We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very nice except for the pillows.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Certificate of Excellence
Waverly, Iowa
2 reviews
“Very nice except for the pillows.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Very nice room, sheets & bathroom. The pillows, however, need to be replaced as some were worn out (bunchy), not long enough & not soft enough. Hard for a back sleeper or side sleeper to sleep on these short little pillows.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suerealfromIOWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Suerealfromiowa,

Thanks for the comments regarding your stay with us. I apologize that the pillows were not up to the standards that we strive to maintain. We are continously ragging out pillows, and purchase new stocks every month. Unfortunately the pillows that you had were not acceptable. I hope that you wil give us another chance the next time your travels take you to Topeka.

Sincerely,

Kevin Smith-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    146
    68
    42
    15
See reviews for
97
39
26
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bozeman, Montana
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

After a long day's drive, we were so happy to get a room at the Capital Plaza in Topeka KS. The hotel staff were really helpful. The place is newly renovated. We had a great view from the 7th floor. We actually left our iPad behind and we received prompt and courteous attention. It is being FedExed back to us as I write this. It is so nice to know that if you accidentally leave property behind that it will be so well cared for.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the newly renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear 456williamh456,

Thank you for the great compliments regarding the hotel and your stay with us. I pride my staff on their integrity and dedication to the guest, and am happy that we were able to reunite your son with his iPad. I am pleased that you enjoyed your newly renovated room, with the new 37" LG TV, and HD Programming. The fitness center also has all new equipment as well.

Thanks again for the great comments,

Sincerely,

Kevin Smith-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, Missouri
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We've stayed here twice now and have had a good experience both times. The property is pretty well kept and they have and are doing more updating. Rooms were quiet and nice sized with sofa and king bed. It was clean and served our purpose well.
The location is nice if you have an event at the Expo Center next door, but if you are coming off the Interstate you have to know about the hotel . The directions are good and it is not hard to find but you do have to realize you drive a little off the Interstate. It is not one you just stop at because of being handy.
We got it both times as a mystery hotel -either with Expedia or Hotwire!

The first time we stayed we felt like we might be the only ones there, but when we stayed just last week it seemed ver full. I think there was a conference going on there, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your great comments regarding your stay at the Capitol Plaza Hotel. We appreciate the feedback and am glad that you enjoyed yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had a 3 day meeting this week here. Hotel seems very dated from outside but that seems to be the case with many downtown Topeka buildings, but upon entering the hotel is very clean, well maintained and nicely layed out. My room was on the top floor, view of convention center parking lot. Beds very comfortable, clean and nicely done. Spacious king room, great pillow selection and clean bathroom with nice towels. Few cosmetic blemishes here and there but nothing major. TV was easy although out of use one day when they were updating cable system, then all the channels changed numbers. Our meeting rooms were very nice and easily accessible. The food provided for our lunches and dinner was excellent. We were served breakfast in the restaurant and it was buffet, very good, nice selection. Service in restaurant was poor and slow in the morning and went without being served coffee while there so had to ask for take out cup at hostess which she provided (Starbucks) promptly and politely. Not thrilled about Topeka but this hotel is very nice and easily accessible to convention building next door. I would definitely stay here again for business or convention.

Room Tip: Pick room away from elevator as it does ring loudly on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffdogdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel, and appreciate the find detail in your review. I do apologize about the TV being out of service. We were upgrading our new 37" flat screens with new High Definition Channels. This did require a hardware changout and new programming to all TV's. I have also met with the Restaurant Supervisor and Food and Beverage Director regarding the service in the restaurant that morning. I am very sorry that this experience was not up to our normal level. I do hope that you enjoyed the Starbucks coffee and am happy that you would choose us again. We are working hard everyday to improve our guests experiences. Thanks for being candid with your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I was here on business. When you pull in, it doesn't look like much, but inside was nice and well kept. It's an atrium style hotel, and the bar/restaurant is located on the first floor in the center. This makes it a little noisy at night when trying to sleep if a lot of people are being loud at the bar (I was on the 4th floor). The rooms are very nice and clean. Bed was comfortable. Toiletries were average- shampoo is a combo shampoo and conditioner (in case that's a problem for your hair, bring your own). Breakfast is a buffet- it was good but I was disappointed that the offerings were exactly the same both days. Variety would have been nice. They have Starbuck's there. The meeting rooms were nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with the Capitol Plaza Hotel. We try to insure that the lounge stays at a reasonable level, and we do have a "North Wing" where the lounge cannot be heard and the rooms are normally very quiet in this area.

I have discussed your feedback with the Director of Food and Beverage and he is looking into changing up one hot item daily per your suggestion.

Thanks again for taking the time to give such valuable feedback to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concordia, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I had a comp night awarded due to a malfunction several months ago, and as I had business in Topeka on this trip, decided to use it. Same results: everything but the breakfast buffet was great. Buffet is overpriced and bland. But, you don't have to eat there. The room is just perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WICHITA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a nice hotel and a value for the money. The only thing that I think is lacking is the fitness room. For the size of hotel it is only equipped with four machines and a set of weights. The equipment is relatively new. The room is somewhat small. Other than that, the atmosphere, the bed the room are all excellent!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RUSSELL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapitolPlazaGM, General Manager at Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I apologize that the size of the fitness center did not meet your needs. We do have 2 state of the art Treadmills with TV Screens and Ipod inputs, 1 Elliptical with TV screen, 1 Bicycle with TV screen, and 2 full sets of dumbells from 5 to 50lbs. We also have a very nice Bench with incline feature. We also have a set of 3 yoga balls and a matt. Almost all of the equipment is only 2 months old, as the room was totally renovated in November of 2012. I have rarely seen more than 2-3 people using this equipment at any one time. I am glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the atmosphere.

Thanks again,

Kevin Smith-GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Topeka hotels
4.4 mi away
Clubhouse Inn & Suites - Topeka
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Topeka
Hyatt Place Topeka
#2 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.9 mi away
Senate Luxury Suites
Senate Luxury Suites
#6 of 32 in Topeka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ramada Topeka Downtown Hotel and Convention Center
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Topeka West
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Topeka
Hampton Inn Topeka
#3 of 32 in Topeka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka

Property: Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka
Address: 1717 SW Topeka Blvd, Topeka, KS 66612-1410
Location: United States > Kansas > Topeka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Topeka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Capitol Plaza Hotel Topeka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capitol Plaza Hotel
Capitol Plaza Topeka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing