels like a hotel where business people and government workers will stay when in Topeka. The rooms surround a very tall interior atrium which can be noisy, but it did not bother us in our room.

Our experience was great. It's a worthy-to-repeat hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottofueler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

Held a business meeting there and had a great experience from the minute I walked in the door to the minute I walked out after checking out. I was impressed with all the staff, from the Front Desk to Sales and Catering to Group Rooms Reservations to Banquets to the Restaurant staff. Everyone was on top of their game and provided excellent customer service. The rooms were spacious and clean, the food was good, everything pertaining to the meeting and dinner following went very smoothly, couldn't ask for more. Looking forward to the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

For the second time I attended a historical society convention at the Capitol Plaza, and while the first time was very nice this time was even better. Seriously, the staff was EXTREMELY good to get along with, beginning to end. I have celiac disease, so I have to eat gluten free. The kitchen staff bent over backwards to make special arrangements to accomodate me. Thanks to all and I look forward to the next opportunity!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4-12-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
0.9 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#6 of 32 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#1 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Property: Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Address: 1717 SW Topeka Boulevard, Topeka, KS 66612
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing